We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful meal -- we'll be back”
Review of Priory House Restaurant - CLOSED

Priory House Restaurant
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Modern European Bohemian style restaurant. It's a fine seventeenth century stone building.We're growing our own herbs,salads and some vegetables and coincide with some seasonal speciality dishes.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal -- we'll be back”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Very enjoyable meal in a nice dining room -- starters (prawns in burnt butter sauce and goats cheese salad) were truly excellent. Our mains were monkfish and ribeye steak -- the monkfish was perfectly cooked and the steak was good. Shared a trio of cheesecakes for dessert which was perfect. All washed down with a good NZ Sauvignon Blanc. We'll definitely be back -- the only negative note was that it wasn't busy enough - which is surprising given the excellent experience we had. The waitress who served us was very warm and friendly also.

All things considered, we intend a repeat visit in the near future and can see it becoming a regular venue.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, Friendly Poeple”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

It was a bit posh, and dear but a nice place to go if your treating your self :)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank FattyPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Priory is a real treat for us and we always look forward to it, however, on this occasion, we were a little disappointed (at first view) by the menu. When we had struggled to decide what we would have, we never looked back. The food was absolutely amazing, cannot fault the starter, main course, side dishes, desert or wine in any way, everything was beautiful and the best meal we have had in a very long time.

The staff were very attentive, service was well timed and personal. Sligtly disappointed the restaurant was so quiet as it lacked atmosphere (and heat!).

We will certainly be back and will be recommending to all who will listen!

Great value for money!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Over hyped and over priced.”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We planned and searched on the internet. We were so excited to be visiting the only Michelin guide restaurant in Co Tyrone. The results: disappointment. The menu was uninspiring. Though the starters were presented very well befitting the reputation, unfortunately the flavours let it down. The mains were a sorry state of affairs. We would have got that from a local gastro pub for much less money. The desserts were average. The only redeeming features were the friendly service, and the excellent house red.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siewping_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good atomsphere”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This place is small but quirky and the food is great and varied. The overall atomsphere is good. The only downside is it can be a little cool if you sit next to the door, as the front door can be open at times and cause a draft.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank bailey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing