We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic - tranquility and amazing view”
Review of Le Mourre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oppede
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Mourre
Ranked #9 of 18 Oppede B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Idyllic - tranquility and amazing view”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our family of four stayed at Le Mourre for a week in July 2014 and could not have been happier with our stay. The location is amazingly beautiful. The pictures don't do it justice, as you can't get a sense of the scope and outlook. The property is on a hill, opposite the picturesque hilltop town of Oppede le Vieux whose abbey is lit up at night. The Luberon mountains stretch out in front of you, and as you swim in the elegant pool, you are surrounded by olive trees, the sound of cicadas and the smell of lavender. Vinyards are beneath you in the fields - a green carpet. Our unit was le Pigeonnier, and it was nicely decorated and well-equipped with a patio and a lovely view. Each gite had privacy, and the common areas were never crowded. Victorine was welcoming and knowledgeable - giving us restaurant suggestions and interesting sites to see in the area. You can walk to Oppede le Vieux in about half an hour, and it makes a lovely evening stroll to watch the sunset. The property is ideally located to see all the fascinating surrounding villages - Roussillon, Isle sur la Sorgue, Menerbes, Lacoste, Bonnieux, Gordes are all within a half-hour drive. The local markets are so diverse and delicious! The location provided the perfect combination of access to culture and history, as well as relaxation, fabulous weather and views. The beautiful memories we have will last a lifetime. I can't wait to return. Thank you, Victorine, for sharing your home!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperB_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bozeman, Montana, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Le Mourre is a classic country estate set in the most gorgeous part of the Luberon, looking out over the hills and the evocative ruins of Oppede Le Vieux. There are several houses available, we stayed in the former mill, Le Moulin, which is a lovely romantic and very private two story round building, complete with a small kitchen, eating and sitting area and serene terrace overlooking the mountains and vineyards. Your hostess Victorine is extremely gracious and elegant, and very helpful with recommendations for restaurants,etc. The ruins of the unbelievably picturesque abandoned hill fortress of Oppede are a short walk away, and there are ancient paths throughout the surrounding countryside to explore. There is also a tennis court and lovely pool. Le Mourre is lovely, tranquil and perfectly located for exploring the Luberon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bozo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Congratulations to Vita, family and team. Excellent accommodation which was clean, well equipped and very comfortable. The location was perfect with breathtaking classical Provençal views of vineyards and olive groves. A very nice atmosphere in communal areas. Numerous good restaurants nearby with lovely morning running routes through the vineyards to pick up the bread and croissants. Special thanks to Vita's husband for his local property advice and sincerely trying to help us out with looking at local property. In all, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000cowen10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed a week at Le Mourre - Le Pigeonnier in the summer 2013.

The owner was very helpful and polite which meant that the atmosphere was very pleasant.

The house was nice and adequately equipped. The best part were the views and the silence.

Luberon is a very exciting area.

We would definitely return to Le Mourre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rune G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The most breath taking setting. The accommodation completely wonderful and well equipped. There was sensational view from every window. We will certainly be booking to stay there again. Thank you Vita

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoS597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Arrived from Hungary for a nice week, and this was one of our best vacation.
Just nice and easy , clean and beautiful environment, excellent reestaurant advices.
Thanks again Vctorine
Peter and Zsuzsa

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This was our 3rd stay at Le Mourre in 5 years. Each time we have stayed in the "Le Pigeonnier" unit. Although only a couple, we enjoy having the extra room and the use of 2 bathrooms. During our visits we have come to know Victorine Canac as a kind and courteous person who goes out of her way to make us feel welcome and to enjoy our stay. She is now more like a friend with a fine sense of humour, and we enjoy being challenged by her to improve our ‘basic’ French in conversations. Also she has helped us with restaurant and shopping recommendations for Paris.

Le Mourre is located near the small village of Oppede, a short 15 minute walk away where we would buy a ‘daily’ baguette at the boulangerie. We normally would use the kitchen for making our own breakfast which has been improved by the addition of an espresso machine. Also we would sometimes have dinner at Le Pigeonnier by buying locally prepared dishes from a speciality shop in Coustellet – a few kilometres away (e.g. beef bourguignon, vegetable ratatouille, potato gratin etc). It was so relaxing to sit outside Le Pigeonnier enjoying a pre-dinner drink whilst looking through the beautiful garden to the Petit Luberon hills. We have also tried excellent restaurants in neighbouring villages (the Verandah at Merbes and Auberge de la Bartavelle at Goult).

Over the years we have made day trips to such interesting cities as Avignon, Aix-en- Provence, Orange, Nimes and Arles. Or alternatively Le Mourre is very close to the beautiful hilltop villages of Gordes, Rouisson and Bonnieux. In all locations you are treated to the interesting history and culture of Provence (e.g. roman amphitheatres in Nimes and Arles).

The other simple pleasure we have enjoyed is to go for walks on quiet lanes around le Mourre enjoying the vineyards, olive groves and country life. It is just so relaxing.

We would highly recommend you stay at Le Mourre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doyoulikeourname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oppede hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Mas Des Lones
Le Mas Des Lones
#7 of 18 in Oppede
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Buissonniere
La Buissonniere
#5 of 18 in Oppede
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Domaine Les Roullets
Domaine Les Roullets
#3 of 18 in Oppede
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Jardin D'ivana
Le Jardin D'ivana
#1 of 18 in Oppede
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mas Dansavan
Mas Dansavan
#2 of 18 in Oppede
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belle de Nuit Chambres d'Hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mourre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mourre

Property: Le Mourre
Address: 84580 Oppede, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Oppede
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Oppede
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Le Mourre Oppede, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing