We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda de la Costa
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Sayulita
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Playa Escondida(Sayulita)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Siete Lunas(Sayulita)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Amor(Sayulita)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casablanca(Sayulita)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imanta Resort(Punta de Mita)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
236
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
236
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bterri stevehonor barother guestssteve makesin townminute walkhonor systempuerto vallartarented a carevery morninggreat hostslocal beachessipping margaritasbed and breakfastwhale watchingperfect margarita
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Steve and Terri are the hosts of this amazing B&B that is a great place to unwind and enjoy a Mexican vacation away from the crowded resort towns. Terri's hot breakfasts each morning are absolutely delicious and always have a local flair, like her Crepes Azteca. They are the perfect way to start the day, whether you are walking to the almost-always-private-beach for a few hours or taking a car (we relied on taxis on our first visit and rented a Jeep for our second) to explore the town of Sayulita. Steve is always ready to assist you in making reservations with the local boating company or golf course if you want to do something active. We tried Stand-Up Paddle Boarding for the first time and it was a blast! When you come back from your adventure, their beautiful pool is waiting and the ocean view of the sunsets there is amazing!

Room Tip: Los Arboles includes a separate living/dining area and fully equipped kitchen!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rblemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My boyfriend and I recently visited Sayulita and choosing to stay at the Hacienda for the second year in a row was a no brainer. As others mention, there is a bit of a walk to town but we enjoyed it very much and walked to town several times. The pool area is peaceful and relaxing (and the pool water warm!) and the grounds are beautifully kept. The hospitality truly is second to none as Steve and Terri went above and beyond to make our stay perfect including calling cabs to take us on various excursions, arranging transportation to and from the airport, and offering suggestions of places to go and things to do. These insider tips were invaluable. The breakfasts are delicious and substantial also a nice time to connect with other guests and plot out the day. We stayed in La Palma (which has an incredible view) and had the shared kitchen close by for late night snacks or picnic lunches. A completely positive, relaxing experience in all and the perfect escape from the long mid-west Winter! Looking forward to future visits.

Room Tip: I have stayed in La Palma twice and would stay there again. You can see the ocean from bed through a huge picture window and also have a great ocean view from the patio.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBugg923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed in Los Arboles (room over garage). No views from this room, but spacious, clean, nicely decorated & well equipped. Includes a peaceful breezeway between room and guest house with nice foliage. Pleasant pool area offers comfortable lounge chairs, clean warm pool water, and an "honor bar" where you can mix your own Margarita or grab a cold beer! There is ocean view and lots of great foliage around the pool.
Short "hike" in either direction leads to two separate secluded beaches where you will likely find yourself the only visitor! Don't forget an umbrella, furnished by the hosts. New clean sheets every two days was an unusual treat, as was the cable TV and nice selection of recent DVDs!
Terri's breakfasts were always good and adequate portions, and provided a nice opportunity to meet other guests and plan the day's activities (with Steve's readily available assistance). The pets are well-behaved and very endearing, but the Chachalacas (Mexico's "wild turkeys") got pretty rowdy a few mornings; making sure that we remembered we were in the jungle.
Highly recommend a bird/whale watching & snorkeling trip with Rudi in Punta Mita. Costs is same for one or eight, so great to share trip & costs with other guests, which Steve is happy to coordinate.
Might get a little redundant for a long stay (especially with long walk to town), but a very relaxing place to spend a few days, recharge and enjoy the jungle setting with very accommodating hosts!

Room Tip: Had full kitchen, but rooms with "shared kitchen" looked like would have been no issue at all... Bit of a walk to the top room (La Vista)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnmanclp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

It was a great retreat for us. We love to walk and were able to walk to a really private beach or walk two short miles to Sayulita. We bought fresh fish at the market, and my husband caught fish while in a kayak. Such a treat. Our hosts, Terri and Steve could not have been more hospitable. They really assisted with our plans each day. The whale watching, snorkelling and seeing the rare blue footed booby was a real highlight. We booked to return next year. Cannot say enough about this special place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 726MaryLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Hacienda for 5 days, & we wish we never had to leave! The accommodations are clean, modern & beautiful - you either have a kitchen in your suite or can share one with two other suites. You can enjoy the gourmet Mexican breakfasts, cook your own lunch, & head to town for dinner at a restaurant. The grounds are immaculately kept & the jungle setting is gorgeous. The pool, bar & eating area are perfect. We stayed in La Vista, the highest room which had stunning views - we saw a whale playing through our binoculars. Terri & Steve are so helpful & knowledgeable, these two are just lovely people. The resident dogs (Shel, Tripod, Millie & Peso) & cats (Maggie & Solo Mio) were practically the main attractions & adored by everyone. The 40min walk to Sayulita was a gorgeous trek through the jungle, bring good walking shoes (or hop in a cheap cab)! The two secluded beaches 10mins away were fantastic, Steve's margaritas were incredible, & Terri's dinner was so delicious. It's private, in nature, yet close to town for adventures. I can't say enough good things & can't think of anything negative! It was so relaxing & rejuvenating. We will definitely be back, & have recommended to everyone we know - it's THAT great!

Room Tip: La Vista has the best views, but all of the rooms are fantastic - it just depends on if you want a kitchen or more/less privacy.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomir48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews