We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th Visit - You know what you're getting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Residencial Salema
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salema
leeds
Level Contributor
281 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“4th Visit - You know what you're getting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was my 4th visit to the hotel across a number of years and my 3rd review of it on TA. You know what you're getting with this hotel ie -
clean, functional rooms
sea view and balcony
friendly enough service
location just over the road from Salema's nice beach
Passable breakfast and late bar

Its the only real hotel in town and only has about 25 (ish) rooms- I've never been when its really full which is a good thing as the dining room is small so more if more than around 10 groups in there at once and you get strangers 'perching' on your table.

Couple of points on Salema-
1. We met a Canadian couple who had visited as they thought its a typical fishing village. Part of it is, and the old guys still sit in the boat house looking out to sea most days. It also has a large number of holiday apartments up the hill too though. It therefore has the feel of a small resort rather than an authentic village.
2. Even in July, it gets chilly at night as theres usually a cool breeze. You will need a jumper!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    50
    23
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I read about this hotel in Rick Steve's guide to Portugal and he was spot on with his recommendation! You will not find a better value for your money than staying at the Hotel Residencial. The staff was friendly, the room was spotless (but dated furnishings) and every room has a great view of the ocean. The location is right on the beach and the village is steps away with lots of dining options. We highly recommend you book here if you want to have relaxing time on the beach before hitting the crowds further east on the Algarve.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view so no worries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNR810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Residencial one night as part of a cycling holiday in the Algarve. It is a clean, tidy, friendly hotel with the basics. The bathroom was small and the shower did not work terribly well, but they did provide an excellent hairdryer and fluffy bathrobes! Our room had a nice balcony with table and chairs and a view of the beach (beyond the parking lot). Furnishings are basic and adequate, but for the reasonable price, I would certainly manage to stay here quite comfortably for several nights. WiFi was available only in the bar area and even there it was a bit iffy. The bar is a lively spot in the evening and we enjoyed chatting with fellow tourists and locals . Breakfast was plentiful with fresh fruit and the usual cheeses and cold meats.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a beach facing balcony. Ours looked over the parking area and then the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyforth60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We LOVED this wonderful beach front hotel in the picturesque fishing village of Salema, which has everything you need for the perfect holiday away from it all. The staff were extra kind to us older honeymooners, giving us their best room and glasses of good port alongside local handmade candies (that the wonderful bartender drove to Lagos to get for us) upon our arrival. They're forever in our hearts. This hotel has the best location in town, huge comfy clean rooms with a stellar view, great breakfast, a bar that stayed open until 2pm with great port, ginjinya!!! and a dart board, friendly helpful staff, free parking and a one-two minute walk to at least 4 great restaurants. Can't ask for more. Stay here...you'll be happy.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliarrtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, IL USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Hotel with very convenient location for the beach and town of Salema. Salema beach and restaurants all within a block. Rooms were adequate. Small TV and somewhat dated room decor. But with very nice balcony with great views of the beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms had balconies. The higher floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnF_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and paid 50 Euros per night which included breakfast. Great value. The staff were excellent and helpful and even made us a lunch for an early morning (6 am) departure because we were going to miss breakfast. The room was clean and spacious with a great view. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Nice hotel; great location. Salema is a terrific destination with an excellent beach. The shower was a bit of a challenge since the holder for the shower head would not lock. Breakfast here is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry98027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salema
0.3 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
7.1 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
6.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
4.8 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#7 of 8 in Luz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residencial Salema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencial Salema

Property: Hotel Residencial Salema
Address: Rua 28 de Janeiro, Salema 8650-200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Salema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residencial Salema 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residencial Salema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing