We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual dining, good value, pleasant atmosphere will go again- not a restaurant”

The Cardan Bar and Grill
Ranked #9 of 113 Restaurants in Lisburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
NI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Casual dining, good value, pleasant atmosphere will go again- not a restaurant”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We walked across the road from the Railway Station following a pleasant day away by rail and availed ourselves of the 5 to 7 pm menu. Meals are served to much later. In addition there is a list of specials.
They have an ongoing 5 to 7 option outside the main menu including selections from the main menu:-
1. One course + glass of wine/soft drink for £8.50
2. Two courses (from starter, main, dessert) and glass of wine/soft drink for £10.00.
Our bill for 5 was just over £60 and included a couple of extra drinks.
The meals were very good, not massive, service maybe a little slow for some occasions but suited us fine and no pressure to vacate our table in 5.30 out 8.00.
We had no reservation but it would be advisable to do so as it is not a big establishment. Diners are at one end and Drinkers occupy the other end - it is a Grill and Bar and well above average There was a friendly atmosphere and a low buzz of chat. Staff were attentive and friendly. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank windowseat767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    63
    26
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lisburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great as usual - but music can be a little loud!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I love the Cardan, whether for a meal deal or paying full menu prices. Service and food is always of excellent quality. The ony drawback is that at times the 'back ground' music can be a little loud in the dining area. I like to be able to talk to my company, that is a part of the dinig experience. Unfortunately, any time we have gone, as the evening wears on from 7.00-ish for example, the music gets louder and louder drowning out any hope of conversation. Last time we were there, two diners ( incuding one at my table) asked for the music to be turned down. It was turned down but on the second occasion we asked it- was done - but a little bit begrudingly. We stayed all evening from 6.30 until 10.30 and consumed not ony 6 'meal deals' but quite a few bottles of wine and a lot of beer. One of my freinds has sworn not to go back if the music continues to be so loud -I think that he will be cutting his nose off to spite his face - all hes got to do is ask for it to be reduced in volume. Better still maybe a little notice place beside the radio and staff told not to turn it up too loud or maybe a glass screen at the end of the bar enclosing that end of the dining area?

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

First time at this restaurant and it won't be the last. The food was lovely and the service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silly222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A superb little restaurant with great food at great value”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Having eaten here several times over the past year it, it is safe to say it is one of my favourite places to eat in the Lisburn area.
Great food deals such as 2 courses and a glass of wine for £10 are a big attraction, and the food being served is of a very high standard, not like the usual pub grub a lot of places pass off for good quality dining.
I took my wife to the Valentine night special where we were even further impressed by the three course meal and wine.
Overall great and friendly service, night atmosphere and great food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEAMES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We went to the Cardan at about 6pm and it was already pretty full, so it is probably better to make a booking to save disappointment. The menu was very attractive and we were not disappointed with our choices. We had the "perfect 10" offer which was 2 courses from the normal menu and a glass of wine (or soft drink) for £10 each and is available Mon to Thur between 5pm and 7pm. The portions were ample and the food very tasty the service was also very friendly and efficient. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cardan Bar and Grill also viewed

Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
 
Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
 
Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
 

Been to The Cardan Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing