We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Palapa and a Really Friendly Staff!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Buena Onda - Sayulita Surf Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Sayulita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Palapa and a Really Friendly Staff!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We loved our days at "La Casa Buena Onda", we stayed on the SeaHorse Palapa, and we had an excellent experience, the decoration is beautiful. We really enjoy the location, near to the beach and the downtown, but not enough to hear all the noise from the bars at night!

We were very happy to pic this place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    14
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
44
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Last year it was just my 19 year old son and I. We had a blast.
This year my wife, 2 daughters (19) and another 19 year old (boy friend) spent a week.
Very nice accommodations for a family. We had the whole upstairs to ourselves. I really enjoy the location because it feels like Mexico [i.e. not a resort]. Terry was a great host once again. He is there when you need him but leaves you to your space. We all enjoyed his gardening green thumb:)
The walk to town is a quick 5 minutes and very close to where I rent surfboards (Patricia's).
We may not be staying with Terry too much any more as he introduced us to a great couple that sold us a lot:) However, I very much look forward to seeing Terry out on morning sessions and for a beer.

Room Tip: there are three rooms. if solo definitely go for the single palapa. it is cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed in the seahorse palapa room and loved how homey and authentic it felt. There is a lovely kitchen and rooftop deck and everything is kept incredibly clean. Terry and Cheryl were also incredibly nice and helped me any questions I had about Sayulita or surrounding area. Would recommend Casa Buena Onda to anyone staying in Sayulita!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MeepMerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed here in a group with a total of 3 couples, renting out all 3 rooms. We had a fantastic experience! The place is so wonderfully (and colorfully) decorated. We loved having access to the roof and other deck space- pretty amazing stargazing!Terry and Sheryl were very helpful with everything! They had fantastic food and bar recommendations and were also helpful with finding surfing opportunities. The house is less than 5 minutes from the center of Sayulita, super convenient! We all hope to come back !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelleTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I absolutely loved our stay at Casa Buena Onda. We stayed in the Seahorse Palapa room and loved the fresh open air. The rooms are safe, very clean and cozy, and all for a great price. One of the best features (besides the rooftop hammock) is its location. You are so close to all the action, without being too close to the action, just the right distance to step away if you want to relax. Another great feature of Casa Buena Onda is the owners Terry and Cheryl. They are really great people who gave us great pointers on where to take surf lessons, how to get to and from the airport, and great recommendations for where to eat and where to find more secluded beaches. We can’t wait to come back. Thanks a bunch you guys!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanirv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Staying a Casa Buena Onda is more like visiting friends you didn't know you had. The room was comfortable attractive and clean. Clearly on the "right side of town," the walk to everything was easy, and Tery and Sheryl seemed more than willing to offer direction to anything that could make my visit more enjoyable. I wish I would have booked earlier so I could have stayed for my entire week. Next time and many times to come I will book early and book often.

Room Tip: All three rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willyt913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Casa Buena Onda was Great! Everything is within easy walking distance and makes their location perfect. We stayed both in the Palapa suite for a week and the Camarone room for the remainder of our stay. We had board storage in their courtyard, a fridge to keep the beer cold and a rooftop terrace to warm us up! Terry & Sheryl are terrific, easy going hosts and we would not hesitate to book another stay at the Casa Buena Onda. We had a amazing time in Sayulita!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scutch856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sayulita hotels
0.2 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#3 of 9 in Sayulita
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 9 in Sayulita
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#7 of 9 in Sayulita
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kupuri
Hotel Kupuri
#3 of 23 in Sayulita
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotelito Los Suenos
Hotelito Los Suenos
#1 of 23 in Sayulita
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Buena Onda - Sayulita Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Buena Onda - Sayulita Surf Hotel

Property: Casa Buena Onda - Sayulita Surf Hotel
Address: corner of Ninos Heroes and Calle Primavera, Sayulita, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing