We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay, we've already booked the third!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Clair de la Plume
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grignan
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our second stay, we've already booked the third!”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We found Grignan by accident last summer, stopping for a coffee on our way home after a day out with family. We really liked both the village and the look of Le Clair de la Plume, so much so that we booked a weekend stay a few weeks later. We enjoyed that so much that we booked again for the "Réveillon" (New Year's Eve). The special menu looked amazing, but my wife doesn't eat nuts, and some of the dishes did contain them. When I called to book, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, reassuring us that the chef would be able to take this into account. When we checked in they confirmed that this had been noted on our reservation.

The meal was every bit as excellent as we had hoped. I had thought that the chef might just subsitute other dishes for the "nutty" ones, but instead he had taken the trouble to prepare the same dishes nut-free for my wife, so we could both enjoy the same menu. It's exactly that attention to detail that makes this hotel so special.

If I have any criticism of the meal at all it is just that it was difficult to choose a single wine to accompany all the courses, but the wine list has a very limited selection of small bottles. An option to have some wines by the glass, perhaps chosen to accompany each dish, would have been useful. Our inevitable compromise was two bottles...

Our room was comfortable, with a good-quality bed and modern and spotlessly clean bathroom. Being an old building the rooms differ in size and price, and do be aware that there's no lift so if you have a second-floor room you do have stairs to climb. The hotel was warm and cozy in December, the rooms are air-conditioned if you're there in the heat of summer.

Grignan as a whole is a lovely little village, and the Chateau is well worth a visit. We've already booked our next stay at Le Clair de la Plume for next summer.

Room Tip: The web site has a plan, some rooms have a terrace, it's worth looking at the plan and asking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller38France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairplume, Gérant at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Many thanks for this exquisit review!
All the Team and I are looking forward to welcome you again at Le Clair de la Plume.
Warm regards.
Jean Luc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    132
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
68
420
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Booked the hotel last minute & was really impressed. In a beautiful location in a small town, charming, provencal style bedrooms, very comfy bed & the restaurant was fantastic. Fresh ingredients, cooked beautifully in really interesting combinations - the pea & truffle soup was delicious.

Room Tip: Our room was the cheapest at 99€/night but great value. The room was large, lovely views over the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thealpineclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairplume, Propriétaire at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure to read your comment posted on Tripadvisor.
We all, here, hope the pleasure to welcome you again at Le Clair de la Plume.
Warm regards,
Jean Luc VALADEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have just returned from France and spent the last three days in this nostalgic and peaceful great hotel.
We received a very friendly reception on our arrival and must comment that ALL the staff were delightful during our 3 day stay. Service was excellent and nothing was too much for them
Our room, Anne, was large and very clean overlooking the front garden, with a good size bathroom.
Breakfast buffet was a delight and layed out in the homely wonderfull kitchen, just like as if it were in a private country house. Tables were layed in the front garden, with large cream coloured umbrellas and at night dinner was also served here, with individual spot lamps illuminating each table, giving the whole atmosphere a fairy tale ambiance.
Food was superb and well presented. Choice was from an a la carte menu or a different daily set menu, from which you could pick and mix. We think the chef had a slight pacific rim influence on some dishes, which was very refreshing in a subtle way, inovative and delicious. ( You must book your table, as the restaurant is open to non residents and when we were there, always full ).
The Hotel had a small comfortable lounge with daily newspapers.
Parking was no problem. You were given a window permit enableing you to park just opposite the entrance in a restricted area to the public, or to park in their private area approx 250 metres from the Hotel.
A small swimming pool and sun bed area is also available to guests, set within a quiet garden, where you can also have drinks and snacks. This is approx 250 meters from the hotel and you are also able to park outside this area if you don't feel like walking.
We had a very happy stay and do not think that the web-site gives this hotel the justificaction it surely deserves. We will definately recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building overlooking the garden restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haroldhenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairplume, Propriétaire at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your very nice post on Tripadvisor.
All the team and myself hope to welcome you again soon at Le Clair de la Plume.
Yours faithfully,
Jean-Luc VALADEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed for a week. The hotel is in the centre of this lovely village, in an exceptionally pretty and tranquil setting. The house itself is beautiful, both inside and out, and our room, Theo, although rather small, was very clean and comfortable, with a view onto the enchanting garden. The buffet breakfast was outstanding, as was the restaurant, with an interesting and creative menu every evening. The service from ALL the hotel staff was the friendliest and most helpful we have ever met - nothing was too much trouble. For example, when I developed severe toothache, the reception staff went out of their way to obtain treatment for me. Our one disappointment was the pool; we were uncertain as to its cleanliness although we appreciate the reasons for not using chemicals. The pool's garden setting is splendid, with a wonderful view of the chateau, but unfortunately the loungers were uncomfortable and service at the bar-cafe was not always available at the advertised times. This is our only criticism of an otherwise wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairplume, Gérant at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Madam,
Many thanks for your very kind review.
May I reassure you about the water quality of our natural pool .
We are having a fortnightly test (twice a month) made by an independent laboratory, under the ARS control (the French equivalent of the English National Health Service). Results of these tests are communicated to the Grignan town hall (our town), and are displayed nearby the pool. They are consistent with values applicable for this kind of pool. So far, we never had a problem. If a bad result occurs, we would obviously be forced to close the pool until the water quality can be restored totally.
Basically, the water is filtered in the pound next to the pool (via plants, sands and stones). The pool is only accessible from 10 am till 6 pm (the remaining period allows water to regenerate properly).
This solution, inspired by Mother Nature, provides a water quality close to our small countryside rivers. The pool walls have a dark color coat, which allow the water to be naturally heated by the sun.
We are proud to be one of the first hotel in France has a natural pool offers to our customers, for which we received a Tourism Innovation Award.
The chairs are placed on the floor (without wheels or feets) to avoid the mistral inconvenience (the famous wind of Provence). I acknowledge that the lack of height may seem uncomfortable, but we emphasize comfort when seated (protected from the wind).
For service, if none is in the garden, there is a bell next to the pool (on the wall of the showers house). But even if it is mentioned on the plan that we deliver to each customer going to the pool, it may be not visible enough. We will review its signage within 15 days.
Thanks you for helping us to improve.
I hope to see you again soon in Grignan, and remains at your disposal.
Warm regards.
Jluc VALADEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed one night in one of the suites in the separated house 150 meters from the hotel. Rooms are very nice and gives you the impression of staying in someones home more than in a hotel. Be aware though that the very luxury impression that the videos one the home page gives you not are met to 100%. The hotel also includes a nice peace of parkland with a swimming possibility about 200m from the hotel buliding - unfortunately we did not have the time to utilize that. Restaurant was good - not great, and service a bit confused. a restaurant should not put wine and water on a sideboard if that staff do not keep an eye on when its time to fill the glasses. Breakfast though was absolutely excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanOhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairplume, Gérant at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Madame,
Many thanks for your comment. I am sorry that read your disappointment about our video, but we do not try to give a luxury impression. We only try to transcribe the Clair de la Plume atmosphere : 3 different charming places dispatched in the historic village of Grignan. I do recognize that our restaurant service has been a little difficult the past weeks, but we have added new staff member to improve it. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again here.
Warm regards.
Jluc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great staff, extremely courteous service and lovely food.
This is a fascinating boutique hotel in a lovely village.
Our room was lovely and overlooked the dining courtyard.
The Mistral was in full flow during our final day which cooled things down nicely.
I would definitely recommend this hotel ****

Room Tip: We only have experience of one room, but overlooking the dining courtyard was absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Route66Wiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairplume, Gérant at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your kind review.
All the team is informed of online comments, and thank you too for your great comment.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Le Clair de la Plume.
Best regards.
Jean Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I always ask my company if they'd be kind enough to book a room for me in this charming hotel whenever I am visiting Taulignan on business. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and the food is heavenly! The staff are attentive and knowledgeable and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grignan
12.0 mi away
Chateau Les Oliviers De Salettes
0.2 mi away
Manoir de la Roseraie
Manoir de la Roseraie
#2 of 7 in Grignan
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Bastide de Grignan
La Bastide de Grignan
#4 of 7 in Grignan
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Le Moulin De Valaurie
Le Moulin De Valaurie
#1 of 3 in Valaurie
250 reviews
8.8 mi away
Domaine du Colombier
Domaine du Colombier
#1 of 2 in Malataverne
263 reviews
8.7 mi away
Villa Augusta
Villa Augusta
#1 of 2 in Saint-Paul-Trois-Chateaux
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clair de la Plume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clair de la Plume

Property: Le Clair de la Plume
Address: 2 Place du Mail, 26230, Grignan, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Grignan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grignan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Clair de la Plume 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Provence, the historical village of Grignan is home to our charming 4-star hotel: cross the gate and enter through our garden. The joy of life is felt in our distinguished rooms offering views onto the garden or fountain. Our private house offers home felt comfort 100 meters away. Le Clair de la Plume, always open, proposes a gastronomic dinners with fresh products of Provence. "Bistro" formula for lunch, and tea room every afternoon. For those warm sunny days, our organic Mediterranean garden offers (200 meters away), not only another outdoor restaurant, but also a natural, chemical free swimming pool. Among this garden, we offer our lovers' pavilion; for those special vacations just for two. Finally, in the village centre, our gift shop offers scents & traditions of Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Clair de la Plume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing