We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estalagem de Monsaraz
Ranked #8 of 11 Monsaraz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for 2nights in April and were made very welcome in this unique Inn. Travelling as 2couples we were given two adjoining rooms both with excellent views. Short walk, uphill of course to the walled city. The weather was good and we were able to enjoy uninterrupted views from the roof terrace with a bottle of wine.
Recommend Os Templarios for excellent dining and it is close too.

Room Tip: Travelling together ask for adjoining rooms we were in rooms 35 and 36. There is a roof terrace but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Nice welcome. Staying in room 13. Bed was hard and very noise when you move or run over which ment we only slept 3-4 hrs. Bathroom needed updating, being 6'3 had to bend down a long way to look in mirror, likewise in shower. No English tv in room. Air conditioner was ok. Breakfast, arrived on time but the waited 15 mins as not ready and not a great welcome. Breakfast ok, typical portigese. Recommend restaurant with half barrel outside it. Overall, felt price was bit high for the quality of the room which was €70.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The kind of place for people who don't like huge, plastic hotels. Great local arquitecture, very clean and cosy, good rooms, very nice service. It's not a hotel, of course, but a place where you feel at home easily. For breakfast, the wonderful bread from Alentejo, honey made locally. The landscape of the surrounding area is gorgeous. Great for walking. There's a very good restaurant 50 metres away. The kind of place I keep coming back to. And it's only 200km from Lisbon, close to beautiful Évora, 200km from the best preserved beaches in the Algarve (those close to Vila do Bispo/Sagres). And, of course, Alqueva, the great lake.

Room Tip: There are stairs for almost every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernandaMiraBarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Although friendly and with an interesting clientele and good breakfasts; this place is confused about whether it's a B&B or a private house.

The swimming pool terrace is frankly treacherous, and the lack of air con in our room as temperatures climbed to 40+ degrees is negligent.

We asked about mosquitos, were advised they were not a problem and then were eaten alive. Various levels of accomodation included self catering which attracted large family groups - not conducive to sharing a pool the size of a snooker table.

Sorry to say we won't be going back.

Room Tip: Sound proofing was awful in our room , we might as well have been in a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Great high location with very nice views. Excellent dinner in adjacent restaurant. Very friendly and service minded staff. Nice small pool and garden.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and you will have a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Monsaraz is an old village inside of a castle, right in the top of a small moutain in the middle of the Alentejo lowlands, near the biggest artificial lake in Europe (Alqueva).
From this small hotel (Estalagem) in one of the hillsides, it seems you are the king of the world, regarding the views you have from the rooms, the pool and the typical garden. It's easy to get to the hotel, its easy to park your car and the village is at your feet. From the three nights we spent there, visiting the couzy little handicraft shops and places nearby, we really felt at home with the friendly staff. Rooms were clean, confortable beds, nice pool and good and rich breakfast. For sure I will be back and I recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadenPowellLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Just outside the Monsaraz town wall so great views over the plains of Alentejo to the West (not the lake to the S-SE). Atmospheric teared garden surrounding pool. The lighting didn't work in the first room we were shown to and the only natural light/view in the whole roon + ensuite was through a glass pane in the door! - or through the door itself! In 2nd room 3 blown bulbs (which I corrected by pinching bulbs from the 1st room to which we still had access to clear our unpacked possesions). No internet (although an evening receptionist did allow us to sit at her desk to check our emails.) Shaving mirror (which had had many crude attempts to be repaired) hanging off wall, eccentric features such as unecessary, crudely installed, 2nd telephone system in ensuites. All in desparate need of a makeover

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rennatian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monsaraz hotels
0.6 mi away
Vila Planicie Hotel Rural
0.9 mi away
Horta da Moura - Hotel Rural
0.1 mi away
Casa D. Antonia - Turismo Rural Monsaraz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dom Nuno - Turismo de Habitacao
0.6 mi away
Horta da Coutada
Horta da Coutada
#3 of 11 in Monsaraz
147 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sao Lourenco do Barrocal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem de Monsaraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem de Monsaraz

Address: Largo de Sao Bartolomeu 5, Monsaraz 7200-175, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Monsaraz
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monsaraz
Price Range: £48 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estalagem de Monsaraz 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Estalagem de Monsaraz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing