We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Cool Place to Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Outdoor BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor BBQ
Outdoor BBQ Doors to kitchen from patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Outdoor BBQ
Outdoor BBQ
Doors to kitchen from patio
Stairs to road
Lots of greenery and gardens
Patio and gardens
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living room
Main downstairs bedroom
Main bath
Upper bedroom, outdoor shower
Upper back bedroom
Upper bedroom
Upper front bedroom
Upstairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sayulita, Pacific Coast

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amber M
1 review
“Very Cool Place to Stay”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My husband and daughter & I had a wonderful time at Casa Duende and would definitely recommend it to anyone coming to Sayulita. The terraced private garden and yard was excellent and it had lots of windows and fans so it was cool to sit inside mid day before the beach and at night.

The food is Sayulita is excellent and it was easy to walk to any restaurant you wanted from the house.

We had never been to Sayulita before and really we're thankful we picked Casa Duende instead of a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melodie M
Moses Lake, Washington
2 reviews
“Lovely oasis close to everything - location is great”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The location is perfect and as advertised - easy walk to everything you want or need. So nice to come home from an active day and open the gate to your own little garden oasis. It is comfortable, private and charming. It suited our family perfectly - especially with bathrooms attached to each bedroom. I slept upstairs and loved waking up to the roosters crowing - felt like I was in a treehouse. We felt safe and had no security issues.
There isn't a dip pool, but we didn't miss that. Also couldn't get the TV to work but we didn't come to watch TV and it could have been operator error :-) Would have liked to have been able to use the washer/dryer. Also, there was a major foul aroma coming from upstairs bathrooms. We notified property managers so hopefully that will be cleared up. These are small complaints just noted in the intent of full disclosure. I would stay here again,.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Thanks for the great review Melodie, we are glad that you enjoyed Casa Duende. We do allow people to use the washer/dryer on request but we do need to know in advance. Next time. Thanks for letting the property managers know about the odour, they are getting it repaired right away. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent value”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our other rental for the week was full, and we need two more rooms, luckily we were able to rent Casa Duende for 4 nights. It is in a great location close to town and a very comfortable 3 bedroom with a great outdoor area to cook and relax. You can't go wrong and the price is excellent.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn T
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location, And super nice.”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the location, close enough for easy walking, but far enough to be private and quiet. Every bedroom has it's own bath, the house is super usable and well thought out. I would give it two thumbs up for sure.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleJ...
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, a peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 20 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011
5
people found this review helpful

Casa Duende is a three room house conveniently located two blocks from Sayulita's main beach and the center of town. Despite being so close to the plaza, Casa Duende is tucked away from the street and is incredibly quiet and peaceful. Each bedroom at Casa Duende has its own spacious bathroom with stand-up showers (no bathtubs). The main bedroom is the only bedroom with air conditioning, but if you are visiting during the high season, I do not think that air conditioning is needed for those staying in the other bedrooms. The kitchen is fully stocked, so you can make home-cooked meals or prepare your own margaritas. Bottled water is complimentary, and it is easy to request more if you need it. There is a TV and a DVD player, as well as a variety of DVDs to choose from if you are spending the evening indoors. There is an outdoor grill, where you can prepare some of the fresh seafood or meats that you can buy from the local pescaderia or carneceria. Next to the grill is a meat smoker, which I did not use during my stay. The garden is beautiful with three different levels of trees, flowers, and a variety of potted plants. The second floor bedroom has huge windows that fully slide open so that you can take in the breathtaking view of the lush garden. The same bedroom also has an open air shower. The third bedroom and bathroom is identical to the layout of the main bedroom and bathroom. Connecting the two upstairs bedrooms is a nice patio with a lovely bar. The two levels of the house are connected by an outdoor staircase, which makes the two upstairs rooms feel rather separate from the main house. The house is cared for by the friendly, bilingual staff at Primavera Rentals, located a block away from the house. Gardeners will tend to the yard twice a week, and housekeeping also arrives twice a week: once to tend to the outdoors and another visit to do laundry, change linens, and do a more thorough cleaning of the house. While I was there, Teresa was our housekeeper, and she was the best! Throughout our stay, she was friendly, fun, and hard-working with a charming sense of humor. Finally, those traveling with pets may want to consider speaking with the owners of Casa Duende. After speaking with the friendly owners, Carolyn and Joe, we were able to bring our dog with us on our vacation after paying a refundable deposit. Casa Duende is a fantastic vacation rental: clean, charming, and well-appointed. I would recommend this house to anyone visiting Sayulita, especially for larger parties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent proximity to the beach and the town plaza.
Liked least: Not good for people with disabilities (stairs)
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 6 June 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Liked best: The location
Liked least: The roosters
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ID
Reviewed 7 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing