We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Room”
Review of Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haven Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Anthony
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Room”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

The room was really clean so was the hotel. The staff are super friendly and the housekeepers that were working today(Sept 2nd) are amazing. They started up a conversation with a complete stranger and that makes me feel the Newfoundlanders are still great people. The only reason why I gave it a 4/5 is because there are no refrigerators in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    37
    30
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
37
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bancroft
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were on a bus tour of Newfoundland and Labrador this summer and stayed in several different motels. The Haven Inn was my favourite. The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable. Our room had a microwave and small fridge. The food served in the attached restaurant was very tasty and the staff was very friendly. Check out this good motel if you are travelling in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Booked a stay at this motel for family get together.
The motel itself is centrally located next to the mall - good location.
Room was relatively spacious and bathroom was clean and seemed to be newly renovated.
Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating.

The restaurant:
If you're looking for fresh seafood, this isn't the place to find it. We asked the waitress if the seafood was fresh and she was honest enough to admit that it was frozen.
All while we were looking at the ocean, puzzled as to why a restaurant in this area of Canada would serve customers FROZEN fish.
If that wasn't bad enough, we were also surprised and irritated to see we had been served canned mushrooms with one of our dishes. Totally unacceptable.
The wait time was also very long and really, the food is definitely not worth the wait.

I would recommend the motel but not the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan2867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The hotel was booked with a tour bus so they put us in one of their efficiency rooms with a kitchen. Was spacious, clean and the only thing I would have liked would have been queen beds. Location was fine and the rates reasonable...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImaFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Harbour,NL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The Haven Inn is a place to call home. The staff is professional and very friendly and will go beyond the call of duty to meet your needs. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The food is a true Newfoundland experience with a wonderful variety for everyone. I can't say enough how delightful the stay was. I highly recommend it to anyone staying in the St Anthony area. Thank you very much for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_and_Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Sometimes you don't want anything fancy, just a place to stop and drop your bags and head out for the attractions, hopefully nearby. The proximity of Haven Inn to L'Anse aux Meadows, Icebergs, and the Lightkeeper's seafood restaurant in St Anthony made this a great place to stop after a long drive up the west coast of Newfoundland. After six hours in the car we were more than ready for short drives. The location was perfect. I can't vouch for the restaurant, we picked up Subway sandwiches on our way out to L'Anse aux Meadows and grabbed a Tim Horton's breakfast and gas on our way out of town the next day. All three were within sight of the hotel. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. No royal treatment but definitely what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay after the long drive to the northern peninsula. The warm room was a welcome after getting chilled on the boat tour (which was fantastic as well). The food was delicious home style cooking and it was wonderful to try the local fruits - partridge berry and bakeapple toppings on the dessert sundae. Definitely recommend this place for both accommodations and food.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Anthony
9.8 mi away
Wildberry Country Lodge
Wildberry Country Lodge
#4 of 4 in St. Anthony
46 reviews
15.6 mi away
Burnt Cape Cabins and Cafe
15.9 mi away
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Quirpon Island
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Tuckamore Lodge
Tuckamore Lodge
#1 of 1 in Main Brook
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grenfell Heritage Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Inn

Property: Haven Inn
Address: 14 Goose Cove Rd, St. Anthony, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. Anthony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in St. Anthony
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haven Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Inn is located in the heart of St. Anthony. Our guests experience a warm and inviting atmosphere. Our dedicated staff provides the friendliest service in Newfoundland. We deliver comfort with a personal touch. We have a wonderful selection of guests rooms which offer wifi, color cable television, telephone, hair dryer, coffee maker, personal desk, private bath. The legendary Cartier's Galley offers a picturesque of St. Anthony harbour. Relax and let us do what we do best by serving you some of the best food that you will find on the Great Northern Peninsula. Enjoy some of our authentic Newfoundland specialities such as pan-fried cod, fish cakes, cod tongues and more. Newfoundland at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel St Anthony
Haven Inn St. Anthony, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing