We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"In rome be roman", I mean in Alentejo stay in a traditional style house!”
Review of Casa Saramago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Saramago
Ranked #9 of 11 Monsaraz B&B and Inns
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
703 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“"In rome be roman", I mean in Alentejo stay in a traditional style house!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

If you are looking for a posh accommodation, forget it, this is not for you!
Casa Saramago is a traditional style house of Alentejo, the decoration, the architecture everything is dated and accordant to the country area whre it´s located, Alentejo. This hotel is for someone that really want to experience the real Alentejo soul and chill out away from big cities, cars, noise and pollution.

In Casa Saramago (Saramago´s house), you can book a room in the main house or a small independent rooms with direct exit to outside, swimming pool area.

Besides the swimming pool there´s a few more options when we are talking about activities. Hourse ridding, hunts, stars watching at night and picnics with local delicacies, home made bread and cakes, jams, fruits, cheese etc. You can ask to in the hotel to organize it and them by horse/cart ride to the river´s margins.

The breakfast is also very good with local products as I described before about picnics.

The hotel is located away from "civilization" basicly, you can see the nearest village almost from every windons of from the swiming pool area, but to reach there you need to drive. The village called Reguengos de Monsaraz, is superb. Built surrounded by a ancient castle style wall, there besides the churches, tipical houses and other ery interresting builds you can find restaurants.

Also in the are, you must visit the river margins and a village called "aldeia da Luz", car is indispensable for every ride.

Another suggestion I can leave to future visitors, will be to see the variety of dolmens, this area of Portugal is well known because the prehistoric traces. And of course the pottery as well!

If you want to "disconnect" from stressed world, you just found the right spot to do it. In a traditional e warm atmosphere, you will feel like you are being received on some friends house and not paying in a "hotel".

All rooms with air conditioner and TV.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Classic old charming b&b, spotless clean, beautiful spacious rooms, a pool with an amazing view at sunset to Monsaraz. Very good breakfast. Quiet and peaceful, just some minutes away from the village. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucaBrasi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We loved our stay at this charming inn. The entire home is cozy and you just want to curl up and read or take a nap here. I especially enjoyed the swimming pool and walk up to the top of town on a narrow overgrown wildflower path. Wish we could have stayed for a week, will definitely return some day.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a little enclosed deck, very private and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This b&b is a wonderful place - it's a 100yr old farm, and everything is well taken care of - all the good quality linen is embroided with their logo. Even the pottery has their own logo;
It's a very pleasant place, with a good swimmingpool, possibility for horseriding, and don't forget you're so close to Monsaraz.
Breakfast is a real treat, with excellent Alentejo bread, jams, juice, cold cuts, cheeses, homemade cake (mmmmm !!) etc.
Our room was very spacious, well furnished, good & comfortable bed, nice bathroom, good shower, and everything 200% clean ! They used a lot of natural stone and that gives a certain charm.
In their cosy lounge they have a big open fire, it's a very nice place to sit & relax !
The owner is very friendly, just like his mother. They make you feel at home !
He recommended us the Sem Fim restaurant in the same village (Telheiro), and yes, you just have to go there and try it out. It's an old olive oil factory, you can't believe your eyes when you enter the place ....
You can eat or have a drink in a very special atmosphere and their food is excellent, and don't forget to have a look in the art gallery !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laureyssens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monsaraz
1.3 mi away
Horta da Moura - Hotel Rural
22.5 mi away
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
#1 of 3 in Vila Vicosa
491 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hotel de Moura
Hotel de Moura
#1 of 2 in Moura
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Horta da Coutada
Horta da Coutada
#2 of 11 in Monsaraz
138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monte Alerta
Monte Alerta
#3 of 11 in Monsaraz
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estalagem de Monsaraz
Estalagem de Monsaraz
#8 of 11 in Monsaraz
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Saramago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Saramago

Property: Casa Saramago
Address: Rua de Reguengos 9A | Telheiro, Monsaraz 7200-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Monsaraz
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monsaraz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Saramago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing