We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Estalagem de Monsaraz
Nearby Hotels
US$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de Moura(Moura)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heredero Hotel(Olivenza)
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa(Vila Vicosa)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
    US$108
    US$94
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    US$86
    Orbitz.com
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Vila Planicie Hotel Rural(Monsaraz)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    Reviews (107)
    Filter reviews
    107 results
    Traveller rating
    36
    49
    14
    4
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    36
    49
    14
    4
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgreat hotelstayed herefive minute walkoverlooking the valleyfresh fruitwalled townsmall hotelhillsidepoolterracewifiplainscastleviewsbreakfasteuropecharacter
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    24 - 29 of 107 reviews
    Reviewed 20 March 2013

    The kind of place for people who don't like huge, plastic hotels. Great local arquitecture, very clean and cosy, good rooms, very nice service. It's not a hotel, of course, but a place where you feel at home easily. For breakfast, the wonderful bread from Alentejo, honey made locally. The landscape of the surrounding area is gorgeous. Great for walking. There's a very good restaurant 50 metres away. The kind of place I keep coming back to. And it's only 200km from Lisbon, close to beautiful Évora, 200km from the best preserved beaches in the Algarve (those close to Vila do Bispo/Sagres). And, of course, Alqueva, the great lake.

    Room Tip: There are stairs for almost every room.
    • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank FernandaMiraBarros
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 July 2012

    Although friendly and with an interesting clientele and good breakfasts; this place is confused about whether it's a B&B or a private house.

    The swimming pool terrace is frankly treacherous, and the lack of air con in our room as temperatures climbed to 40+ degrees is negligent.

    We asked about mosquitos, were advised they were not a problem and then were eaten alive. Various levels of accomodation included self catering which attracted large family groups - not conducive to sharing a pool the size of a snooker table.

    Sorry to say we won't be going back.

    Room Tip: Sound proofing was awful in our room , we might as well have been in a tent.
    • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Simon F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 July 2012

    Great high location with very nice views. Excellent dinner in adjacent restaurant. Very friendly and service minded staff. Nice small pool and garden.

    Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and you will have a very nice view.
    • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ARP_11
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 August 2011

    Monsaraz is an old village inside of a castle, right in the top of a small moutain in the middle of the Alentejo lowlands, near the biggest artificial lake in Europe (Alqueva).
    From this small hotel (Estalagem) in one of the hillsides, it seems you are the king of the world, regarding the views you have from the rooms, the pool and the typical garden. It's easy to get to the hotel, its easy to park your car and the village is at your feet. From the three nights we spent there, visiting the couzy little handicraft shops and places nearby, we really felt at home with the friendly staff. Rooms were clean, confortable beds, nice pool and good and rich breakfast. For sure I will be back and I recommend it.

    • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank BadenPowellLisboa
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 June 2011

    Just outside the Monsaraz town wall so great views over the plains of Alentejo to the West (not the lake to the S-SE). Atmospheric teared garden surrounding pool. The lighting didn't work in the first room we were shown to and the only natural light/view in the whole roon + ensuite was through a glass pane in the door! - or through the door itself! In 2nd room 3 blown bulbs (which I corrected by pinching bulbs from the 1st room to which we still had access to clear our unpacked possesions). No internet (although an evening receptionist did allow us to sit at her desk to check our emails.) Shaving mirror (which had had many crude attempts to be repaired) hanging off wall, eccentric features such as unecessary, crudely installed, 2nd telephone system in ensuites. All in desparate need of a makeover

    • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank rennatian
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews