We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for max 2 people”
Review of Romantik Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Romantik Villa
Ranked #3 of 4 Salema B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Comfortable for max 2 people”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Nice, small and low-price B&B in a lush and decorative garden with a well-functioning small swimmingpool. Stayed three nights in the suite, 30 m2 with small kitchenette, double bed, sofa, small table and a nice balcony with views to the sea, pool & garden, ideal for self-catering. We had booked a room for 2 adults and a child in his own bed. However, none of the rooms seems suitable for more than two persons and the extra bed was very uncomfortable. Small but functional bathroom, but only little water pressure in the shower. The landlady is multilingual, friendly, informative and very talkative which you may like or not.

The 10 min walk to town center and beach is steep, especially on the way home. You can shortcut the beach route by using the stairs from the top cliff parking (follow signs “Sea View” near the telephone box).

Salema has not much to see and do but is a cosy small town with 5-6 restaurants, apparently mostly good quality. We especially recommend the Indian Take-away right behind the harbour. The beach is excellent with relatively shallow water and life guard during season. Early morning you can see the fishing boats being pulled on land.

During Summer there are strong winds from north, especially late afternoon and evening, whatever you are on the balcony or on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    19
    0
    7
    10
See reviews for
9
98
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and daughter recently spent two enjoyable nights at Romantik Villa in Salema in June 2013. We had researched staying there based on a nice write-up of Salema and Romantik Villa in Rick Steves book on Portugal. A beautiful manicured property with very nice, clean and comfortable rooms with a nice view of the Atlantic. Good value, but no credit cards accepted. Also, it was a bit challenging finding the property in our rented car. As previous reviewers said, owner Lisa was very helpful in pointing out the best local restaurants and beautiful nearby beaches that are off the beaten path. Definitely worth a stay at the Romantik Villa when visiting the Algarve.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauls_take
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We've just returned from our third trip to Romantik Villa, which we previously visited in 2008 and 2010. I'm delighted to say that nothing has changed and it's just as perfect as it was the last time we came. Salema is such a great spot, with a lovely beach and a handful of wonderful restaurants. It was great to see Lisa again; to sample her delicious breakfasts and to catch up on the last few years. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Romantik Villa to anyone who wants a peaceful and relaxing holiday in a beautiful and unspoilt location. It really is a hidden gem :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our stay at Romantik Villa was a highlight of a wonderful time in Portugal. We agree with previous reviews praising the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms [and spacious bathrooms], beautiful location and lovely gardens with comfortable lounging areas poolside, in the cozy cabana or the upper garden with views of the ocean. Lisa is a vivacious host who delivers a story with the wit, expression and timing of a professional standup comedian. If some enterprising individual could tape her stuff she would be a YouTube overnight sensation. She is just a peach and serves a hearty breakfast to boot. We are beach rats and Lisa knows all the local sites including the best beaches to visit heading north from Vila do Bispo. For those planning a trip in the near future we understand there may be availability in August.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bharti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this place recently. Lisa, the land lady, is very informative, quadlingual (English, French, German, Portugese) and is very helpful in suggesting good beaches to visit, The place is extermely well manicured, nice plants and trees, good pool. Pric eis reasonable. I enjoyed walking from this place to the restaturents down hill back and forth. Salema has nice restaurents and some o fthe nearbye towns (or villages) are nice to visit. I highly recommend this place.

Elaine and Reddy

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the ground floor and if you want to see sea from the room you need to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASSRREDDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The Guesthouse is located on a lovely quiet street, 5 minutes walk to the shops and restaurants in Salema. The pool and garden area are stunning and the rooms spacious and comfortable. Lisa, the owner is great and although she can come across a little brusque at first, when we got to know her a little better we found her charming and with a great sense of humour. Lisa was absolutely spot on with every tip and suggestion she made regarding the best beaches and restaurants in the area- she really made our holiday special!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Romantik Villa in May. It was our first stop on our 10 day tour of Portugal. We can't say enough good things about Lisa and the Romantik Villa. We booked the suite which was wonderful - very spacious, quiet, and had an amazing view of the ocean! The grounds were simply beautiful and the pool was an added bonus. Lisa was an incredibly kind and gracious host and the town of Salema stole our hearts. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the Algarve.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salema
0.1 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Salema
6.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
8.7 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
408 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Villa

Property: Romantik Villa
Address: Salema M5 | Lote M5. Beach Villas, Salema 8650-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Salema
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Salema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small, three room and one suite, bed and breakfast on a wonderful designed garden with large pool with view to the ocean, on one of the hills in Salema. A night view of a full moon from the terrace of the suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Romantik Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing