We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach Oasis in the Jungle”
Review of Playa Escondida

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Playa Escondida
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sayulita
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beach Oasis in the Jungle”
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We stayed at Playa Escondida during spring break 2009 with our almost 9 and almost 13 year old children. (They discourage to bring children, however, it is really a perfect property for all kids over toddler age and there are always playmates - the owner's children!)
The property itself is just as described by the other guests, beautiful pool and restaurant area, good food (better than most places in town), rustic charm, incredible beach - albeit with rougher sea. We stayed in the Casita since it had a loft where the kids could sleep very comfortably. A word of caution: if you are a light sleeper, Casita and Cabana may not be for you (or only with ear plugs). While it is relatively quiet in the evening it gets really loud in the morning around 6 or 6:30 AM when the staff start to arrive in their trucks and on their motorcycles (and with them unfortunately a big smell of gasoline which wafts right into the open walled Casita), twice during our stay we were also abruptly awaken by the scream of the wild turkeys in the jungle. Those two aspects were the only negatives during our stay, but I'd choose a different room if I'd go again. I can also recommend a massage in the lovely open air "spa area", it was one of the better massages I had at a resort. I also tried the yoga lesson at the beach with a couple of friends but if you have done yoga before this lesson is to skip. We ventured out into town every other day (the kids took surfing lessons, Sayulita beach is perfect for beginners) but were always happy to return to the peaceful Playa Escondida. When in town go to Sayulita Fish Taco and Restaurant - great food at extremely reasonable prices, afterward grab dessert at the main plaza with the pie lady who sells cakes and flans, one more delicious than the next, for a couple of dollars per piece. There is also a new Italian restaurant on the main plaza opened by a guy from Perugia which was pretty decent (but a tad pricier than most). Don't miss the beautiful gallery La Hamaca and haggling at the beach.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    76
    18
    12
    10
See reviews for
69
418
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

My husband and I spent 5 days at Playa Escondida for our Honeymoon. What an amazingly rustic, yet elegant tropical paradise.

Getting there: We arrived by plane into PV, then crossed the pedestrian bridge and hopped the public bus to Sayulita. Total cost: $3 USD. Once in Sayulita, we grabbed a taxi to the resort (about $7USD). Very easy and affordable. On the way back, we opted for the van from the resort. Quite expensive but the better option for making a flight.

Resort: The resort itself is breathtaking...quaint, romantic, and elegant. Winding stone and dirt paths weave through the tropical jungle and thatched huts, reaching down to the secluded beach and cove. Colorful and aromatic flowers line the trails. At night, lit candles iluminate the passages between the huts and the restaurant. So utterly romantic.

Room: We stayed in Sol 2...very small, but VERY romantic. The bed was tucked into the wall, shrouded by canopied linens. No windows to obstruct the views to the ocean. The outdoor shower and private patio were perfect for a couple who wanted to steal away. Ample shelves and hooks provided plenty of storage. Fresh water was delivered daily. With a small fridge and an ipod player, we barely needed to leave the room.

Pools/Beach: The main pool is small yet inviting. Lined by sand, a few rustic tables, and a small waterfall, it empties into the sky above the beach. We spent hours just floating and talking while the attentive hosts freshened our drinks and brought us the yummiest guac we'd ever tasted. The southern pool was intimate and perfect for when we wanted to sneak away. The beach was lovely, but home to the thousands of crabs migrating from jungle, so we enjoyed it from afar (more on the crabs later).

Food: Authentic and fresh. We enjoyed traditional dishes each morning, then snacked on shrimp tacos and guac for lunch. Dinner was always a treat. Lots of fresh seafood and steaks. I highly recommend the filet and lobster. And don't miss the happy hour on the beach...2 for 1 drinks. In general, the drinks were a bit disappointing. We don't drink hard liquor and were bored with Pacifico and "cheap" red wine by day 3, especially for the price ($$$). Sayulita did not offer any better selections. Oh, the trauma:)

Service: Outstanding. The staff is tops in my book.

Activities: None, the way we like it. When we ached to get out a bit, we hiked into Sayulita. Don't be fooled, it is a hike but a pleasant one over a rocky beach, then through the jungle. You can also catch a taxi for $7 USD.

Crab migration: Crab migration started the night we arrived and lasted until we left. It was straight out of National Geographic...tens of thousands of land crabs moving through the resort, from the jungle to the beach. Every inch of path and beach was covered with clickety-clackety crabs. I enjoyed the chance to observe nature in action but also found it a bit unnerving to hear them moving through the room in the middle of the night. More than once I opted to forego a nighly bathroom visit...hahahaha.

Pros: Rustic, secluded, romantic, relaxing, beautiful. A perfect honeymoon.

Cons:
$$$: A bit pricey. The food, , spa, and drinks are expensive, not for someone looking for a value.
Tolilet: Didn't flush in our room, not even a small sliver of TP would go down. We had to plan accordingly:)
No electricity: We didn't have electricity more than we had it. Not a big deal for us because we don't drink coffee and haven't owned a hairdryer in 20 years, but I can see how no lights, no fans, no morning coffee, etc. could annoy someone. Navigating ones way to a hut amidst thousands of crabs with only a candle was a bit of an adventure, too.
Swine flu: Didn't expect to see it and didn't HOWEVER, all the hoopla delivered a blow to the local economy. Many restaurants and shops were closed due to lack of tourists. Very sad for PV and Sayulita.

Overall, this was an excellent honeymoon. I would defintiely return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoEasyPeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

My wife and I wanted a secluded and laid back resort where we could relax and spend some time together on our honeymoon. After months of searching, we found Playa Escondida. If you like large resorts with lots of parties and shopping….this is not the place. We had high hopes for a romantic, relaxing tropical destination, but our imagination could not possibly match the reality we discovered. The beach was clean and quiet. The view from our room was spectacular. The staff became our friends after just a few days. Although we ventured away from Playa Escondida several times for horseback riding, a zipline tour and surfing lessons, we always returned for the food and romance setting. We’ll be back! If you're high maintenance and require 5 star amenities.... don't come and mess it up for the rest of us.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattledan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2009

An architectural gem and location that invites relaxation and reconnection with you best self ... a perfect place for couples and not for children. The staff is exceptional. One of the most, if not the most enjoyable, resorts that we have experienced ... absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiritart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2009

This place is like a hidden gem. I went there in April for my wedding with 50 other guests and there was not one bad aspect about the place. The people are freindly and attentive, the service is impeccable, the rooms are breath taking and the food is to die for. If you are looking to see Mexico in a different perspective without all the commerial aspects then this is the place for you to go. I know I will be making this a yearly trip to celebrate our anniversery.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eves1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley BC, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

It was the best 5-day vacation we've taken yet! Everyone we talked to there, wished they had booked for more days. My favorite thing, besides the seclusion and private beach was our outdoor shower and toilet - you could gaze at the ocean while in/on either!!! (The Studio) Although the resort was a bit more pricey - it was truly worth every penny. We saved money by cooking our own breakfasts and sometimes lunches in our kitchenette, but enjoyed every tasty dinner we could at the amazing restaurant! Although our goal was complete relaxation, we did hop a local bus north up to La Penita?? I think, to the fantastic Thursday morning market they do. Definitely worth the 30 minutes bus ride and the experience of standing on the edge of the highway waiting for some bus to stop! Oh, and the best tip for getting to Sayulita - TAKE THE BUS! It cost my husband and I 40 pesos total - is that $4?? It was incredibly easy, walk out the airport doors, cross over the pedestrian overpass, and then wait underneath it on the other side for one of the million busses zipping through. Get on the one with Sayulita written on the front windshield. Done. We then taxied from town to the resort for $7. Both of us loved the feel of the place - very well looked after, remote, but still accessible to town, delicious food, helpful staff! We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qadventureorrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Playa Escondida was everything we hoped for. The staff was personable, helpful, and friendly. When we first saw the view from our room, we couldn't believe we were actually staying there for a few days! At times, it felt like we had the beach all to ourselves. The restauant's food was amazing, and the setting was perfect - a few tables in the sand at the edge of a salt-water pool.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayulita
0.7 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#3 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#7 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
5.7 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kupuri
Hotel Kupuri
#3 of 22 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Escondida

Property: Playa Escondida
Address: Ave Playa Escondida # 1 | Sayulita Nayarit, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate experience with nature in eco-chic comfort on a private jungle-beach. Playa Escondida is a secluded private resort, nested in a beachfront setting surrounded by hills covered with jungle. We feature 30 unique rooms, perfectly integrated with the natural surroundings. Playa Escondida is located one mile from the quaint fishing village and colorful surfer enclave, Sayulita, on the Riviera Nayarit...and a world away from anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Escondida Sayulita
Playa Escondida Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing