We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Longsard
Ranked #1 of 1 Arnas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Upon arriving at this lovely, old Chateau, we were greeted by the Count himself, Olivier. We promptly met his cat Sushi and Boarder Collie Pruska who gave us a very friendly welcome. We were fortunate to have Alexandra give us a tour of the Chateau describing how they found it and the work that has been done in 16 years, amazing. They invited us for a family style BBQ which they welcomed and incouraged our assistance as well as a shopping trip to the Ville-Franche market. In a weeks time, we became fast friends and were sad to leave there company and lovely home.

Room Tip: We had the Blue Room directly opposite the front door, upstairs. This room has a connecting door to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We found this B&B by sheer luck. Driving through the French wine country outside of Lyon we stopped at a winery that wasn't really open. My wife told the retired winemaker that she was unhappy with our current accomodations and he immediately suggested Chateau de Longsard. What a wonderful find!!! We stayed two nights and our hosts Olivier and Alexandra could not have been more accomodating. It's a lovely Chateau with lots of history and beautiful gardens. We highly recommend it if your travels bring you to the French countryside.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shenk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This review will probably be one of the most out of date entries ever, however Trip Advisor didn't exist when we had the great fortune to stay in this wonderful place back in 2001 and as it is one of the most memorable places we have stayed in over the years I have always wanted to take the words from the visitors book and share them with other! Chateau de Longsard is just perfect, the rooms had been renovated with great care and attention to detail the breakfast was delicious homemade jams crusty fresh breads, the family dogs were just lovely to wonder around the estate (and I'm not normally a dog lover) we felt welcome and our first introduction to travelling in France was straight out of a romantic novel, in fact it inspired my now husband to ask me to marry him as we stood in a cornflower blue silk room with sun streaming through the windows. So girls if your man needs a little inspiration pack your bags and make a booking! I am sure that the dozen years that have passed since our stay have added to the experience but I will let you know as we are looking to return this summer. I should make my booking before I post this as I'm thinking it may get booked out with large numbers of single couples with wishful smiles!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Linda_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way back from the UK to Italy. I should start by emphasising that the Chateau is not normally open during this period but the owners were kind enough to allow us to stay.

The property is beautiful (it was just after New Year and so obviously it was not the best time of year to see it) and the owners have been renovating it for many years. There are many original features and the furnishing in the main house is old, very worn (and not particularly clean). We stayed in the newly refurbished stable block, which was more modern. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in!

We were invited to have an aperitif with the Comte and his American wife, who were both very welcoming and interesting and the Comte was kind enough to recommend a local restaurant where we had a really excellent meal.

It is also worth mentioning that our dog was also welcome, although because the owners also have dogs, he could not join us in the main house.
The following morning we were served a very stale breakfast. The crockery was dusty and we left fairly quickly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carole-Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longsard, Propriétaire at Chateau de Longsard, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for leaving a comment, albeit not a very favourable one. It is true that in winter everything is a little dismal, and you passed through when we are usually closed, so not at its best ! In winters we regularly warm the drawing room with wood fires which usually belch out some smoke and ash, so there will inevitably be signs of that . Our local bakery also closes during this period, and we then have to resort to another which is definitely not as good, we hope you enjoyed the home made jams, cereals, fruit, yogurt and cheese that we also serve at breakfast. It is also surprising that the china would be 'dusty' as it would have been laid out that morning, something to look into nevertheless. We were quite surprised that we did not see you after breakfast, as usualy we wish all our guests a personal 'safe trip'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Arrived later at night than expected from Lyon. The couple running the chateau were most gracious, and insisted we should eat. An excellent meal followed by a bottle of their own Beaujolais-very good! The chateau was located far enough in from a not-so-busy street that I doubt traffic would have disturbed anyone. This authentic, beautiful "hotel" is a work in progress. well over 200 years old, it is being renovated wing by wing. With almost meter thick walls one doesn't hear much from other parts of the chateau. Wifi has some difficulty cutting through some areas for this reason. Well versed in French and English, the owners seemed interested and engaged with their clients, and were helpful in recommending wine tasting locations, restaurants and places to see in general. The chateau itself is very interesting, and we were encouraged to walk around and poke about, which we did for a few hours. We only stayed 2 nights and days. I wish it could have been longer, so we'll have to go again !

Room Tip: upstairs in main house very quiet, peaceful and homey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My sister was turning 60 and we wanted to spend time together with our husbands in a Chateau to celebrate. We loved our stay and the hosts went out of their way to make things special for my sister, flowers champange etc. The boys loved playing chess and drinking Olivier's wine in the lounge. The last night was spent playing boules with Alex and Olivier, really warm and lovely people.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chateau as we wanted to have all things provided. The 2 large double rooms overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 241Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Not a great place to stay. We stayed in the old part of the house, which was not a good decision. There was no shower and we were warned to be careful when using the bath NOT to get water on the floor as it would leak directly through to the room below. The host also was at pains to point out his dislike for Americans (I'm English, but my partner is American). Frankly, he thought himself about hosting guests which was a slightly odd situation given that he had made the decision to open his house to paying guests... Be warned: there is no dinner here. He makes a reservation on your behalf in a local restaurant. All slightly odd and not very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillLondon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longsard, Propriétaire at Chateau de Longsard, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

We picked the ' chambre de la mariée' for this young couple, thinking that it would please them. It has a beautiful antique 4 poster bed and as it is at the top of the house, it has the best views of the garden, that you can see whilst still in bed. The bathroom has a cast iron clawed foot bath, and has a shower attachment, albeit you cannot stand in the bath and have a shower. We installed all of the bathrooms in a house from 1780's, so yes we do ask guests to be carefull when using shower attachments. As for any anti- American sentiment, we, the owners are French and American, so there clearly must have been a misunderstanding as we are definitely not anti any nationality, and very involved with the American community, who have the run of the chateau for the yearly july 4th pic nic. I do not know how else to reply to these kinds of statements , we would have gladly changed the room, and cleared up the misunderstanding if we had known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau de Longsard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Longsard

Address: 4060 route de Longsard | Villefranche sur saone, 69400 Arnas, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Arnas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arnas
Price Range: £119 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tired of hotels, all the same? try Chateau Longsard, a family run bed and breakfast, 4hrs south of Paris and just north of Lyon, and only a couple of miles from a motorway exit. Suraonded by 50 acres of garden, woods, fields and vineyards. This 18th century wine estate still has the old press and winery, walk through the vineyards, have a taste of our wine and take our dogs for a walk around the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de Longsard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Longsard France/Arnas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing