We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gift! Regalo del Mar means gift from the sea.. & we agree!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Regalo del Mar Vacation Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Troncones B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We are still enjoying our extremely relaxing getaway to Regalo del Mar. We are thrilled with the Casa Redonda, a beautifully built and elegantly appointed Palapa in the coastal style. Made of exotic hardwoods from the area and topped with the Royal Palm traditional cone shaped roof this bungalow is stunning, like something out of Architectural Digest for beach houses. The furnishings are beautiful artesania from all over Mexico. Bed is comfy and the room is very spacious. There is just enough of a breeze that it remains cool all day. The bath is large and really fun because it is private and yet feels like you are in your own tropical garden. There is a communal kitchen where we make our morning coffee and maybe a sandwich for lunch, but the available restaurants are too tempting and we have eaten out almost every evening. The gorgeous compound has a pool, ocean view from almost everywhere and the constant soft sounds of the waves to sooth away any worries you might have brought with you. Daily walks on the beach and naps in the hammock are part of beach life here. Hosts Beverly & Cam are delightful, warm and welcoming.. do yourself a favor! Come enjoy! Troncones is peaceful, relaxing and safe.. There a locked area in each Palapa for keeping your valuables.. but we have felt completely comfortable here day and night.

Room Tip: We LOVED Casa Redonda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatzcuaroVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2011

It's been about a month since I left this amazing little spot and I cannot stop daydreaming about it. The hanging bed, the waves crashing, the hammocks, the flowers, the rooms...really I could go on and on. But the best part about it were the owners. Bev and Cam have the ability to make you feel at home (but with a better view) and like you are family from the beginning. I have been lucky enough to see some amazing places in this world and this is the first place to give me the feeling of "I have to get back here!"

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiki-mcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I am a retired travel agent and have done my fair share of traveling. Finding this place is one of the best things I've ever done for myself. The grounds are so beautiful with waves crashing right next to the property. The owners, Cam and Beverly, are like family now. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dona1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I recently spent 8 nights at Regalo del Mar in Troncones Mexico. It was the most relaxing and restorative vacation I have ever had. If one is looking for a place to kick back, unwind, play in the surf, walk on the beach, nap in a hammock then this is the place to be. I could go on and about the beautiful rooms (and bathrooms), private, tropical setting and so on but have to say a word or two about the innkeepers, Cam & Bev. They are genuine and kind people, most gracious and interesting loaded with good stories and information, yet unobtrusive and respectful of their guests. I loved Regalo del Mar and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosehippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Regalo del Mar is magical. If you are looking for a place to find complete peace, beauty and serenity, this is the spot. The owners, Bev and Cam, make you feel like family, and Jose is as kind as can be. They only have a few rooms, all beautiful and so comfortable, so if you are lucky enough to find a vacancy there on your trip to Troncones, you'd be a fool to pass this place up!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Every once in a while a place seems to magically appear before your eyes and proceed to fill you with a sense of wonder and awe. Such a destination exists in a time and place called Troncones, Mexico and its best seen from the specific vantage point of the vacation inn of Regalo del Mar. It was then and there that we (my mom and I) experienced the Mexico of old - just like the days when (in the late 1960s) our family would drive from Kansas City to Mazatlan, passing through the towns of Hermosillo and Guaymas en route to the wonderful west coast of Mexico. After wondering if those days and places were a thing of the past, our concerns were instantly cast aside when we entered Troncones and pulled up to Regalo del Mar.

It was in that moment, when we were standing on the lone, dirt road of Troncones, that we first saw the beautiful open-air, elegant, palapa-style rooms designed by someone who knows the land and how to build in concert with it. And the rooms were only surpassed in beauty by the ocean views just 100 yards from the road. The entire place was like a big painting of colors and sounds and we quickly fell to doing what we had hoped and planned to do: read, eat, sleep, beach comb, talk, read, write, sleep, surf, explore, eat, birdwatch, and so and so forth. Regalo del Mar is the perfect place to watch the pelicans diving for dinner or flying in formation and to watch some of the most amazing sunsets we've seen (and we've seen some good ones from the north shore of Kauai to the high deserts of New Mexico).

But none of the aforementioned is of great importance to us if we do not meet and connect with the locals. To us, it's the people that make the places and the people of Troncones were very welcoming while Regalo del Mar's owners, Bev and Cam Gesy, were the perfect hosts. Bev and Cam are those rare people that you meet - and like - instantly. From meeting us at the front gate of Regalo del Mar to sharing their stories over dinner to sharing their love of Mexico, we came away feeling like we had made friends AND discovered old Mexico.

So if a one-road town situated on a five-mile stretch of beach with great food and killer sunsets appeals to you, then get yourselves to Troncones and settle into Regalo del Mar. You will thank yourself early and often.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seaandski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

As return visitors we love the tranquility of a place built by the Canadian hosts for their own retirement. It's like being at home with all the supports you need to be as private or outgoing as you wish.

We can walk 20 minutes to the local limited but expanding village shopping opportunities or prepare our own breakfasts in the shared kitchen with private fridges.

The onsite manager has good english and is readily available.

We stopped looking when we came across this place and see it as a great place from which to launch further travel in Mexico, as our schedule and budget allow.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troncones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troncones hotels
0 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#2 of 8 in Troncones
200 reviews
0 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#6 of 8 in Troncones
16 reviews
0 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#3 of 8 in Troncones
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa Las Piedras
Casa Las Piedras
#5 of 15 in Troncones
59 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
#14 of 15 in Troncones
10 reviews
0 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 9 in Troncones
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regalo del Mar Vacation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regalo del Mar Vacation Inn

Address: Playa Troncones, Troncones, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range: £71 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regalo del Mar ("Gift from the Sea") is an exotic small luxury inn located in the little fishing village of Playa Troncones. Relax in an exquisitely designed private beachfront paradise just 20 km north of Ixtapa on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing