We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bliss and peace”
Review of Haramara Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haramara Retreat
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

haramara retreat is one of the most wonderful, blissful places I have ever been. the location is centered in a beautiful jungle on a cliffside overlooking the ocean, 10 minutes from sayulita but a world away. the cabinas are separate/open air/ very Balinese style (sliding doors, open air showers) and unobtrusive in the jungle setting. we fell asleep listening to the ocean every night and listening to the birds every morning...admittedly the first night was a little weird with no real doors or locks, but we relaxed very quickly. we were on the "romantic retreat" and were offered a romantic dinner overlooking the ocean with our own private chefs and wait staff. the whole staff is incredible, unassuming but completely welcoming, accommodating and anticipatory. the food is local, organic, and vegetarian (except for fish) and wonderfully creative and delicious. the massage therapists were true healers using physical and energetic modalities to gently (or deep) work into your bodies. we weren't there on a yoga retreat, but were able to practice in the large/open air/beautiful studios. please note there is no wifi anywhere on the grounds, and no electricity in the cabinas (they supply oil lamps that are bright enough to read by and light the cabina). we thought it was wonderful to be completely disconnected but I know some ppl had difficulties with it.
I want to send many thanks to all of the staff - it was truly a magical stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sunshinesask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Haramara Retreat is on a beautiful cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The grounds are peaceful, calm and relaxing. An infinity pool looks out over the ocean, small casitas are discretely hidden within the trees, the food is unbelievable delicious and the staff is friendly and accommodating.
The retreat is an easy 15 min walk into Sayulita, which is an adorable small town right on the beach. Sayulita offers good shopping and cute restaurants.
My only complaints about Haramara are that it has no Wi-Fi, which unfortunately, in this day and age, is difficult for many of us. Additionally, the casitas are open-air and so noise from other people often kept me awake long after 10 PM. Lastly, I wish they offered even a small fitness center on the grounds.
Otherwise, though, the casitas are comfortable and the entire week was relaxing and refreshing (except for the fact that I could have slept better without the noise).

Room Tip: I think the further away from the bar and pool area you are, the less likely you will deal with exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ljenks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is an update. My first review was for a romantic getaway with my husband. This was after booking the property for a retreat. Um, perfection. From the booking, to transportation, the delicious food that accommodated all types of food restrictions and tastes, to the beautifully caring staff, the oooohhh, ahhhh cabanas, to the new heavenly infiniti pool over looking the ocean, to the complete bliss- our retreat of 19 people was perfection. I've already booked again for next year. They are so stuck with us!

Room Tip: Bring a headlamp for dark, glorious evening walks home to your cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyanDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Everything about Haramara is wonderful. The food, the views, the people, the layout, and the staff. I'm a 32 year old female who travelled with a female friend. We had such an amazing time and were even able to walk 20 mins into a local surfer town called Sayulita to eat and shop. We did not come with a group but built out own package (note that the prices are for varied occupancies... The website made costs seem more expensive - so we almost didn't go). Included in our package was credits to use towards anything (we got a lot of value with these), 2 yoga classes, a massage (with very knowledgable rmt's), and two daily meals. Totally wonderful! Doing yoga at sunrise and sunset was touching and amazing, even if you don't regularly practice.
My only advice given our room was one of the furthest from the main area: please ask for rooms close to the front if you don't enjoy steep walks (we loved it) OR if you are afraid of wild animals. The further your room is in the jungle, the more noises you hear of birds and the local Mexican raccoons. We did have one night which was a little tough, but once we realized the 'loud' noises were from harmless creatures, all was good. I would also suggest to bring a bright flashlite as you definitely need it at night. Loved everything about Haramara. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neeta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Idyllic setting. Rustic yet luxurious. I loved the mindfulness of the setting--hiking around the hillside to get to where you need to go. The food is amazing, and the people there are even better. I would recommend this wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Haramara is the real deal. I have led yoga retreats there for two years in a row and each time I am astonished by the level healing & nourishment that is possible in this sacred location.

I have led retreats in quite a few other locations in Mexico & the Carribean and none of them come close to the service, beauty & presence that is Haramara. Please go here as soon as you can, you will be nourished in the deepest way!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank amyreedyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have travelled all over the world ~ Haramara is beyond anything I have ever experienced before. It is so thoroughly, thoughtfully and carefully created that I can't find anything I would change.
The fact that there is no electricity, internet or phones helps create a place of peace, rest and rejuvenation. It's is simple and simpy beautiful. The staff is very attentive and yet give you privacy. Haramara offers healthy, outrageously good food, beautiful workshop spaces, the sound of the ocean and the birds, the pool is salt water and wonderful...what more can I say? Ill be back!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful. The Moonstone is the most beautiful dorm I have ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ditte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayulita
0.6 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 10 in Sayulita
89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#5 of 10 in Sayulita
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Petit Hotel d'Hafa
Petit Hotel d'Hafa
#8 of 10 in Sayulita
125 reviews
8.4 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
241 reviews
8.5 mi away
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Reso...
#1 of 2 in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haramara Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haramara Retreat

Address: Near Sayulita, Sayulita, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sayulita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sayulita
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described as the place "where Robinson Crusoe meets Architectural Digest," Haramara Retreat is a magical and idyllic place created and designed to provide a natural and supportive environment for individuals, couples and groups to relax, renew and restore well-being. Haramara ("Mother Sea") is an intimate and secluded oceanside adventure and yoga resort offering sensual tropical harmony to every guest, along with superior yoga and wellness experiences. We are located near the quaint fishing pueblo of Sayulita, in the spectacular Riviera Nayarit, Mexico. Scattered across beautiful tropical hillsides, each spacious cabana is made of all natural materials and offers exceptional ocean and jungle canopy views. Haramara offers serenity, seclusion, and security to ensure relaxing and renewing retreats, as well as professional retreats and workshops. Enjoy our nurturing safety all in the embrace of sacred land and the stunning Pacific coastline. Your culinary experience at Haramara will be exquisite as our chef bases his culinary creations on what is fresh and local. Nearby Puerto Vallarta airport has direct flights from the US and Canada - you will be met inside the airport and transported directly to Haramara in a private, comfortable air-conditioned SUV. From the moment you leave your airport gate to the moment you re-enter the airport upon your return home, you will be cared for and nurtured. Come experience the magic of Haramara for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haramara Retreat Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing