We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Clair de la Plume
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clubhotel La Balme(Chantemerle-les-Grignan)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Le Mas De Fanny(Chantemerle-les-Grignan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Les Mejeonnes(Valaurie)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveller rating
478
150
38
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
150
38
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla plumecharming hotelbiscuitsafternoon teasmall hotelprivate housetaste budstuesday morningbreakfast buffetlovely villagefirst floortruffle menuexcellent foodrooms are cleanseparate reviewcabillaudlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 676 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

It was rather late in the day when we came across this gem on our way up to the Chateau which is well worth a visit too. We were offered the plat du jour, which was breast of goose with potato Rosti, mushrooms and tomatoes. It was delicious. The staff were very helpful, the Maitre D having worked in Australia and Europe spoke English which was very fortunate. Afternoon tea was being put out when we left and we promised ourselves we will visit again in March, hopefully, we will be able to take advantage of the lovely garden setting then.....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairplume, Gérant at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your very kind review, that I just shared with the Team tonight.
We have set up a "bistro" formula for Monday to Saturday lunches.
Dinners evaluate to a more elaborated cuisine (including Sunday lunch).
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Le Clair de la Plume!
Warm regards.
Jean Luc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We found Grignan by accident last summer, stopping for a coffee on our way home after a day out with family. We really liked both the village and the look of Le Clair de la Plume, so much so that we booked a weekend stay a few weeks later. We enjoyed that so much that we booked again for the "Réveillon" (New Year's Eve). The special menu looked amazing, but my wife doesn't eat nuts, and some of the dishes did contain them. When I called to book, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, reassuring us that the chef would be able to take this into account. When we checked in they confirmed that this had been noted on our reservation.

The meal was every bit as excellent as we had hoped. I had thought that the chef might just subsitute other dishes for the "nutty" ones, but instead he had taken the trouble to prepare the same dishes nut-free for my wife, so we could both enjoy the same menu. It's exactly that attention to detail that makes this hotel so special.

If I have any criticism of the meal at all it is just that it was difficult to choose a single wine to accompany all the courses, but the wine list has a very limited selection of small bottles. An option to have some wines by the glass, perhaps chosen to accompany each dish, would have been useful. Our inevitable compromise was two bottles...

Our room was comfortable, with a good-quality bed and modern and spotlessly clean bathroom. Being an old building the rooms differ in size and price, and do be aware that there's no lift so if you have a second-floor room you do have stairs to climb. The hotel was warm and cozy in December, the rooms are air-conditioned if you're there in the heat of summer.

Grignan as a whole is a lovely little village, and the Chateau is well worth a visit. We've already booked our next stay at Le Clair de la Plume for next summer.

Room Tip: The web site has a plan, some rooms have a terrace, it's worth looking at the plan and asking for a specific room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller38France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairplume, Gérant at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Many thanks for this exquisit review!
All the Team and I are looking forward to welcome you again at Le Clair de la Plume.
Warm regards.
Jean Luc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Booked the hotel last minute & was really impressed. In a beautiful location in a small town, charming, provencal style bedrooms, very comfy bed & the restaurant was fantastic. Fresh ingredients, cooked beautifully in really interesting combinations - the pea & truffle soup was delicious.

Room Tip: Our room was the cheapest at 99€/night but great value. The room was large, lovely views over the courtyard
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen73440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairplume, Propriétaire at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure to read your comment posted on Tripadvisor.
We all, here, hope the pleasure to welcome you again at Le Clair de la Plume.
Warm regards,
Jean Luc VALADEAU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have just returned from France and spent the last three days in this nostalgic and peaceful great hotel.
We received a very friendly reception on our arrival and must comment that ALL the staff were delightful during our 3 day stay. Service was excellent and nothing was too much for them
Our room, Anne, was large and very clean overlooking the front garden, with a good size bathroom.
Breakfast buffet was a delight and layed out in the homely wonderfull kitchen, just like as if it were in a private country house. Tables were layed in the front garden, with large cream coloured umbrellas and at night dinner was also served here, with individual spot lamps illuminating each table, giving the whole atmosphere a fairy tale ambiance.
Food was superb and well presented. Choice was from an a la carte menu or a different daily set menu, from which you could pick and mix. We think the chef had a slight pacific rim influence on some dishes, which was very refreshing in a subtle way, inovative and delicious. ( You must book your table, as the restaurant is open to non residents and when we were there, always full ).
The Hotel had a small comfortable lounge with daily newspapers.
Parking was no problem. You were given a window permit enableing you to park just opposite the entrance in a restricted area to the public, or to park in their private area approx 250 metres from the Hotel.
A small swimming pool and sun bed area is also available to guests, set within a quiet garden, where you can also have drinks and snacks. This is approx 250 meters from the hotel and you are also able to park outside this area if you don't feel like walking.
We had a very happy stay and do not think that the web-site gives this hotel the justificaction it surely deserves. We will definately recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building overlooking the garden restaurant.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haroldhenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairplume, Propriétaire at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your very nice post on Tripadvisor.
All the team and myself hope to welcome you again soon at Le Clair de la Plume.
Yours faithfully,
Jean-Luc VALADEAU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed for a week. The hotel is in the centre of this lovely village, in an exceptionally pretty and tranquil setting. The house itself is beautiful, both inside and out, and our room, Theo, although rather small, was very clean and comfortable, with a view onto the enchanting garden. The buffet breakfast was outstanding, as was the restaurant, with an interesting and creative menu every evening. The service from ALL the hotel staff was the friendliest and most helpful we have ever met - nothing was too much trouble. For example, when I developed severe toothache, the reception staff went out of their way to obtain treatment for me. Our one disappointment was the pool; we were uncertain as to its cleanliness although we appreciate the reasons for not using chemicals. The pool's garden setting is splendid, with a wonderful view of the chateau, but unfortunately the loungers were uncomfortable and service at the bar-cafe was not always available at the advertised times. This is our only criticism of an otherwise wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddyM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairplume, Gérant at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Madam,
Many thanks for your very kind review.
May I reassure you about the water quality of our natural pool .
We are having a fortnightly test (twice a month) made by an independent laboratory, under the ARS control (the French equivalent of the English National Health Service). Results of these tests are communicated to the Grignan town hall (our town), and are displayed nearby the pool. They are consistent with values applicable for this kind of pool. So far, we never had a problem. If a bad result occurs, we would obviously be forced to close the pool until the water quality can be restored totally.
Basically, the water is filtered in the pound next to the pool (via plants, sands and stones). The pool is only accessible from 10 am till 6 pm (the remaining period allows water to regenerate properly).
This solution, inspired by Mother Nature, provides a water quality close to our small countryside rivers. The pool walls have a dark color coat, which allow the water to be naturally heated by the sun.
We are proud to be one of the first hotel in France has a natural pool offers to our customers, for which we received a Tourism Innovation Award.
The chairs are placed on the floor (without wheels or feets) to avoid the mistral inconvenience (the famous wind of Provence). I acknowledge that the lack of height may seem uncomfortable, but we emphasize comfort when seated (protected from the wind).
For service, if none is in the garden, there is a bell next to the pool (on the wall of the showers house). But even if it is mentioned on the plan that we deliver to each customer going to the pool, it may be not visible enough. We will review its signage within 15 days.
Thanks you for helping us to improve.
I hope to see you again soon in Grignan, and remains at your disposal.
Warm regards.
Jluc VALADEAU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews