We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place with Personality!”
Review of Romantik Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salema
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Romantik Villa
Ranked #4 of 4 Salema B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place with Personality!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for five nights in late June/early July of 2013 and were extremely happy with our visit. The grounds are beautiful, the room was clean and simple, the host was charming, warm and had a lot of helpful information about the area and the attitudes of the people. You know Lise's opinions are from the heart and not meant to sell you on one particular business vs another. We trusted her suggestions whole-heartedly and weren't once disappointed.
It is a simple place that is clean and carefully considered in what it offers. It is close to the restaurants and main beach of the village without being in the mix. The nights were extremely peaceful and the room we were in had a view of the ocean and a lovely courtyard. If I'm ever visiting this area again, I will stay at Romantik Villa.

Room Tip: Breakfast is included only when staying in the three rooms that don't have kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amarjitkhalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    18
    0
    7
    10
See reviews for
9
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

It was a nice and quiet drive from Lisbon, and a bit tricky to find the place - once you get off the highway. But when you finally there you find yourself in a homey, super clean and very friendly environment. Lisa is excellent in advising what's worth to see and how to get the best out of the whole area .Thanks to her, we went places we wouldn't know about and enjoyed the best of the local restaurants. Even small hints where to exchange money and how to pay highways' tolls were very helpful. In the end , I lost my bracelet, and Lisa was kind enough to mail it back to U S. we definitely recommend it for a quiet place to stay as a good base to explore the area.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed two nights at Romantik Villa. Our room was fine overall, bed was comfortable etc. but the bathroom was very small. The house and grounds are beautiful and groomed to perfection. We spent a nice afternoon just lounging by the pool with a bottle of wine and snacks.
Lisa gave us great advice on where to eat and things to see, however when we tried to write things down she kept telling us that we didn't have to do that. So then we apparently ate at the wrong places and she seemed upset that we couldn't get it straight. I think she forgets that when you are traveling in a foreign country, everything is foreign, and your minds don't adapt as quickly as they might at home. We had driven through the town once when she was telling us this and at that point we were focused on trying to find her house, not so much on the town. Breakfast was filling and prepared us for the day out exploring.
All in all, we loved this place, we found Lisa interesting and helpful and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

On our first vacation to Portugal, my wife and I stayed 4 nights at Romantik Villa in Salema. We really enjoyed our stay in Salema and at the villa. The grounds are beautiful, the room was clean and comfy, breakfast was relaxed and enjoyable. Lisa can be particular and has strong opinions, but we really enjoyed her company. She gave us great advice, including pointing us on a hike up the coast to secluded beaches.

The weather in mid September was outstanding.

Overall we had a great stay and would highly recommend Romantik Villa

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony1jho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
180 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Nice, small and low-price B&B in a lush and decorative garden with a well-functioning small swimmingpool. Stayed three nights in the suite, 30 m2 with small kitchenette, double bed, sofa, small table and a nice balcony with views to the sea, pool & garden, ideal for self-catering. We had booked a room for 2 adults and a child in his own bed. However, none of the rooms seems suitable for more than two persons and the extra bed was very uncomfortable. Small but functional bathroom, but only little water pressure in the shower. The landlady is multilingual, friendly, informative and very talkative which you may like or not.

The 10 min walk to town center and beach is steep, especially on the way home. You can shortcut the beach route by using the stairs from the top cliff parking (follow signs “Sea View” near the telephone box).

Salema has not much to see and do but is a cosy small town with 5-6 restaurants, apparently mostly good quality. We especially recommend the Indian Take-away right behind the harbour. The beach is excellent with relatively shallow water and life guard during season. Early morning you can see the fishing boats being pulled on land.

During Summer there are strong winds from north, especially late afternoon and evening, whatever you are on the balcony or on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and daughter recently spent two enjoyable nights at Romantik Villa in Salema in June 2013. We had researched staying there based on a nice write-up of Salema and Romantik Villa in Rick Steves book on Portugal. A beautiful manicured property with very nice, clean and comfortable rooms with a nice view of the Atlantic. Good value, but no credit cards accepted. Also, it was a bit challenging finding the property in our rented car. As previous reviewers said, owner Lisa was very helpful in pointing out the best local restaurants and beautiful nearby beaches that are off the beaten path. Definitely worth a stay at the Romantik Villa when visiting the Algarve.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauls_take
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We've just returned from our third trip to Romantik Villa, which we previously visited in 2008 and 2010. I'm delighted to say that nothing has changed and it's just as perfect as it was the last time we came. Salema is such a great spot, with a lovely beach and a handful of wonderful restaurants. It was great to see Lisa again; to sample her delicious breakfasts and to catch up on the last few years. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Romantik Villa to anyone who wants a peaceful and relaxing holiday in a beautiful and unspoilt location. It really is a hidden gem :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salema
0.1 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Salema
4.0 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
6.9 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa PraiaMar
Casa PraiaMar
#2 of 4 in Salema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Villa

Property: Romantik Villa
Address: | Lote M5. Beach Villas, Salema 8650-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Salema
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Salema
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small, three room and one suite, bed and breakfast on a wonderful designed garden with large pool with view to the ocean, on one of the hills in Salema. A night view of a full moon from the terrace of the suite. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing