We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hammock, a fresh coconut, the waves---Ahhhhh!”
Review of Casa Ki

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Ki
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Troncones
Reviewed 14 December 2009

I and my family (wife and daughter) have gone to Casa KI in Troncones for about a week in late December for the last 5 years, starting when our daughter was 8, and have taken other family and friends there a couple of times. Our daughter is insistent that we return annually and we are happy to do so. It is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy rural coastal Mexico. Tina and her staff are solicitous but not intrusive and the facilities are comfortable and beautifully landscaped. The beach is sandy with scattered rock outcrops that provide nice tide-pooling opportunities. There are nearby resources for natural history exploration, surfing, and fishing.

Over the years, we have stayed in all of the facilities and found them all immaculate and comfortable. The communal kitchen palapa works well and is the site of varied and delicious breakfasts.

A typical day for us involves a stroll on the beach after breakfast and then relaxing under the palapas, bird-watching, boogie-boarding, and playing in the surf. After watching the pelicans decorating the sunset into the Pacific, we usually eat in one of the nearby inexpensive but good restaurants or take a cab a couple of miles to more elegant but costly places.

If you want to unwind and would rather be woken by a rooster than be kept awake by a disco, this place would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2009

We have stayed at Casa Ki three times and will return for a fourth visit in February 2010. It is perfect getaway from our dreary Pacific NW winters. Tina is a wonderful hostess - and her staff is excellent. Each casita is spotless, with a private bath, patio with table & chairs and hammock and each one is only steps to the beautiful beach of Troncones. Lots of great beachfront restaurants are within walking distance - we never need a car in Troncones. The palapas and lounges on the beach are the perfect place to spend the day reading and watching the pelicans glide over the waves.

We are not really "B&B people," but we find Casa Ki is the perfect place. The communal kitchen where breakfast is served each day is a great place to chat with other visitors, but when breakfast is over we have all the privacy we want to just relax on the beach. The gardens that surround Casa Ki are beautiful and it is really a peaceful, private oasis.

If you are looking for sun, sand, natural beauty and relaxation you cannot go wrong with Casa Ki.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PdxJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Five years of visits to Casa Ki have been the best winter getaway from the Colorado winters. Tina, the on-site manager/hostess, and her staff are superb. Tina is fluent in English and Spanish and can direct you to whatever activity you desire.

The property fronts on the beach, only steps to the ocean. After a morning walk on the beach, you will be treated to a healthy breakfast of fresh fruit, fresh breads, Mexican coffee, juice and cereal; some mornings will feature egg dishes, pancakes, or a Tina Special. Breakfasts are always the place for interesting conversations with the other guests who travel from the U.S. as well as from abroad.

Even though this is a small property, each bungalow is secure and secluded and private because of the extensive gardens and walkways. The detached bungalows feature private covered patios with hammocks, full bathrooms, table, chairs and refrigerator. The fully equiped common kitchen is available for guests to cook meals which may include shimp or fish purchased from the local fish vendor who passes by each morning or fresh lobster (see photo) purchased from divers on the beach nearby. Casa Ki has a library, so that you can enjoy reading on the beach under your own palapa. The kitchen is always stocked with cold drinks, beer included, for a minimal price.

Always a fun walk, go to the little bodegas in the village of Troncones for snacks, basic food items or an ice cream. For a more adventurous walk, take the road to the point where you will enjoy surfers and more beach walking, restaurants, and shops.

Some restaurants have live entertainment, so check with Tina.

As you can see from the photos, there are no "high rises" or crowds on the beach.
For guests needing a "city fix", Zihuatenjo is a short cab ride or for the adventurous, a bus ride away. You really don't need a car while you are in Troncones, so spend that money on some great dining.

Between the location, atmosphere and convenience you immediately feel at home. And, if you REALLY need to know what's going on somewhere else, wireless internet is available!

Nearby facilities include a yoga retreat and excellent restaurants featuring fresh seafood or traditional Mexican dishes all within a short walk on the beach from Casa Ki and all very affordable and delicious.

So pack your shorts, swim suit, and at least one nice shirt for restaurant eating and come to Casa Ki. This resort should be on everyone's "Bucket List." (things to do before you die.)
Eileen

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeenieColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We are starting to pack for our annual stay at the Casa Ki and cannot wait to get back. We found this little gem right after they opened and have been coming there ever since. The Casa Ki is the best value on the entire beach.The rooms are spotlessly clean as is the guest kitchen. They offer a healthy breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt and granola with local Mexican dishes interspersed. The grounds are lushly lanscapped and afford a cool and private respite from the intense sun. Each Casita has its own palapa on the beach equipped with beach lounges and a table and chairs where we frequently enjoy our lunch. The library is wonderfully equipped with excellent reading (I know - I have been feeding it for years!).We really like its convenient location with easy access to the village and a dozen or so restaurant that are a short stroll down the beach. The Casa Ki attracts repeat guests each year who share our same opinion. We book our next year's stay before we leave to come home so we are assured we can have our favorite casista - the Rosa. We highly recommend this place. If you decided to stay here, stop by the Rosa casita for a cold cervesa and friendly conversation! Jo and Van

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldtimersNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

This was our second stay at Casa Ki - back after far too long (first trip was 5 years ago). You know how, when you have a wonderful vacation, you think that you can never go back, because it'll never be as good as that one time? That rule just doesn't apply here. It was even better. We thought about getting a big house down the beach, with a pool, etc., and that might have been nice, but we made the very wise call to return to Casa Ki, and I'm so glad we did. Tina and the staff there are wonderfully attentive to whatever we needed at the moment, be it a connection w/ the beer truck, setting up a fishing trip, or scheduling a massage right on the front porch of the blue bungalow. So relaxing, and now, as I sit here looking at the pale blue sky in freezing cold Portland, Or., I'm already scheming a return trip. Too bad it'll have to wait a year...

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandarin1j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Really lovely if you want to kick back and relax. We have been going for many years, and feel so fortunate that we have been able to keep going back, and find that it has not changed, it is like our home in Mexico! Tina and the staff do an outstanding job keeping the place clean, and the gardens lush.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kkinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

My wife and I flew to Leon, El Bajio, Guanajuato this past July 25 to attend a family wedding in Salamanca, Guanajuato. The following week my wife and I along with my brother-in-law Macario and his family took a very scenic 5 hour drive down to the beaches of northern Guerrero, Mexico. The road trip from Salamanca, Guanajuato to Ixtapa took us through some very beautiful places in the state of Michoacan. I highly recommend taking the toll road although it's a bit pricey, but much safer and shorter of a distance than the old highway. My brother-in-law told me that we were able to shave off over 2 hours of travel on the toll road.

My wife's sister-in-law Adela did some research on the net and she came across Casa Ki. Their website contains very clear info regarding their rates and amenities offered to guests. We felt their prices were a true bargain. Tina and Emur who manage Casa Ki are two very down-to-earth individuals who made us feel very welcome. Tina's parents who built Casa Ki over 18 years ago are some very nice folks from California that have truly built a wonderful place for those looking to get away from all the noise, pollution and clutter that one would expect in Ixtapa or Zihua.

If you enjoy cooking as we do, then you'll love their big Casa Azul with its beautiful, rustic Mexican kitchen. We were very happy to see a fisherman come by the property every morning selling freshly caught red snapper, jumbo shrimp and other seafood at a good price. We highly recommend Casa Ki to anyone looking to enjoy the peace and tranquility of a small town next to a beautiful beach in Troncones, Guerrero, Mexico.

Steve
Art Teacher
Chicago, IL

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vidalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 8 in Troncones
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#6 of 8 in Troncones
16 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 8 in Troncones
389 reviews
12.3 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ki

Address: Troncones Beach | Apdo. 405, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Troncones
Price Range: £36 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Ki 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo, Casa Ki's lush tropical gardens enclose a beachfront 2-bedroom/2-bath main house, 4 private bungalows (one w/a.c.) a fully equipped guest kitchen with BBQ, a palapa, and a well-stocked library and game selection. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Ki Zihuatanejo
Casa Ki Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing