We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an absolute pleasure ”
Review of Brookhall Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brookhall Cottages
Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What an absolute pleasure ”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at 2 of the cottages on st. Patricks weekend while attending a wedding near by. The cottages are beautiful nicely decorated and very comfortable but we did not stay in them long as there was so much to look at on the farm. My father and the owner sam became buddies and each day he was coming back in excited of what he had saw. Between donkeys, hens, cows, dogs, pigs, fish farm there are numerous areas to see. Sam was a gentleman and showed us round everything and was friendly on each of our 3 night stay. To say it was a pleasure is an understatement it was so good my father did not want to come home. Excellent work, keep it up. From all the Careys

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aishling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in Honeysuckle cottage for the weekend and have to say we enjoyed it immensely. Lovely cottage with all amenities, beautiful grounds and gardens, cracking fishing lake, donkeys, goats etcon the grounds, just a beautiful chilled weekend and hosts e tremely helpful and pleasant. Would definately visit again when in the area

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suitcasecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at Brookhall Cottages. We stayed in one of the Gate Lodge cottages and it was beautiful. We spent most of the weekend outside or exploring the farm because the weather was unbelievable. The cows, donkey and pony in the field behind the cottage kept us amused and Jill (donkey) and Toffee (pony) were well fed. We also had a visit from Harry and Lucy the sheepdogs. Pauline made us very welcome and we would definately visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I discovered Brookhall cottages three years ago when friends from England stayed there. I was impressed then, as were my friends. We did a trip back home last month, june, and decided to stay at Brookhall, a good decision it turned out to be. Driving into Brooklands you pass two of the gate lodge cottages accomodation, where our friends stayed. Continuing driving up the path, you are instantly hit by the beauty of the place, definately a WOW factor. Brookland's Manor surrounded by farmland, drive around the back of the manor and there is a little church, used for weddings and a converted barn where receptions/parites are held (wedding receptions are also held inside the manor). There are two cottages, Peach tree cottage and "our" cottage Honeysuckle cottage. We were greeted by Pauline the owner who gave us a warm welcome and a tour and explanation of the cottage. Honeysuckle cottage was perfect, a comfortable living room, two bedrooms, shower (which was great) and toilet room, a spacious kitchen and dining area and lastly a utility room. A lovely garden out back to use if the weather is kind. We are globe trotters but we can honestly say Honeysuckle cottage is the best, we were so happy there. Clean, comfortable, well stocked and tastefully decorated. We made friends with Pauline and Sam's famous sheep dogs,Harry and Lucy, gentle and friendly animals. The beautiful gardens lead you to a small lake with stocked trout. My family spent a week at Honeysuckle, a memorable stay for all of us. When we return to Northern Ireland we will definately be staying at Brookhall again it exceeded all our expectations. Pauline and Sam work hard keeping the upkeep of Brookhall and is enjoyed and appreciated by many. Thank you both for such a marvelous holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AichiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Brookhall Cottages

1. Location.
Located 20 minutes from Belfast international airport or 35 minutes from Belfast City George Best airport. The cottages and farm are located in one of Ulster’s prime farming areas running the length of Ballinderry Road. The area is secure, quiet and only 5 kilometers from the nearest Tesco mega-mall in nearby Lisburn City.

2. The Cottages
One of the cottages was a stable which has been tastefully converted into clean, comfortable, accommodation. Kitchen and laundry facilities are excellent. Heating is provided by radiators. There is no bath, instead a clean and function shower provides on demand hot water. Electricity is charged separately to the daily accommodation fee, using a meter and local pre-paid top-up tickets.

3. Catering
Self-catering for cottage guests.
The owners arrange weddings in the onsite church and a converted barn facilitates wedding parties and small group business conventions. The N. Ireland Veterinary Association enjoyed a lively party and dancing during our 10-day stay.

4. The Farm
The farm has cows, a pig, two donkeys, hens and roosters, sheep and Harry and Lucy resident custodians of the sheep and cottage guests. Behind the farm is a fishing pond, which is stocked every six weeks with trout and steelhead fish. Local anglers catch and release or take home their catch, which is chargeable by weight. The fishing pond is well fenced to maintain safety especially for children. I enjoyed walking around the farm, my son took a liking to the pig who happily chomped the occasional banana and slept for long hours. Two friendly donkeys will greet you. The grey one will nibble on your hand. (not advised for young children)

5. The Owners
Sam and Pauline Johnston are salt-of-the-earth Ulster folk whose warm welcome and friendly conversation will soon make you feel at home. They made us welcome and added greatly to our enjoyable stay at Brookhall Cottages.

6. Harry and Lucy
The two sheep dogs decided to adopt my family as a new herd and visited us every morning at Honeysuckle Cottage. Dog lovers will appreciate the gentle nature and affection of these two wonderful dogs. Harry is a people dog who will sit at your feet as you relax and watch TV. Both dogs instinctively escorted us on morning and every walks around the farm and fishing area. Guests will miss them when they leave.

Brookhall was an excellent location to visit family and friends all over Northern Ireland. We would stay here again due to the relaxing environment and the friendliness of the owners, Pauline and Sam Johnston.

Weather is unpredictable, so make the best of the sun, when it shines. See the photos.

Room Tip: All cottages are clean and comfortable. If you want be be alone chose any of the two gate lodge cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinnMcCoolAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This venue was excellent all round in all areas, we could not have asked for more and Pauline is so welcoming and available. Booking was such an easy process and the accommodation and grounds are so well looked after, we loved the Trout Fishery area for chilling out and it may just have been sheer luck but the weather matched our experience.

Room Tip: The cottages at the main entrance are excellent for a big party - family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had our wedding at Brook hall the May. The owners, Pauline and Sam was very approachable and friendly. Their 2 sheep dogs are the cutest things ever. The variety of farm animals were really nice too. The historical chapel was amazing. Thank you for making our wedding day so special. Our families that stayed on the farm over the weekend was quite impressed all-round.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2jaco_bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisburn
3.1 mi away
Down Royal House
Down Royal House
#2 of 2 in Lisburn
27 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lisnacurran Country House B&B
3.8 mi away
Overdale House
Overdale House
#4 of 5 in Lisburn
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Clenaghans
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
96 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dunhill Cottage
Dunhill Cottage
#1 of 1 in Hillsborough
56 reviews
2.7 mi away
Good Cottages
Good Cottages
#1 of 1 in Upper Ballinderry
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookhall Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookhall Cottages

Property: Brookhall Cottages
Address: 2 Horse Park | Magheragall, Lisburn BT28 2QU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Lisburn
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lisburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brookhall Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside of Lisburn, Northern Ireland, Brookhall offer a choice of quality and comfortable self-catering holidays homes and accommodation. The cottages are set in an attractive countryside location complete with an open farm. Brookhall has three separate cottages each with two bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Brookhall Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookhall Cottages Lisburn, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing