We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment!”
Review of Filhas do Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Filhas do Mar
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in a top floor apartment facing the ocean. It was perfect and private! Breakfast every morning on the patio, short walk to the beach, clean and quiet! it was wonderful to have a full kitchen and off street parking!

Room Tip: Ask for the studio facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCSDCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietervanswelm, Eigenaar at Filhas do Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Tanks for your revieuw. Hope to see agian.

regards Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the top studio facing the ocean. The studio is well equipped and was spotlessly clean on arrival. There is a big terrace, with umbrella and sunbeds, and sun until 6pm. The appartement is a 2 min walk from the beach and center of town. There is no swimmingpool, wich would have been nice since the ocean is cold. We did not see much of the owners, who lived near by, but when we needed them they were there and helpful. We also used the laundry facilities, wich were good and cost 3 euro per washing. Beachtowels and bedlinen however was not changed during our 12 days stay, and when we left we where charged 7.50 per beachtowel. Better bring/buy your own. We had a very pleasent stay in Salema and Filhas do Mar was a big part of what made it great.

Room Tip: Get an apartement facing the Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GogTOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have stayed in one of the top floor studios previously and these are excellent for a couple. This time we were joined by 4 friends and so had one of the three-bedroom apartments. These are spacious, very well equipped, super clean and with modern furnishings - mainly Ikea. Big sunny terrace, 2 minute walk to the beach. The Dutch owners live on the property and are immensely welcoming and helpful in all respects. The town of Salema has plenty of good small restaurants to choose from - we recommend the Miramar - right on the beach.

Salema is a wonderful base for cliff walking and apart from the lovely Salema beach there are a number of others reachable with a very short drive.

We will be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietervanswelm, Owner at Filhas do Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thanks for your nice response

regards Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Filhas do Mar was quite a find for us just moments after entering Salema. While traveling there the four of us agreed we wanted to stay in town, and on or close to the beach. So many of the properties listed were 2-5 kms out of town so the Filhas do Mar fit our criteria. Situated in the flats of the town, a stones throw to the water's edge this proved to be the perfect find. For the four of us, we selected the two bedroom,top end unit with a wonderful view of the beach. The bedrooms were spacious and each had their own bathroom. The kitchen was well equiped and the living room was comfortable. Our favorite area of the unit proved to be the deck area with its views of town and the beach. The deck furniture provided the ideal spot for an afternoon nap or just the perfect spot for the evening cocktail Just a very short walk to both markets and an even shorter walk to the beach and restaurants, the property more than met our needs in this charming section of the Algarve. Internet and laundary facilities are also a plus. As we approached the end of our trip and our return to Lisbon the Filhas do Mar proved to be the perfect ending to our wonderings about Portugal.

Room Tip: The unit on the end provided a large paio area with wonderful views of the beach and town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Garymbromw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietervanswelm, Owner at Filhas do Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for responding, we are very happy you liked it.
We hope also to see you or you friends again.
regards Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We had a great stay at Filhas do Mar set right at the Salema beach. The apartments are clean, spacious, airconditioned and fully equipped with everything you need. Salema beach is just a stone's throw away so every evening you fall asleep with the sounds of sea in the background. Filhas do Mar is an ideal retreat to explore the Algarve area.

I would recommend Filhas do Mar to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nielsvanesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We have stayed in Filhas do Mar on three occasions in the past - staying for a week or more in one of the top floor studios. These are delightful - modern, efficient, fully equipped, super clean and with a huge sunny terrace with views of the sea. The beach is a very short walk, and there is a lot of good cliff top hiking directly from the village or a short drive away. The village of Salema is not yet over-developed, but has a number of excellent sea-side restaurants and friendly bars, as well as mini-markets for any of the needed basics. The (Dutch) owners are wonderfully friendly and cooperative. The location is quite ideal for visiting the Western Algarve - short drive to Lagos and many superb little beaches good for swimming, and hiking all along the national park to Capo San Vincente - spectacular views, beach cafes, ruined forts and castles... Pieter is glad to provide expert advice on nearby golf courses.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We were really pleased with hour holiday stay for 2 weeks at Filhas do Mar in Salema. We have been there twice within 4 years time. The apartments are big and fully equipped. Salema is a small village and an excellent stay for a young family. The apartments are child friendly and due to size of the apartment we were able to arrange the mid day sleeps of the children in a comfortable way.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salema
0.3 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residencial Salema
7.0 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
7.1 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.0 mi away
Casa PraiaMar
Casa PraiaMar
#2 of 4 in Salema
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filhas do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filhas do Mar

Address: Vale da Casa, Salema 8650, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Salema
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Salema
Price Range: £66 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Filhas do Mar' -daughters of the sea- welcome you in Salema, situated on the south side of Parque Natural, the unspoiled part of the Algarve between Lagos and Sagres in Portugal.Our Filhas do Mar are a luxurious apartment complex a stone's throw from the sunny beaches and the deep blue sea of Salema. The luxurious apartments all have a spacious terrace or balcony with a view over the boulevard, beach and sea.You can discover this for yourself, first on this website, but ideally 'live' in Salema, our little holiday paradise. Sun, sea and beach combined with our luxurious apartments and the Salema hospitality will guarantee an unforgettable holiday.See you soon in Salema!Pieter and Anne-Lies van Swelm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Filhas do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing