We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haramara heaven”
Review of Haramara Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haramara Retreat
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Arriving from NYC this was the perfect getaway. The food was superb - organic and healthy. The little huts dotted in the jungle were very comfortable and felt a million miles away from civilisation enhanced by the sound of the ocean. Sajeela, the owner made the stay an unforgettable experience and really makes the whole retreat very special. Ask for her special green shake if you go. My bro and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the middle of the mountain - not too far towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank OBass77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I traveled to Haramara alone on a personal retreat. It was an absolutely perfect experience, and I recommend it to anyone, especially anyone hesitating to travel alone. The food was nutritious and delicious, and the service was incredibly accommodating - if you've got any dietary restrictions, the staff will have you covered. The casitas were quaint and lovely - I siestaed in front of a hammock in front of my casita often. The private beach is also lovely, and you can boulder to other beaches nearby for more of a swim. Depending on where your casita is, you'll likely need to be prepared to hike for a bit. Overall, I found Haramara to be a perfect place to retreat. Relax, forget about time, and enjoy yourself: you've found a gem.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank abrelosojos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaramaraRetreat, Manager at Haramara Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Haramara and to let others know about us in your own words. We appreciated having you as our guest and we look forward to sharing the magic with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I had a truly magical experience at Haramara. The staff were attentive and friendly and really treated you like family, calling you by first name which felt really special as I traveled to Haramara solo. The casitas were beautiful, with such amazing views. I loved hearing the nature — insects, birds and wildlife of all sorts! The food was delicious, all very healthy and I loved that nothing came out of a package. I took a cooking class which I would recommend, I have tried a couple of recipes here at home, simple and delicious!

The best start to each day were the sunrise yoga classes with such spectacular views, followed by fresh breakfast in the restaurant, yum! The infinity pool was lovely with a great view and comfy lounge chairs for you to read or sunbathe. The beach was peaceful as it is a private beach so no one trying to sell you stuff. There were come days I had the beach to myself to read my book on their comfy hammocks.

I had a massage and some energy work done as well and I would highly recommend it! All of the healers/practitioners are lovely and hearing the sounds of the waves crashing was soothing. The view from the massage casitas were breathtaking.

The town of Sayulita is beautiful and it was nice to take a day trip there, although I would have stayed at Haramara the whole time.

The staff, the food, the accommodations, the surroundings made this an unforgettable trip and I met such lovely new friends that were visiting Haramara. It was so nice to truly unplug and get back to what REALLY matters. I look forward to returning to Haramara in 2015 for my 40th birthday. Namaste.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Thousandred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaramaraRetreat, Manager at Haramara Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Haramara and to let others know about us in your own words. We appreciated having you as our guest and we look forward to sharing the magic with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a wonderful time at Haramara. It was my first time hosting a retreat and it was a breeze due to the great staff and kind help from all those involved. Thank you for making our stay magical and see you next year.

Room Tip: all have character and beauty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kaitlin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaramaraRetreat, Manager at Haramara Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Haramara and to let others know about us in your own words. We are honored to have been chosen by you to host your first destination retreat. We appreciated having you as our guest and we look forward to sharing the magic with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I felt so grateful to host my first yoga and surf retreat at Haramara - a spiritually rich and amazing property with incredible staff that will feel like family by the time you leave. A long walk, or a quick taxi ride takes you into the town of Sayulita where you can surf, shop, eat and enjoy this beautiful part of Mexico. I wish I was still there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sideshobetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaramaraRetreat, Manager at Haramara Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Haramara and to let others know about us in your own words. We are honored that you chose us to host your first destination retreat. We appreciated having you as our guest and we look forward to sharing the magic with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Hotel and rooms: casitas open towards the sea and jungle, exceptionnal but with a night of adaptation with all the noises of the jungle...They just constructed a new pool area that as a breath taking view on the sea. Depending on the location of your casitas, you have more or less hiking to do, so be prepare to plan your trips to the sea or restaurant. But you always have a nice view of the sea or the sky with moon and stars so it gives magic to it!

Beach and sea: they have chairs on the sea and you can walk 15-20 minutes on the left side with nice sand, and much calm. It is really quiet!

Food: they were able to satisfy 10 people with the same lunch and dinner, and everybody liked it very much so it says everything! They also adress the allergies and special demands of everyone that ask for it.

Staff: wow! Excellent welcome, they are always please to serve you! They also have excellent massotherapists!

This place is wonderful for a yoga retreat, with much calm except at dinner with our gang (yoga laughter)!!!

Our yoga center has already made reservation for next year!

Anny from Laval, Quebec,Canada

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gille T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaramaraRetreat, Manager at Haramara Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Haramara and to let others know about us in your own words. We appreciated having you as our guest and we look forward to sharing the magic with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Haramara is the most unique holiday experience we have ever had. It definitely isn't for everyone as there are no windows in any of the buildings and you are always exposed to environment around you. The casitas (huts) also do not have electricity, but oil lamps instead, but this really allows you to truly reconnect with yourself and not have to worry about the outside world.

The location is stunning. Staff at Haramara were always so obliging and made our stay so much more enjoyable.

The casitas are gorgeous. We loved that there are no windows or electricity in the houses as it really allowed us to fully absorb the natural and beautiful surroundings of the rainforest and the ocean. The food is amazing. We loved it. Every meal was delicious! Especially loved the granola.

We will definitely come again! It is such a special location. Thanks Harama for such a great trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DungFromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaramaraRetreat, Manager at Haramara Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review to share the experience of your stay at Haramara Retreat with other interested travelers. We take pride in being able to give people a unique and one-of-a-kind experience while still being able to pamper them in rustic luxury. We appreciated having you as our guest and we look forward to sharing the magic with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayulita
0.6 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 10 in Sayulita
87 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#5 of 10 in Sayulita
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden Sayulita
Hotel Eden Sayulita
#9 of 10 in Sayulita
26 reviews
12.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haramara Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haramara Retreat

Address: Near Sayulita, Sayulita, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sayulita
#4 Spa Hotel in Sayulita
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as the place "where Robinson Crusoe meets Architectural Digest," Haramara Retreat is a magical and idyllic place created and designed to provide a natural and supportive environment for individuals, couples and groups to relax, renew and restore well-being. Haramara ("Mother Sea") is an intimate and secluded oceanside adventure and yoga resort offering sensual tropical harmony to every guest, along with superior yoga and wellness experiences. We are located near the quaint fishing pueblo of Sayulita, in the spectacular Riviera Nayarit, Mexico. Scattered across beautiful tropical hillsides, each spacious cabana is made of all natural materials and offers exceptional ocean and jungle canopy views. Haramara offers serenity, seclusion, and security to ensure relaxing and renewing retreats, as well as professional retreats and workshops. Enjoy our nurturing safety all in the embrace of sacred land and the stunning Pacific coastline. Your culinary experience at Haramara will be exquisite as our chef bases his culinary creations on what is fresh and local. Nearby Puerto Vallarta airport has direct flights from the US and Canada - you will be met inside the airport and transported directly to Haramara in a private, comfortable air-conditioned SUV. From the moment you leave your airport gate to the moment you re-enter the airport upon your return home, you will be cared for and nurtured. Come experience the magic of Haramara for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haramara Retreat Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing