We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and awesome view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residencial Salema
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salema
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location and awesome view”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights straight from Los Angeles to unwind and adjust to time change. The hotel is an ok place to stay, nothing fancy. View though is very nice right from the balcony. Beach is few yards away, bus station is just around the corner. This is good base if you want to visit Sagres and Lagos for a day trip.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    51
    23
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time there and in Salema in General. The hotel is by no means fancy but it is clean, comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. I Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A friend and I were traveling though the Algarve after a conference, and found the town of Salema to be a perfect fit for what we wanted in a beach town. The Hotel Salema was also a great fit. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were very filling you just had to wait until the bread man came town for the breakfast pastries.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, and the room had a lovely view and was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonRS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is nothing fancy, but a nice spot for a great beach in Portugal. We were there in mid-June, so there were not a ton of people, but that was perfect for us. The staff was great and we met some great folks at the bar in the lobby. Rooms are clean, and we had a nice balcony that overlooked a bit of beach. The beach is a hop away and although there is not a lot of action in Salema, it was the perfect relaxing beach vacation for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed 4 nights in September at the Hotel Residencial Salema. It's location right on the beach could not be beat. The hotel rooms are modest, each with a balcony facing the beach. The rooms are typically as most hotels in Europe compact but, our room was more than adequate. Our number 1 priority is always hotel cleanliness and it was clean. We originally booked for two nights but asked if we could stay 2 more nights and they accomodated our request. This hotel has a small lift which was convenient. The included buffet breakfast was good with a fresh selection of sweet and savory breads placed on your table at time of seating. The hotel staff were helpful when asked for their help. Salema is a lovely little beach side community. We enjoyed our stay there and would stay again at Hotel Residencial if we ever have the opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OHSee1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Salema is very quiet with only two bars and a handful of restaurants. Great if that's your thing and is a world away from garish albuefueria.

It's the only hotel in salema, it's dated and basic but good value for money. You can walk from one end to the other in 5 minutes

Room was ok great sea view. Large king size bed, wardrobe and tv and that's it. Very dated. Bathroom in 301 was quite large but a bit musty and damp

Breakfast is basic and all cold but ok

The O buzio tapas bar next door was great value for money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katycrunchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Clean, no frills hotel thats perfect for a quiet beach getaway in this charming little town. It's far away from the noise of Lagos, and close to all the restaurants and bars in town.

The owners are really nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zahra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salema
0.3 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.9 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
7.1 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
6.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
4.8 mi away
Vilamar Hotel
Vilamar Hotel
#7 of 8 in Luz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residencial Salema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencial Salema

Property: Hotel Residencial Salema
Address: Rua 28 de Janeiro, Salema 8650-200, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Salema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residencial Salema 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Residencial Salema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing