We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domaine Les Roullets
Nearby Hotels
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Relais du Luberon(Coustellet)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel L'Oasis(Cabrieres-d'Avignon)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel les Oliviers(Coustellet)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Bastide de Voulonne(Cabrieres-d'Avignon)(Great Value!)
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mas de la Senancole(Gordes)(Great Value!)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres(Goult)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
54
3
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
3
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonbeautiful locationfresh fruitwet roomthere are so manyon arrivalb bslovely touchthank you so muchcan't wait to go backher husbandvanessatreesestatecheesebeautygrounds
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

A perfect place to relax in informal setting, no pressure about anything. Great breakfast, every morning a delightful surprise, not only the food that's offered - six homemade jams, cakes, several sorts of great breads and pastries, cheeses, ham and sausages, yoghurt and fruit, but also the breakfast service and table decorations. A wonderful addition is Sidonie, the external chef who will make tasty salads to order and prepares it on the spot including a desert. Nice when you dont feel like eating out. Thomas & Rudolph, thank you for creating a home from home. We've been here three times now and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catharina3758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A great place BUT ....... Sorry but owners are not hoteliers and our bedroom (Chambre Ventoux) is great for kids but not for adults; it is on a newly constructed mezzanine, you have to clamber over your partner to get into bed and there is a 2.5m drop to the side only protected by one baluster and handrail. The shower-room is a bit dingy and the fixed head shower is too close to the wall. The bijoux ground floor was sufficient and charming but the front door key was a pain.
Great heated large pool but owner ran a smoke emitting trimmer at 8.00am whilst my partner was swimming, how inconsiderate !
It feels as if it's run for the owners convenience not for yours, with petty rules and they insist on CASH ONLY which feels a bit grubby.
All the guests (mainly Belgian and Dutch) were by charming, well mannered and a delight.
The owners kindly gave us a free bottle of wine (but it was awful); kind though.
I do feel mean but a bit of friendliness, being less petty and a descent room for the vey high price would help.
PS they don't have room service or a fitness centre so please ignore the rating.

Room Tip: Don't go for Chambre Ventoux unless you like lumping your bags for ages and are 7 years old
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hohum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas-B-59, Owner at Domaine Les Roullets, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

* we are not hoteliers, that's correct. we partly have different backgrounds but still a long record of experience in the hospitality industry working with many different nationalities. we have traveled all over the world ourselves. we designed our estate based on what we have experienced, what we like and we just love sharing that with others. this personal approach is exactly what most of our guests are looking for.
* although many guests specifically ask for this room, we also feel that the sleeping area on the mezzanine is quite tight. so we are considering to change the room around and make the sleeping area downstairs and create a lounge area on the mezzanine to read a book or just relax.
* tiles in the bathroom are original provencal tiles that we have chosen with care and are scrubbed by our cleaning lady each time we have a room change. the disadvantage of such tiles is that they are old / original and not new and shiny.
* we think we will change the shower and add a flexible hand shower to the existing rain shower.
* if any problem with a key entering a room one would expect guests to say so, if not we are not aware of the problem and cannot solve it.
* we try to avoid any maintenance works in the garden when guests are around, unfortunately it cannot always be avoided. as most guests notice and appreciate we keep up a very high level of maintenance. by no means we mean to be inconsiderate !
* we are not equipped for cc payment. guests can do a bank to bank money transfer or pay the full amount in cash on the spot. most guests from overseas choose to pay the full amount in cash since bank to bank money transfers are complicated / expensive; unfortunately this is beyond our control
* of course we do not want to impose petty rules to our guests, on the contrary, we try to inform guests as much as possible in a positive way about the assets of our property and the area. we will certainly go through the information booklet to delete any information that could be misinterpreted.
* obviously our wine choice is a matter of taste: we serve our own organic red wine made by our winemaker who is known as one of the best in the area. the white and rose wine we serve are wines from the region that we have chosen carefully to our liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My partner and I stayed here in Sept 2011 - I've just remembered I wanted to write a review of Domaine Les Roullets, to help travellers making a decision when staying in the area. We travel frequently in Europe, so are experienced travellers.

The house and gardens/grounds are beautiful and idyllic, the breakfast food fabulous, which is served communally under the trees (which is really fine!). The breakfast experience would have been wonderful if it were not for the very loud Enya pumping from the stereo each morning (was that a breakfast call?), why oh why would you do that, to anyone?

The room was of a perfectly good size, clean and stylish. However, the beds are on wheels - which if you move around in your sleep, means that you don't get the most perfect nights sleep.

One of the reasons we were swayed by roullets was because the website said they cooked meals on some evenings - they may have on occasion when they fancy it, but they didn't at any point whilst we were there (5 nights) as the house has to be full and everyone needs to opt for eating in. Not surprisingly this never happened, really frustrating as that wasn't clear on the website. So every night you need to drive for food.

On our arrival (late from train and driving) on one of the evenings they said they cooked evening meals we were told they weren't cooking that night (we weren't pre-warned at all) and there was no offer of food, or helpful information on where to eat apart from being told to look it up in their book, we assumed it would be close to eat -- it wasn't. So we had to rush around to find somewhere very late on and then drive 15mins. Not the most relaxing or welcoming start.

We were also told where not to go around the house, which areas were the owners and which we could go in. Although the grounds, house, pool are stunning, we felt like we weren't really welcome, that it was more of a commercial venture than one of passion, one of the owners even said his favourite time of year was winter when they have hardly any guests. Again just a shame really - if you stay in a b&b you want to feel like the owners like have people in their house.

I would recommend staying here for one night if you're passing through the area, but no longer. It's quite out of the way and you really need to drive some distance for evening meals - which is a pain when there's so much lovely wine to be drunk!. If I had my time again I'd check out an inn/b&b/hotel (sorry I can't remember the name of it) at oppede le vieux - stunning little hilltop place with restaurant in walking distance and the owner (we ate there) was really helpful, interested and great (even though it's a much more basic option)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeeDlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Th0mas-B-59, Owner at Domaine Les Roullets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

We are very sorry this guest did not enjoy his/her stay with us. We know holiday time is very precious so we try to make anyone's stay as enjoyable as we can. We would like to respond to this review since we don't recognize ourselves, we don't quite understand many of the items.
* we play different relaxing background music during breakfast to start the day with and sometimes no music at all, depending of the mood and circumstances. most guests appreciate our choice of music. if anyone does not, best is to tell us on the spot and we simply turn off the music, no problem...still we have decided to be more careful with this, no point to annoy any of the guests.
* some beds are on wheels, easy to move and clean under. there is a break on the wheels. apparently the break was off...never before we had this complaint...if it occurs just tell us and we solve it instantly.
* we ask guests to tell us what time they expect to arrive and if they want we make a restaurant reservation in advance or they do themselves. we always recommend to reserve in advance. there is quite a choice of good restaurant at only 5 minutes (not 15 !) drive from here.
* 2012 we are very happy to have found a lady chef who comes to prepare a cold plate on an individual basis for guests that would like to stay here for lunch or dinner. she works with fresh local products of the season.
* guests can go and explore anywhere on our 6 ha. estate. obviously we also have our private space, quite normal we think and any other guest feels the same.
* often guests ask us what season is our favorite time of the year and wonder how winters are. we tell them all seasons are different and beautiful and we enjoy the area year around. such a pity to misunderstand and think we prefer not to have guests. if so we would not do this, fortunately we do not need to and so we do as we love to share the beauty of our estate and the area.
* many guests stay with us for a week or longer and come back from year to year as there is so much to do and see. the Luberon is considered one of the most beautiful regions of France. we find it quite strange if anyone claims a one night stay is recommendable...
* one of our best selling points is that our estate is quiet and spacious and located in a stunning natural area, but not at all out of the way. we are located within the ' golden triangle' of Oppède Le Vieux, Ménerbes and Gordes, all within 1.5 to 6 kms distance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here for one night. It has stunning grounds and beautiful rooms. Thomas & Rodolph are wonderful hosts, and they made us feel very much at home. The breakfast was out of this world! We couldn't recommend Les Roullets highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My wife and I recently stayed for 6 nights as part of our one month honeymoon in Europe. We have travelled Europe extensively over a long period and always do a lot of research to try and pick the best place to stay. It was a challenge for my planning skills to ensure that our honeymoon was as special as all our other trips.

Domaine Les Roullets is our favourite place of anywhere we have ever stayed. Everything in this place is so perfect.

The rooms are an amazing size, the décor and furnishings have been selected with the most intricate attention to detail and the beds are extremely comfortable. Our room had 5 meter high ceiling with a small balcony facing the vineyard, it was heavenly.

One can spend hours appreciating every detail of the common area’s of the interior of the house which is a superb mixture of traditional provincial and modern style. My wife is an interior designer and was fascinated at what an amazing job Thomas and Rudolph have done restoring this house.

The grounds of the estate are incredible. Vineyards, olive groves, pine trees, orchards, lavender, all pristinely cared for to the highest standard to create an ambiance of complete beauty and relaxation.

The pool and pool area are stunning. The pool house is a wonderful place to bring back your produce from the local markets and wine from the vineyards and prepare and enjoy your meals.

There is also plenty of shade available under the trees in the most stunningly peaceful rock wall garden that overlooks the mountain and vineyards in the distance.

Your hosts are amazingly friendly and helpful with all kinds of advise to make your stay in the Luberon as memorable as possible. By the way the Luberon Valley is just heaven. Hill top towns everywhere within 15 minutes of each other, amazing restaurants, no traffic, no parking problems and vineyards, olive groves and orchards literally surrounding you everywhere you go, all set right on the Luberon mountains. The views toward the towns and from the towns are amazing.

What an amazing experience. One my wife and I are so thankful to have enjoyed. I could have written pages and pages but would rather leave you to encounter many more surprises if you are lucky enough to stay in this stunning property.

Room Tip: Every room is amazing, however we stayed in the room on the top floor facing the vineyard which we highly recommend.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews