We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A firm favourite”

Le Poeme de Grignan
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Grignan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“A firm favourite”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Cosy and welcoming as always. Each course lovingly prepared and presented. The perfect location for that special intimate meal or celebration.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    113
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A sublime meal! Sublime!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

If you are in or even near Grignan, plan to eat here. You will be transported to Food Heaven! Our group of four had the pleasure of dining here last week, and we are still talking about it. Monsieur Herve Dodane, the chef and co-owner, is a genius in the kitchen, and Mme. Valerie Chareye, the other owner, is a charming and knowledgeable hostess.It is small, so reserve your table. You will love this place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melvyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
None
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Immaculate cuisine”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The ambience is a little old world, but the balance of the menu, wine choices, and attention to detail on each dish are impressive. Truly excellent cuisine at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Cozy and Romantic Restaurant That Impresses”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Le Poeme cooks up the most beautiful and refined food you can imagine. Everything was superbly prepared and presented from the amuse bouche to the dessert. The set menu is very reasonable and has a wide range of choices of meat, seafood, and game. I ordered a fish dish with a filet of sea bream. The garnish on the filet actually reconstituted the look of a fish. The place was small and cozy, perfect place for a romantic dinner, yet it's very comfortable and unpretentious. The restaurant even surprised my son who turned 11 the day we dined there by preparing a birthday greeting on a fondant cake dough. Highly recommend the place. Definitely reserve ahead.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spiderkitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
238 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations!”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our party of nine, enjoying a week of barge cruising on the Rhone, was taken to this highly recommended pre-booked restaurant for lunch. The ambiance of this small owner-operated restaurant had immediate appeal, and was fully booked with a mix of locals and tourists. The range of gourmet meal options and quality of food and wine presented to our table exceeded our high expectations. A genuine delight and strongly recommended, especially if you are not pressured for time, as the service struggles with meeting the competing demands of all tables.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Poeme de Grignan also viewed

 
Grignan, Drome
 

Been to Le Poeme de Grignan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing