We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YESSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda de la Costa
Ranked #2 of 23 Sayulita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Damascus, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YESSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2008

We are back in Oregon, missing sunshine & warmth, looking back at our 3 wks in Mx. The hilite of our trip would be "Hacienda de la Costa!" Terri & Steve are to be commended for SOOOOO many things! First of all, the Hacienda itself is so beautiful, inviting, quiet & comfortable. The hospitality is commendable, the breakfasts would put all the hotels to shame!!!! The dinner we ordered was so delicious & tasteful served. The services there far outweigh the little drive there. Don't let the riverbed, the roads intimidate you! The drive there is worth it! We walked to town one day & were thrilled to experience the backroads thru the jungle to the bust;ling little town of Sayulita. Even if you never went to town, you would have all you would ever need here! We can't wait to come back!
Patty & Garry

  • Liked — The location, food, facilities and staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredOregonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
173
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2008

This hideaway in the jungle near Sayulita is, well, exquisite. The other reviewers are bang on in their adulation...both the suites and the casas are spacious, beautifully decorated, clean and new. The pool is large enough to accomodate the guests and somehow the water is always the right temperature. Steve's margaritas are the best I've ever had and, if you're lucky, he'll share his recipe with you. Both Steve and Terri are gracious hosts and happy to do what they can to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. Terri's breakfasts are creative, tasty, and filling and all the guests dine together at a number of tables by the pool. As others have said, Terri is a wonderful cook and will prepare dinners for the guests based on the amount of group interest and her availability. It is important to note that the menu on the website gives an idea of the food she will make but it is not served on an a la carte basis. If dinner will be served on a certain evening, Steve will let the guests know what is on the menu for the evening, as well as the cost, and you can either opt in or opt out. Additionally, both the suites and the casas have full service kitchens where you can prepare your own lunches and dinners which provides a nice alternative to eating in town. Hacienda de la Costa seems to attract those people that want something more low-key and relaxed than the accomodations you can get directly in Sayulita. It seemed like the best of both worlds to be able to spend time in town when desired and then retreat to the jungle for peace and solitude.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank asianfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2008

Having reviewed the reviews it is hard to know what to add. The accommodations themselves are spotless and attractively decorated; Steve and Terri are great and extremely helpful; the views are spectacular; the pool, bar and common area is idyllic; the food is good and the beer cold; and the other guests that we shared our time with were chilled people it was a pleasure to be around.

The walk to Sayulita is fantastic and takes 40 minutes; there are virtually (or entirely) deserted beaches 10 and 20 minutes walks away.

This place is great. If you stay there, don't mess it up!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank phatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2008

This is a fabulous place to take over as a group or if you don't mind the collegiality of a bed and breakfast. The attention to detail is fantastic. Wonderful showers, comfortable beds, beautiful pool and bar and all the beach toys you need. Teri and Steve are excellent hosts. Teri's breakfasts and dinners are fantastic and Steve is always there to fix you a drink or set you up with a great tour guide or advice for the day. We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank unearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

We took a little family vacation - multi-generational and hacienda de la costa was the perfect spot for it.
We had lots of space, luxurious appointments, views that were spectacular, and a pool that brought the whole group together in a great way.
Steve and Terri were great help through the week. The drive in is a special part of the adventure.
This is a special place to experience Sayulita, the beach and town aren't far, but the house is quiet and secluded.
Dinners - amazing take advantage of terri's great food!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goodsheets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, ND
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2008

Our 9 night stay at the Hacienda was perfect. The food was amazing, the pool was beautiful, the hosts were friendly and helpful, the nearby beach amazing...it really couldn't have been better! We're already trying to plan our next trip there. If you want a relaxing, quiet place that's away from the city center, this is a great option. We highly recommend Hacienda de la Costa!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank weiler-harnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Ore.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2008

At this point, the praise for Hacienda de la Costs has reached hyperbolic proportions. But the place really is that good (and I like to be cynical). We had an epic week there.Terri and Steve made everything so easy. The food, the pool, the views, the rooms, the nearby secluded beach - it's all somewhat surreal. My only concern is that now that the word is out, we might never be able to get another reservation.

It's a 40-minute walk to town on a hilly, sandy road (or a 10-minute bike or an 80-peso taxi ride). We enjoyed the walks, and the resulting solitude when we returned. Staying there provided a perfect mix of town trips and pool/beach lounging. Terri's breakfasts are insanely tasty, and served poolside. Steve put a case of Pacifico in our fridge shortly after we arrived (it cost a little more than what you can get a case for in town, but I didn't have to life a finger until it was time for a brew). Even the two pups, Peso and Lucy, are well-behaved and only around as often as you'd like them to be.

We hope to make it back, and can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Liked — All of it
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bluhmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sayulita hotels
1.6 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#3 of 9 in Sayulita
195 reviews
1.6 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 9 in Sayulita
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#7 of 9 in Sayulita
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotelito Los Suenos
Hotelito Los Suenos
#1 of 23 in Sayulita
354 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Kupuri
Hotel Kupuri
#3 of 23 in Sayulita
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda de la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda de la Costa

Property: Hacienda de la Costa
Address: Patzcuaro 500, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda de La Costa is an adults-only secluded haven offering a spectacular location with ocean views, jungle surroundings and close proximity to secluded beaches. Hacienda de La Costa is an ideal destination for nature lovers, the adventurous and the young at heart. Whether you have your sights set on adrenaline charged activity or you just long for a peaceful spot to unwind and relax, our location within an ecological preserve provides the perfect backdrop for what is truly an “off the beaten path” getaway.Located just two miles from the bustling ocean side village of Sayulita,Hacienda de la Costa enjoys the privacy of an exclusive retreat while the attractions of pueblo life are within easy reach. The romantic natural setting boasts secluded sandy beaches, sun-drenched days and starry nights perfect for making unforgettable memories. With 5 spacious suites, accommodating a maximum of 10 adult guests, tranquility is assured. Complimentary breakfast served poolside with a different entrée each morning in addition to the daily selection of fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda De La Costa Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing