We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda de la Costa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sayulita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda de la Costa
Ranked #2 of 20 Sayulita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“Charming B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Hacienda de la Costa sits on top of a hill surrounded by lovely gardens, beautiful jungle and ocean views. The nearby beach is awesome. Sayulita is a charming pueblo and a mere two miles from the house. All of the suites are beautifully appointed. The host and hostess are the best team going. Breakfast to die for; fresh fresh great food. My only problem was having to leave this very special place. My husband and I will return.

Room Tip: Any one of the rooms we saw are quite excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taptator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
168
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our first trip to Sayulita and so glad we found this place. We went for a wedding in town and sorry we missed the first few nights at the hacienda but glad we stayed an extra few days to relax and take in the surroundings. Terri & Steve are wonderful and Terri's breakfasts and Steve's margaritas are not to be missed. We are animal lovers so we had plenty of canine and feline companionship which was awesome. It is so relaxing lounging at the pool and listening to the ocean waves nearby and nice to be within 10 minutes of secluded beaches. Our villa was comfortable and spacious and so clean. We definately want to book here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitylitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

But be warned. Don't stay here if you don't like tranquility and beautiful surroundings, vistas and sunsets. If you came to Sayulita for action, loud music, jarring company and fast food stay away from this place. On the other hand if you're like us, you are looking for the 'older Mexico' of the soothing sound of rolling surf, gentle breezes rustling the palms, and the calls of many different birds in the surrounding jungle solitude. Here you get the illusion of an adventure just winding in the mile or so from the main road, when you are really only a 10 to 15 minute ride from an occasional 'action fix' in the still somewhat charming and discombobulated town of Sayulita. With only 5 rooms here and the simple, but large and very comfortable accommodation you will have the feeling of being an exclusive guest in a much more expensive hotel. Sitting by the pretty and inviting pool with a good margarita in hand (there is an 'honor system' self-serve bar at hand) always made me think 'why go anywhere else?'. Your hosts, Steve and Terri, make you feel like you are visiting family and make sure you are well taken care of. Steve, having spent many years behind bars (the last of which he owned and operated in Old Puerto Vallarta) makes a mean and tasty margarita if you ask. Terri is a terrific cook who serves up delightful and, if I may say, culturally appropriate Mexican breakfasts, and, twice a week, great dinners. Within a short walk of the hotel you can find Pacific beaches where you may find yourself all alone. So when you decide to stay here, please tell Steve and Terri that Tony and Cynthia from Mill Valley, California sent you. And give them our fond regards. We will be back!

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms that have great views and 2 others in the tree. I like the views. If you make re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WCDeprado125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just returned from a 7 day stay at Hacienda de la Costa. My husband and I couldn't be happier with this B&B. Fantastic breakfasts (coffee, orange juice, homemade granola, fresh fruit, and yogurt to start.. Followed by a hot Mexican breakfast meal which is different everyday), refreshing pool, secluded beach.. It was an amazing find. Steve and Terri were great hosts, very easy to book online and also appreciated they arranged our shuttle too and from the airport for us (140$ round trip). Taxis to Sayulita are 150 pesos, and run until about 11pm, we ended up "car pooling" with other guests to reduce the costs on that.
The beach is beautiful, you will work up a bit of a sweat walking there (a few decent hills), but it really is only 10 mins of walking and you essentially have your own private beach to explore.
Would recommend stocking up on some fruit, snacks and juice/pop/alcohol at the Mega mart (shuttle stops there on the way into Sayulita when you arrive), a few more options and a little cheaper than the stores in Sayulita.
We stayed in La Vista for 4 nights and the garden room for 2 nights. Loved both, I think we preferred La Vista because of the view and 2 balconies which have a great breeze at night.
We also fell in love with their dogs, and had a hard time not taking one home with us.

Overall would definitely go back, this B&B offers a quiet and relaxing getaway, however the hustle and bustle of Sayulita is only a 10 min (bumpy) drive away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosaleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I travel to Mexico every year and this was my first time coming to Hacienda de la Costa! I have to say this was the most beautiful and amazing place I have ever stayed in my entire life!! Steve and Terri are the bests host you could ever ask for.Terri's meal were so incredible! She used all beautiful fresh ingredients and prepared something new for us every morning, her Crepes Azteca are to die for! With the pool and the beach right at your finger tips it was such a relaxing and enjoyable time. The beach is private and a couple of times we were the only people there which was heaven!I was so sad to have to leave and I will definitely be back next year and the year's to follow. The walk into Sayulita was so nice and relaxing and the scenery is beautiful. When you get to town there's plenty of great restaurants and taco stands to try. I also love to shop and found some great boutiques with hand made clothes, and jewelry that made great souvenirs. I'm a huge animal lover and I LOVE the fact that Steve & Terri rescued all of there beautiful fur babies from the streets and have provided a loving home for them. They all made great hosts as well! I travel every week for my job as a Regional Sales Manager and this was by far the most incredible and peaceful place I have ever been in my life. If your looking for a relaxing and beautiful get away I would stay here with out a doubt you will have the best time of your life!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We've traveled to Mexico for years, trying different locations and accommodations. At Hacienda de la Costa we finally found the elusive recipe for a flawless springtime escape. HDLC is a couple miles from Sayulita, one of our favorite Mexican towns -- big enough that there's good shopping and great dining, but without the clutter and hassles you can find in bigger cities. HDLC is sited on a jungle hillside overlooking the Pacific, providing outstanding views and plenty of jungle sounds, a tranquility you often don't find at surf-side retreats. The hosts, Terri and Steve are warm and inviting, and were attuned to the individual needs of each of their guests. The multi-course breakfast is a great way to start the day, but between the view, the sun, and the immaculately maintained pool, there isn't a whole lot of incentive to get the day going in a big hurry. Every one of the hosts' recommendations (for dining, recreation, car rental, etc...) was a five-star provider. We could not have been more satisfied, and plan to return in the years to come.

Room Tip: We described what we were looking for, and Terri found us the perfect room. Trust the hosts and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonecentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Steve and Terri are the hosts of this amazing B&B that is a great place to unwind and enjoy a Mexican vacation away from the crowded resort towns. Terri's hot breakfasts each morning are absolutely delicious and always have a local flair, like her Crepes Azteca. They are the perfect way to start the day, whether you are walking to the almost-always-private-beach for a few hours or taking a car (we relied on taxis on our first visit and rented a Jeep for our second) to explore the town of Sayulita. Steve is always ready to assist you in making reservations with the local boating company or golf course if you want to do something active. We tried Stand-Up Paddle Boarding for the first time and it was a blast! When you come back from your adventure, their beautiful pool is waiting and the ocean view of the sunsets there is amazing!

Room Tip: Los Arboles includes a separate living/dining area and fully equipped kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rblemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayulita
1.6 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#7 of 9 in Sayulita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotelito Los Suenos
Hotelito Los Suenos
#1 of 20 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kupuri
Hotel Kupuri
#5 of 20 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vogue
Hotel Vogue
#6 of 20 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.8 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda de la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda de la Costa

Property: Hacienda de la Costa
Address: Patzcuaro 500, Sayulita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Sayulita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Sayulita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda de La Costa is an adults-only secluded haven offering a spectacular location with ocean views, jungle surroundings and close proximity to secluded beaches. Hacienda de La Costa is an ideal destination for nature lovers, the adventurous and the young at heart. Whether you have your sights set on adrenaline charged activity or you just long for a peaceful spot to unwind and relax, our location within an ecological preserve provides the perfect backdrop for what is truly an “off the beaten path” getaway.Located just two miles from the bustling ocean side village of Sayulita,Hacienda de la Costa enjoys the privacy of an exclusive retreat while the attractions of pueblo life are within easy reach. The romantic natural setting boasts secluded sandy beaches, sun-drenched days and starry nights perfect for making unforgettable memories. With 5 spacious suites, accommodating a maximum of 10 adult guests, tranquility is assured. Complimentary breakfast served poolside with a different entrée each morning in addition to the daily selection of fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda De La Costa Hotel Sayulita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing