We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Sacred Space”
Review of Haramara Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haramara Retreat
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My 60th birthday took me to a fabulous Connection Yoga Retreat with my beautiful daughter and two wonderful friends at Haramara in Sayulita.............
The beauty of the place is breathtaking.....the intention and the attention of the staff is impeccable, with generous,healthy and delicious food served three times a day
Of course each retreat has it's own infinite gifts to offer, but just by being there everything is enhanced....by the sounds of the ocean....the pathways so thoughtfully raked as to give you new ground to walk each day....
I truly hope to return

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adele87504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed at Haramara for a Yoga retreat with a group of 18. It was amazing and felt like I was a million miles away. The people who work there are fantastic, the scenery amazing and the food was out of this world.

Room Tip: We stayed in the casita that was furthest from the dining hall and yoga pavillons. It was about a 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travel4moi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed at Haramara for a Vegan Yoga retreat - it was one of the best vacations ever. Hamarara was a beautiful eco friendly resort where you felt at peace. The staff and premises were amazing. There is no wifi or electricity so if you are looking to connect with the earth and disconnect with modern technology this is the place for you - one of a kind beauty.

Room Tip: there is no fitness center the land is your gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billyboy718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I brought my group to Haramara for a week-long retreat, and was deeply impressed by the land, the buildings, and the staff. I feel the heart and soul that went into building the place in keeping with local traditions and without heavy equipment. They staff was impeccable, very accommodating and helpful. The food, while beautifully prepared, can use a gourmet upgrade. Too heavy on the rice and potatoes and starches... but the owner was more than willing to work with me for next and I am returning with my group again this year. I highly recommend Haramara.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the dining area if you have any troubles with walking or hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amrita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Gorgeous cabanas in the middle of an emerald jungle face the ocean. Delicious food (my husband had delicious fish daily, I had gluten free, vegan, sugar free which was absolutely delicious, I know, those words don't usually go together, right?) Ever staff member made us feel welcome and did not treat me like the pain in the butt that I am (my food allergies get tiresome when I'm out and about), but rather encouraged me to share all of my bizarre issues so they could design a menu that would be delicious, while not giving me a stomach ache. The owner of the retreat is Mexican, which is a huge plus in an area of the country where most properties are owned by Americans. The two yoga pavilions were breathtaking and everything about the weekend was over the top incredible. I will be bringing a Pilates group in February and can't be more thrilled by the professionalism (from the booking onward- Bob and Cyndy with incredible organization), to the lush accommodations (spotless and gorgeous), to the gracious owner (incredible, inspiring woman), to the incredible employees (Anna, Socorro, Ismael, Ricardo, Jesus- best Horchata, thanks!, Armando, Rosa and the incredible chef that explained to me how to make granola and especially made me coconut ice cream, I forgot his name, damn), that make this a true gem in the world. Wow, is a huge understatement.

Room Tip: Rumor has it that the massage is amazing. I couldn't pry myself away from eating and sleeping l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonyanDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lovely cabanas in the middle of the jungle, neat and simple decoration.
Great vegetarian food, and you can get some cooking lessons!
Be ready to hike, this place is big, and the restaurant is up in the hill, it might take a good 5-7 minutes to get there from your room.
The beach is beautiful, almost private. Excelent place to read, relax and meditate.
If you are not there for a specific yoga retreat, don't miss hanging around in the yoga pavillions with breathtaking views of the jungle and the ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank verovelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

With breath taking views wherever you turn your head, whether it is the jungle and its amazing plants, trees, butterflies and birds or the ocean view from the top of the hill and the beach with its rocks, this place is absolutely beautiful... but not for everyone.

Haramara is located on a hill by the beach. You could say it is simple in its constructions but with very good taste on decoration, every detail is perfect and coherent with its surrounding. The landscape of the property was barely modified to build this place, making your experience here a true retreat to immerse yourself in nature in its pure form, almost as camping, but way more comfortable.

I visited Haramara with friends and as part of a retreat group organized by SolYoga Trips. All food was included and it´s almost completely vegetarian (includes fish, seafood, cheese and eggs). It is abundant and delicious! The chef is great with creating rich and original dishes, with such variety that you´re never bored. The desserts are amazing, if you´re ever there ask for the pear bread and don´t miss the evening yogi tea, both highly recommended.

The rooms are great. All of them are secluded and distributed apart from each other down the hill. We stayed in the Ruby casita, which is right next to Diamond casita. This worked perfect for us as we were a group of 4 friends and we could be close to each other but completely by ourselves in the middle of the jungle. All rooms are literally open, with simple but beautiful decor. The beds are comfortable and all have a veil cover for mosquitoes. You sleep with the distant sounds of the waves and all of the jungle noises, which can be "loud" and may disturb someone not so fund of feeling and hearing nature so close.
The bathroom is nice, with an open air shower looking to the jungle, it gives you a sort of liberating feeling to take a shower like that, something I had never done and loved it.
There´s no electricity in the rooms, so at night you must manage with candles and oil lamps, adding to the rustic and natural feel of the place.

My favorite places in Haramara were the two yoga/meditation pavillions. These are circular open air platforms sitting at the top of the hill with a 360º panoramic jaw-dropping view. Usually the yoga classes are held here at sunrise or sunset time, which add to the already stunning view. Everything about these places is perfect to relax. They are inspiring and calm. Hands down the best place where I have practiced yoga so far. If you are into yoga, you must go to Haramara if only just to experience a class in their yoga pavillions.

The Haramara beach way down the hill is private, and whenever you´re there, you´re almost by yourself. They have a palapa for shadow and a few sun loungers. It is a rocky beach but you can manage your way between them and take a swim. We even had a bonfire at the beach on the last night of our retreat, very nice.

Something you must take into consideration if going to Haramara is that you´ll be doing a lot of hiking up and down the hill through steep dirt paths. From the beach or from your room, if you want to go to the restaurant or the yoga pavillions, you have to go up, up, up the hill, which can be exhausting. Considering that the restaurant is the only place where you can have food or drinks (other than plain water) this hiking is something you can´t avoid.

To sum it up, I truly recommend Haramara Retreat. It is perfect for a change on your typical beach vacations and as this might be their specialty, I´d suggest you go there on a yoga retreat. But as I said on the beginning, it is not for everyone, as some might find it a little too austere and into the wild and lacking some amenities. It is definitely not for the unfit or with physical health problems.

Special thanks to all the staff there. All of them are so helpful, nice and willing to make sure you have a nice stay. Great service.

Considering what the place offers, I find Haramara prices a bit too expensive, not so friendly for mexican tourists. As a suggestion, It´d be nice if eco-friendly soap and shampoo were included in the room so it would be sure that no toxic waste water falls in the jungle, is not much to ask if you consider what you pay. Also, I don´t understand why the place doesn´t admit pets, since it´s such an ideal place for them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rocio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayulita
0.6 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 10 in Sayulita
86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#5 of 10 in Sayulita
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden Sayulita
Hotel Eden Sayulita
#9 of 10 in Sayulita
26 reviews
8.4 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
192 reviews
8.8 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haramara Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haramara Retreat

Address: Near Sayulita, Sayulita, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sayulita
#4 Spa Hotel in Sayulita
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as the place "where Robinson Crusoe meets Architectural Digest," Haramara Retreat is a magical and idyllic place created and designed to provide a natural and supportive environment for individuals, couples and groups to relax, renew and restore well-being. Haramara ("Mother Sea") is an intimate and secluded oceanside adventure and yoga resort offering sensual tropical harmony to every guest, along with superior yoga and wellness experiences. We are located near the quaint fishing pueblo of Sayulita, in the spectacular Riviera Nayarit, Mexico. Scattered across beautiful tropical hillsides, each spacious cabana is made of all natural materials and offers exceptional ocean and jungle canopy views. Haramara offers serenity, seclusion, and security to ensure relaxing and renewing retreats, as well as professional retreats and workshops. Enjoy our nurturing safety all in the embrace of sacred land and the stunning Pacific coastline. Your culinary experience at Haramara will be exquisite as our chef bases his culinary creations on what is fresh and local. Nearby Puerto Vallarta airport has direct flights from the US and Canada - you will be met inside the airport and transported directly to Haramara in a private, comfortable air-conditioned SUV. From the moment you leave your airport gate to the moment you re-enter the airport upon your return home, you will be cared for and nurtured. Come experience the magic of Haramara for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haramara Retreat Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing