We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thankful for this little gem!”
Review of Cafe Sol

Cafe Sol
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Troncones
Cuisines: Cafe, Pizza, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The best cafe/sports bar in Troncones. Christian the owner is a master bread baker. The food is terrific ranging from bar snacks to full service.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thankful for this little gem!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were so happy to come upon this place. Wish we had found it in the begining of our trip! Pizza's were a generous size and good price-and the largest size can easily feed 2 people and they are around $15. Quality ingredients and good prices made us keep coming back and service with a smile. They make these amazing chocolate tarts!!! They were so good we took a few back to our hotel room. We didn't have much off of the menu because of discovering it so late but what we did have was really enjoyable to eat. We will definitely go back if we come visit again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CurelyQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    18
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troncones
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“locals favorite”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This place is great for breakfast, lunch or dinner. A locals spot it can can have the feel of an expat bar on any given evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annieheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convivial and great food”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

situated in the village of Troncones, Christian offers not only a restaurant but also a food boutique where you'll be able to buy bread and pastry but not only. Need a bottle of wine for the rest of the evening, it is available also

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sumptuous and delicious”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Amazing restaurant -: sumptuous breakfasts; gourmet dinners; fabulous margaritas; low prices - we kept going back and loved it every time x x x

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank twinkleminkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast, tasty pizza”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We ate breakfast at Cafe Sol almost every morning during our stay in Troncones. The first time we went, it was because it was close to Tres Mujeres, where we were staying. The next few visits were strictly because of the food. The downstairs portion of Cafe Sol is the breakfast spot, with upstairs dedicated to their bar and dinner restaurant. The breakfast menu includes a tasty french toast (made from locally baked bread), pancakes, eggs as-you-like them, smoothies (berry and tropical), fresh-squeezed juices, french press coffee and the amazing "Tocho Morocho," Tocho Morocho is an egg scramble that includes onion, tomatoes, zucchini, potatoes and home-made sausage, all bathed in a green salsa. In addition to their food, Cafe Sol has a free lending library consisting of (I'm guessing) a couple of hundred books. It operates on a take-one/leave one system, so when you finish that paperback, drop it off at Cafe Sol and grab something new. The restaurant is located near the little bridge on the land-side (not the beach side) of the main road.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wheresthebeef_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sol also viewed

 
Troncones, Guerrero
Troncones, Guerrero
 
Troncones, Guerrero
Troncones, Guerrero
 

Been to Cafe Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing