We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Keep Coming Back”
Review of Hacienda Eden

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda Eden
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Our next visit, in January 2011, will be our fourth consecutive time to enjoy Eden and see all of our friends who are returning at the same time.It's almost like a family reunion - there is no better place to relax, enjoy the beach, watch the evening sunset and not even leave the property if you choose since the restaurant and bar is right there.
We live in San Miguel de Allende so the drive to Troncones is easy and safe. Eden is just down the road from Ixtapa ( Miami Beach ) and Zihuatanejo ( Big city) so you can find interesting shops and hotels to visit. The small beach town of Troncones has some fun restaurants and bars and the local residents are friendly, gracious and welcoming.
The staff at Eden is excellent, the rooms are spacious and airy and the beach is clean and safe for swimming. We always book our return visit one year in advance as over 85% of guests return to Eden at the same time year after year. So....if you are interested, don't delay contacting them.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanmiguel6303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

We have been coming to the Eden for the last 4 years. We learned about it in line at the airport in Zihuat, went to visit, and stayed and look forward to coming back on at least a yearly basis. It is a wonderful, 12 room and 4 suite hotel, right on the beach in the northern end of Manzanillo Bay. The rooms are bright and airy, cheerfully furnished with a private deck and ocean view. It is 10 steps to the beach, and maybe another 30 yards to the ocean. You can swim, surf, sunbathe, ride horses or take a tour of the surrounding town, or you can just sit and unwind, and slow down. It is wonderful.
There is a first rate- on premise restaurant and bar which has elegant food at reasonable prices. Most of the time you run a tab, and settle when you leave. Everybody is pleasant and helpful. Ususally, everyone gathers at sunset to watch for the green flash. Many people return each year at the same time, and become good friends. It is a wonderful place, and aptly named. Very charming.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmbrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

This was the third hotel installment in our annual retreat experience to Troncones. All the places we stayed in had totally different character. Eden is the small, intimate boutique experience, the place they write about in Conde Nast Traveler, etc. Eden is set up like a hacienda, the grounds are small but the buildings are set up in such a way as to allow for open spaces filled with golden sunlight and impeccably designed landscaping with lots of flowering shrubs and clinging vines. Lots of artisan tile and archways and touches like this which add to the wonderful ambience of this place.
Despite the close quarters Eden is quiet. The staff are wonderful, there is a husband and wife team and another super helpful woman who run the front office and they are friendly and efficient. They go the extra mile.
Our room was very comfortable with nice updated linens, soft Egyptian cotton, screens on all the windows, though we could have used a mosquito net for the seemingly invisible biters who somehow got to the child every night. A mystery. Lots of citronella spray. One small detail that we wondered about was the toilet inside the shower. It wasn't a big but if you wanted to use the potty after showering it was all soaking wet from the shower. Plenty of hot water though, a commodity we deeply appreciate in Mexico after a long day at the beach.
Eden has internet access, a delicious bbq set up on Sundays, and the crowning glory which is actually separate from the hotel but housed inside of it, is the restaurant. Eden (restaurant La Cocina del Sol) has the best food in Troncones. We adventure out to small local establishments plenty but when we wanted to know we would get an exceptional meal we stayed close to the hotel. Eden also provides boogie boards for the kids, plenty of clean towels. beachfront lounge chairs. The only thing that we missed was having a pool but this was a very minor thing. The ocean in front of the hotel is totally lovely, there were tons of children to play with and a great time was had by all. The rates for room, as well, were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajeramundial2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Eve and Jim are very nice and helpful, as is the chef from LA who fixed 2 raw yoga girls
from la raw cuisine. My friend got sick at another place we eat and stayed yes
we couldnt stay at eden and Eve gave him stuff from her gifty shop. She was cool and he
was happy happy.......

rooms clean but small
shower big and open in bathroom

Kid friendly but i liked it better when they didnt allow them, but its the best cleasnest place to stay on the beach

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelslotsPaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

My husband and I decided to elope to Mexico. We had heard about the hacienda eden from some friends and decided to stay there. It was the Best place to stay there and I couldn't have asked for anything more. Eva and Jim were wonderful, and the other Eva and christian and the restaurant were amazing as well. The place is extremely clean, cozy and relaxing. Being on the beach in front of one of the surf breaks was great, and having a restaurant on site with the best food in the area was great because my husband and i both have big appetites. My husband had gotten sick from another restaurant in the area and everyone at the hacienda eden was so helpful, even making soup and rice so he could feel better! Even the other guests were a great group- we even ended up renting a surf boat with some of them, and stayed in touch after coming back to l.a. We stayed in the bungalow for half the trip, and then moved to one of the actual rooms for the second half- just to see the difference. We love both! If you go to Troncones, don't even think twice about staying elsewhere, the Hacienda eden and our trip was one of the best vacations we've ever had.

Sal and Lele

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sal29h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

Hacienda Eden was such a wonderful experience- I was completely surprised to find such a place after driving through Troncones. It is owned by a wonderful American couple who are laid back, but professional and who make you feel like you are a guest at their house. The rooms are ALL beautifully designed- and the outdoor showers in the beachside cabanas are such a treat!! The restaurant on premise is soo delicious and the service very attentitive. (the chef is a Le Courdon Bleu grad) This hotel could match up to most any luxury boutique hotel anywhere- in fact, it is one of my favorite places I have ever stayed. The only thing lacking is a swimming pool and comfy pads on the beach chairs. The location is on one of the best parts of the beach in Troncones and the water is beautiful. I can't imagine anyone being dissapointed here.

Stayed: March 2007
5  Thank ashmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2007

Eden Beach is at the farther, quieter north end of Troncones and is an absolute jewel. Both Jim and Eva are charming, involved owners with an onsite 4 star restaurant. Their beach had no undertow while we were there and was first rate for swimming or boogie boarking. We spent 5 nights in two different rooms in the main lodge. The rooms are very large, tastefully decorated, and sparkling clean with extra large bathrooms. Although 1 of our rooms had AC, we never needed it because of the high ceilings with fans, great ventilation, and wonderful ocean breezes.

There is a very relaxed, laid back, friendly atmosphere. The restaurant is absolutely first rate with quality, gormet dishes being served by attentive, nice people. We enjoyed watching the sunsets in a hammock next to the beach and then walking back to enjoy a world class/ healthy dinner. An added plus is that walking 10 minutes farther north brings one to a mile long beach with almost no one on it except for a small fishing village.

My wife enjoyed the gift shop and thought very much of the jewelry/ fashion available there.

Amenities - Large, clean, attractive rooms with private patios. Attractive courtyard and landscaping, friendly staff that are actively involved, fabulous location, great swimming beach, 4 star restaurant on premises, gift shop. Shady hammock area next to beach for lounging. Many books in each room. Wireless Internet available. Free use of boogie boards and kayaks. On site parking. Outstanding value!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wanderer1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#2 of 8 in Troncones
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#6 of 8 in Troncones
16 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
567 reviews
17 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
581 reviews
1.5 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#3 of 8 in Troncones
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Eden

Address: Playa Troncones | Manzanillo Bay, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
Price Range: £36 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Eden is a beautiful 14 room hotel in the center of the best swimming beach and the best surf break in Playa Troncones. We are an owner operated business and have been in operation for over 15 years. The hotel is comprised of 6 sea view rooms in the main hotel, each with hammocks and large private porches and a large screened in bedroom; we also offer 4 sea view bungalows, each cabin is directly on the beach, with a sky shower and porch. We also have 4 air-conditioned suites, super deluxe with and extra sitting area and balcony. On the premises you will also find a full service restaurant and fantastic gift shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eden Beach Hacienda Hotel Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing