We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best accommodation in Luberon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Petitons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Petitons
Greyton, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best accommodation in Luberon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in apartment 3 for 7 nights. What an amazing experience, brilliant reception and service and a beautiful apartment. We will reccommend to anyone and hope to visit Les Petitions again some day! Thank you for making our stay so special, it was a vacation that we will never forget!

Room Tip: Apartment 3 was great and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We have just stayed 3 nights here. It is,as other reviewers have said, an idyllic spot. The apartments are beautifully furnished and very well equipped - the beds comfortable (so important!) and there was tea and coffee, jams, seasonings and oil and vinegar in the kitchen. The pool area is fabulous and the surrounding views beautiful. We were very disappointed to find ourselves in the only apartment without a terrace (number 11, the only one available when I booked 4 months ago) so our stay was rather less enjoyable than it would have been had we been able to sit outside - as we could see everyone else could. It's an easy walk up to Oppede-le-Vieux with its ruins and fabulous views. Aude-Marie is just lovely, so very good humoured and very helpful with restaurant bookings. We woul definitely return but not to number 11!

Room Tip: Don't choose number 11 unless you don't care about having a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doloresbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

The decor is beautifully done, the location is serene and pastoral, and the staff is wonderfully supportive. We had a 2 bed, 2 bath unit equipped with refrigerator, dishwasher, invection cooktop (2 burners), and combo microwave/convection oven, drip coffeemaker, elec. kettle and toaster. Also 1 flatscreen TV and DVD player. Everything worked. The pool is still not heated, but it feels good when it's 85 fahrenheit outside in the sun. "Old Oppede" is just a jaunt up the hill, and wonderfully non-commercial as it is too small of a hill town to attract hordes of tourists. And it's an easy drive to lots of other hill towns (Gordes, Rousillon, Menerbes) and the incomparable wineries of the Cote du Rhone. In short, this is a great place to relax.

A few minor negatives not mentioned in the other reviews, for your consideration.
- The walls are quite thin. I could hear another guest snoring next door, and the neighbor's 4 year old woke us up a few mornings with his normal happy chattering.
- The nearest retail services are about a kilometer away in the village of Oppede. The nearest supermarket is about 8 km away in the town of Cassoulet.
- Quite a few yellowjackets frequent the pool deck for water. Don't bring food or anything that attracts them, and they leave you alone.
- They've done a wonderful job with the decor, but it tends to place beauty ahead of function, i.e. the divan is not very comfortable, and while the stone sink is gorgeous, there is no usable counter surface in the 2nd bathroom.
- No clocks (but that may be a positive) or audio entertainment systems (i.e. someplace to connect my music player).

We would definitely stay here again. Just arrange your schedule/itinerary so you can buy your groceries before you roll in.

Room Tip: Unit 1 is gound floor and has 2 patio spaces, one facing the SE for morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDWarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I'm a travel agent and travel year-round. I like to stay in boutique / design hotels if but also not spend a fortune. I did about 2 weeks of research trying to find a place in Provence to meet these criteria and couldn't be happier I decided to go to Les Petitons!

1. Location
After spending 1 week in Provence I feel this really is the perfect location to discover the Luberon region! The house is situated on top of a little hill overlooking the beautiful valley. It's surrounded by nature only - olive trees, lots of cigalles, the valley to the right, the Luberon mountains to the left. It's really peaceful and quiet. 3min drive to the pretty village of Oppede-le-Vieux.

2. Comfort
It's simply perfect! I stayed in room #9 - the smell of the room - heaven! Kitchen, balcony with table/chairs, living room with pretty sofa & TV, bed with supercomfy bed/linen, bathroom with beautiful bathtub and the morning sun in the my face every morning! The pool area was well kept too

If you are looking for a well designed, boutique place to stay at fantastic prices - I can highly recommend this place. A lot of attention is paid to detail and is kept in such good shape. I hear it was just opened in 2011. You won't find any better in this area! Also Cathy was so helpful and a great host! She made me feel very welcome and I do hope I can return sometime soon with friends to show them this gem!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDP_perdiemprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Summary: I write this review on the 6th of 7th night of my stay at Les Petitons with my wife and 9 month old son. I agree with what prior reviews have stated - the Residences Les Petitons is a great spot for R&R as well as to explore the Luberon and other areas of Provence. My wife and I searched for a rental that could provide a combination of comfort and style, along with other requisites (pool, laundry, countryside and mountain vistas) at a reasonable price (all things considered). Les Petitons has delivered.

About the Residence Les Petitons: unpretentious and familial, but with a keen eye towards service.  The proprietor (Michel) is friendly and happy to discuss future plans for Les Residences. Aude-Marie, the magnificent concierge/day-to-day caretaker, is exceptional. Not only can she provide a number of suggestions for places to visit, eateries, wines, etc. but she aims to please without giving any sense of obligation.

Read on for more details, but overall, we will return, especially with the additional improvements they are making.

Location: off the beaten path, but that's what we were looking for in order to get peace and quiet in the Provence countryside. That said, there are numerous picturesque villages and tourist spots within 20 minutes and many more within an hour drive.

Reservations: no problems. In fact, we had some options among the apartments that were available and Cathy (the reservationist and daughter of the proprietors) was quite accommodating in providing additional details for each room.

Arrival: fantastic. Our flight to Marseille was late and as a result we were going to arrive later in the evening than expected. I sent an email to Les Petitons and received a prompt reply from Aude-Marie indicating she would leave the key. When we arrived, the apartment was fully setup - including baby bed, baby bathtub and even a couple of beers in the fridge to help start the vacation after a very long day of travel.

The Apartment: lovely as published. We stayed in #7 - 2 bedroom, 2 bath upstairs.Very nicely decorated and comfortable. Not huge but certainly enough space for the 2 1/2 of us. The nice sized balcony has great vistas to the south / southeast facing directly (and at the feet of) the Luberon mountain range. South/southwest is partially blocked by the apartment in front but has amazing sunset views. At first we were a bit disappointed with the "partial obstruction" but in the end it has been great as it provides a bit of additional privacy.

The pool: nicely done, with comfortable lounge chairs and umbrellas all around (no need to worry about fighting for them!) At the time of this review, the pool was not heated unfortunately as the water was just a bit too chilly; however, they are in the process of installing heating. They are also installing an outdoor shower as well as a shower/changing room for guests who want to make the most of their last day here but must check out of the room in the morning.

Amenities: the kitchen comes stocked with the necessary appliances and cooking utensils, as well as some basic ingredients such as salt, pepper, herbes de Provence, oil & vinegar (which are all a nice touch to get you started for an extended stay). The laundry is free (including soap) - again very nice touch. There is an outdoor grill which is another nice amenity.

Room Tip: Speak to the reservationist (Cathy) to determine the best apartment for your needs and preferences...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Extremely friendly Cathy made us feel very relaxed when we arrived.
The apartments were decorated with a lot of dedication by her mother.
Very well equipped apartments with coffee and jam ready to be use the morning after our arrival shows their attention for details that makes your stay very pleasant.
We enjoyed our evenings on our terrace having our pre-dinner drinks.

Room Tip: The rooms with terrace facing south-east (away from the street) are the nicest. Our gps could not f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oppede
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide du Bois Breant
8.2 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Domaine Les Roullets
Domaine Les Roullets
#3 of 19 in Oppede
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mas Dansavan
Mas Dansavan
#2 of 19 in Oppede
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Jardin D'ivana
Le Jardin D'ivana
#1 of 19 in Oppede
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.5 mi away
Aux Secrets du Puits
Aux Secrets du Puits
#1 of 12 in Cavaillon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Petitons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Petitons

Property: Les Petitons
Address: 757 route des Petitons Minguets, 84580 Oppede, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Oppede
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Oppede
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at feet of Oppede le Vieux, in the heart of the Luberon, this holiday Residence provides youwith 10 apartments among which5 on the ground fllor and 5 on the first floor.From these charming vacation rentals with a magnificent view on the Luberon and the Mont Ventoux, you can leave to the discovery of famous villages as Roussillon, Lacoste and Bonnieux.Located in a bosky bower in the middle of Luberon, the residence of holidays Les Petitons at Oppede le Vieux man ensures wellbeing and rest its residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Les Petitons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Petitons Oppede, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing