We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“authentic mexican bliss, a secluded haven”
Review of Playa Escondida

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Playa Escondida
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
Langley BC, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“authentic mexican bliss, a secluded haven”
Reviewed 24 April 2009

It was the best 5-day vacation we've taken yet! Everyone we talked to there, wished they had booked for more days. My favorite thing, besides the seclusion and private beach was our outdoor shower and toilet - you could gaze at the ocean while in/on either!!! (The Studio) Although the resort was a bit more pricey - it was truly worth every penny. We saved money by cooking our own breakfasts and sometimes lunches in our kitchenette, but enjoyed every tasty dinner we could at the amazing restaurant! Although our goal was complete relaxation, we did hop a local bus north up to La Penita?? I think, to the fantastic Thursday morning market they do. Definitely worth the 30 minutes bus ride and the experience of standing on the edge of the highway waiting for some bus to stop! Oh, and the best tip for getting to Sayulita - TAKE THE BUS! It cost my husband and I 40 pesos total - is that $4?? It was incredibly easy, walk out the airport doors, cross over the pedestrian overpass, and then wait underneath it on the other side for one of the million busses zipping through. Get on the one with Sayulita written on the front windshield. Done. We then taxied from town to the resort for $7. Both of us loved the feel of the place - very well looked after, remote, but still accessible to town, delicious food, helpful staff! We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qadventureorrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    76
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
69
419
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Playa Escondida was everything we hoped for. The staff was personable, helpful, and friendly. When we first saw the view from our room, we couldn't believe we were actually staying there for a few days! At times, it felt like we had the beach all to ourselves. The restauant's food was amazing, and the setting was perfect - a few tables in the sand at the edge of a salt-water pool.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, KS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Incredible time, we stayed for half our honeymoon, 3 nights.
The bad: It was hot, but that was to be expected. It was during the crab season, actually had a crab in our bed on the first night (yeah I got 'crabs' on the first night of my honeymoon), it started climbing up my leg while I was waiting for my groom...it made for great stories
The good: Far out weighs the heat and crawlies, the beach was amazing, very private, wonderful food, truley relaxing, best time ever! We enjoy camping (in tents) so the lack of delux accomodations were no big thing to us.

We are thinking about returning this summer for our anniversary.

  • Liked — location, views, unique rooms
  • Disliked — sometimes there were young children running around with no supervision
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank slucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Just came back from our second stay at P-E, having been this time last year. It was as good as we remembered, with some significant improvements. The beach bar is now open - which it wasn't last year, serving drinks and snacks from 12 noon until sunset, with happy hour from 5pm to sunset. Good drinks, and snacks like quesadillas and guacamole brought to your sunlounger on the beach during the day - in the evening, sit at the bar on the beach, or on your sunlounger, and watch the sun go down. Another perfect end to a perfect day.

The other beach operation is the shack with snorkelling gear and boogie boards, extra beach towels, etc., which is also new. The days when the sea is calm enough to snorkel are few, but when it's possible, you can be rewarded with colorful fish, even a baby stingray was witnessed (not by us). Late in the afternoon, the irrepressible Sergio, whose tan is now chocolate brown, amuses guests (inadvertently or on purpose) by extravagant displays of boogie boarding - rushing into the ocean, throwing himself on to the board, shooting up a wave before flying up into the air, and then crashing back into the water. As he's barely 5 ft tall, this probably isn't as risky as it sounds. He's often with the owner's black Lab, Jacko, swimming alongside.

In the restaurant, Fernando the Peruvian chef is still there from last year; he has expanded the choices considerably. Besides the daily dinner menu - still with choices, but now with the option to have only one, two, or three courses for less money - there is also a separate menu of permanent options, such as rack of lamb, lobster, duck, etc. Some days Fernando excels himself, and some days he doesn't, but generally he's best cooking fish, all fresh, and he has a deft hand with spices and unusual flavor combinations. This year we had fresh caught diver scallops that were delicious. We know they were fresh because we saw the divers in the sea beyond the beach that morning! Bananas feature prominently in the desserts because, like the coconuts in the drinks, they grow right there on the property. The restaurant service has improved over last year. The charming and friendly Alejandro seems to have been promoted, and is now well supported by a team of older (than last year), much more professional waiters whose every aim is to please, often very enthusiastically.

This year we stayed in Luna 3, which is one of the new units created by dividing a bigger unit into two - very successfully. It was a spacious room, a comfortable king size bed, with a wonderful ocean view. We had some difficulties with the hot water in the shower, but these were quickly addressed. You can easily see the sea from the bed, and the view from the shower is even more dramatic. I still love the fact that there are no windows ANYWHERE at P-E.

We went horse-riding, including galloping on the empty beach on the other side of the rocks. The horses were very easy to handle, very responsive, and it was a fun morning out - but go early before it gets too hot.

Service generally at P-E has improved - Diego, the owner, is more in evidence, so this may be why. We will be going back to P-E frequently, that's for sure.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurosweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wwchloerunning
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My husband and I stayed at Playa Escondida for 3 days and it was the perfect way to experience Mexico. The staff was so gracious the entire time, the pool was perfection, the food amazing, and the beach was out of a dream!

I honestly have not one negative thing to say about this place - we only wished we stayed longer.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wwchloerunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

My stay at Playa-Escondida came after a frantic 2 year project, and i really needed to get away and relax. This couldn't have been a better place for that. Beautiful setting, attentive staff (Jose my happy hour BBF was great), incredible food. The entire experience was a dream, and I look forward to going back. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mld_portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2009

What a find!!!!! My husband and I were going to stay in Sayulita but
could find nothing to suit our needs then we found Playa and went for it
based on their website. So glad we did. Spent 9 wonderful days of
R & R. The staff was wonderful the food was great the weather was
perfect. Loved all the charming accomadations. The setting is beautful.
Would go back in a heartbeat.
Kris and Gerry Murphys, Ca

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinesclothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayulita
0.7 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#3 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#7 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
5.7 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kupuri
Hotel Kupuri
#3 of 23 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Escondida

Property: Playa Escondida
Address: Ave Playa Escondida # 1 | Sayulita Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate experience with nature in eco-chic comfort on a private jungle-beach. Playa Escondida is a secluded private resort, nested in a beachfront setting surrounded by hills covered with jungle. We feature 30 unique rooms, perfectly integrated with the natural surroundings. Playa Escondida is located one mile from the quaint fishing village and colorful surfer enclave, Sayulita, on the Riviera Nayarit...and a world away from anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Escondida Sayulita
Playa Escondida Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing