We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AC27 Stunning Villa and wonderful holiday in Salema”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The View – Santo Antonio Villas, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Salema
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AC27 Stunning Villa and wonderful holiday in Salema”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just back from an wonderful stay in Salema. We've been once before and loved the old fashioned feel of the village, just like stepping back in time to Cornwall 30 years ago but with heat and sunshine.

We haven't stayed at the View before, but felt compelled to write about how lovely this complex is. Its a private development. We stayed in a great house with lovely views of the bay. The houses are finished to a very high finish and our house was beautifully furnished in a contemporary style with all white french style furniture.

The finishing touches were nice; quality bed linen, duck feathers pillows, beach towels, a library of up to date DVD's and books as well as a telescope and a very well equipped kitchen and BBQ made the house very comfortable.

The pool is very big and was quiet generally during our stay so we never had any issues with sun loungers.

We particularly enjoyed long lunches overlooking Salema & Zavial beach in the various restaurants. Fresh fish is a particular speciality.

Highlights of our trip were; the grotto boat trip & dolphin safari from Lagos, the surf beach at Amado and for me the spa at Parque da floresta.

Would recommend this villa and the holiday for families of any age. Salema is a very safe beach with lifeguard, however we went 10 mins up the road to very exciting west coast wild beaches for fun with our teenagers. The teenagers were also able to go out at night to the bars of Salema which they enjoyed with a 5 minute walk back home later.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Madaboutsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    7
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our second trip here, peak season this time. !We have 2 children aged 12 and 15 who enjoyed it too, especially the wi-fi in the pubs!! Busier but still peaceful and tranquil, everything just as it was last year. Fantastic accomodation, immaculate pool and gardens. Again no restaurant open on site. Village remains smart with great restaurants and only 2 tiny pubs. Absolutely no riff-raff! The View is on a hill so quite a climb back up, heels are out! The owner has a private cleaner who came in twice a week. Beach is lovely and clean. You can hire pedalos and speed boat pulled inflatables. The only very minor downside was the Brits (sadly!)bagging the loungers by the pool with the towels first thing and then not turning up til mid afternoon. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank safclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

AL35, 2 bed, fantastic, spotless, lovely interior, 3 great balconies, two with stunning sea views. Complex itself very well maintained, including the pools.The reception area and bar are closed presently. Lovely weather with constant (lively!) breeze.Salema very pretty,relaxing with great restaurants. The best place we have ever stayed for both the accomodation and the resort itself, a definite return! We had a spa day at Park de floresta which was nice,treatments good although the spa area is a bit tired and bleak. Can recommend the family horse ride at Tiffanys and the dolphin boat trip.

Room Tip: those on the front of the complex have the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank safclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed in L11 which was just as described, an amazing view and a really beautifully laid out and equipped house. The owner had provided a list of good places to go with the family by email before we went and these turned out to be so useful as we had never been to Salema before. Must say all good fun and a delightful resort we definitely will come back.

Room Tip: Only tried out L11 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kerouacEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed in 3 bed house 1st week in october - wonderful location with Salema just down the hill with super beach and lovely resturants weather very hot so lovely to have pool so close by. House very good standard with tv etc. Lots of places easy to visit as roads were very quite. If you want peace and quite and a restful hoilday perfect place to go.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymondo644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We've now stayed at the View 2 or 3 times and love it, not just because the accommodation is such excellent quality, but because the resort, Salema, is our idea of what a Portuguese holiday should be all about - sleepy fishing village with amazing beaches and cliff top walks a bit reminiscent of Cornwall. As it's in the National Park there is a ban on high rise development and it's kept its authentic character. We have a young 4 year old and really appreciate a family-friendly atmosphere. We stayed at AT43, which we reckon must be one of the best villas because it's at the top of the resort and commands amazing views of the coastline. There's a jacuzzi on the roof-top terrace which gets the sun from dawn till dusk. Quite frankly, I would happily have spent my holiday there with a glass of Alentejo wine. I think it's a great place to stay if you want a quiet holiday. Just one gripe: we found our beach towels didn't arrive until day 2. Thoroughly recommend this place. We'll certainly be going back again.

Room Tip: We chose AT43 at the top of the resort and therefore had super views and wasn't overlooked. It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 327Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The view from the 2 bed townhouse, (numbered L11) was fabulous despite the hot tub on the opposite roof top terrace. The pool was fine and clean but insufficient sun loungers at busy times.
The walls to the houses are paper thin - not great if there is a snorer next door as we discovered. The kitchen units are poor quality and the kitchen is not designed to cook in. There is a worsksurface only about 18 inches long and the kitchen was very poorly equipped with pans, knifes, plates etc.
The supposed 24/7 reception didn't exist, the tv and dvd player didn't work when we got there - we had to buy another one - and despite being advertised with internet access you have to organise this yourself with Vigia Group who manage the development and pay for it. Not mentioned in any of the advertising blurb.
The cleaning whilst not too bad - a lot of black hairs were found on floors - was lacking. We didn't benefit from any further cleaning visits during the whole 2 weeks and there were no cleaning materials, not even a dishcloth, so unless you bought these you couldn't clean yourself or even wipe surfaces. We were also expected to either buy our own bin bags or survive with the single bag we were given at the start.
Admittedley quite a few of these issues are down to the house owner but given the price paid I would ahve expected much higher quality - thank heavens for the view.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AER778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salema
0.3 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residencial Salema
6.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
701 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Baia da Luz
7.0 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View – Santo Antonio Villas, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View – Santo Antonio Villas, Golf & Spa

Property: The View – Santo Antonio Villas, Golf & Spa
Address: Rua 28 de Janeiro, Praia da Salema, Salema 8650-190, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Salema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Salema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The View – Santo Antonio Villas, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magical part of the Algarve is steeped in history, culture and astounding beauty. Commanding breathtaking scenery, it is the perfect place to escape and enjoy a richly deserved holiday in the sun, far away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. SAResorts enjoy a marvelous location between Lagos and Sagres, and one step away from Natural Park of Costa Vicentina. The View is Vigia’s stunning luxury resort. Located in the western Algarve, it commands breathtaking ocean views; overlooking a traditional Portuguese fishing village with secluded golden beach, lapped by turquoise seas. The resort boasts communal pools, a cafe bar and reception. Accommodation comprises 55 deluxe linked villas that are impeccably furnished, each containing everything you could possibly require during your stay with us. All the Parque da Floresta facilities will be available, including the free and unlimited access to Spa (pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath) and several discounts in the other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The View – Santo Antonio Villas, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The View Beach Holiday Hotel Salema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing