We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dream of the other 11 months”
Review of Casa Ki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Ki
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Central Valley California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The dream of the other 11 months”
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I have spent winter vacations at Casa Ki for eleven of the past twelve years. It is exactly the place to relax, meet interesting people and eat some of the best sea food ever. The place is on a beautiful six mile long beach, with clean and casual cottages at beach edge. The surf and it sounds are wonderful and mind clearing. Owners are kind and considerate, and Tina, the manager is always available to help. The premices are full of flowers and graceful palm and banana trees. The cottages are comfortable and clean. Troncomes is about 15 miles north of Zihuatanejo for more good food and the airport as well as local crafts. Breakfast includes mexican coffee and local fruits. I can hardly wait to go there next month.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    9
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2009

I and my family (wife and daughter) have gone to Casa KI in Troncones for about a week in late December for the last 5 years, starting when our daughter was 8, and have taken other family and friends there a couple of times. Our daughter is insistent that we return annually and we are happy to do so. It is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy rural coastal Mexico. Tina and her staff are solicitous but not intrusive and the facilities are comfortable and beautifully landscaped. The beach is sandy with scattered rock outcrops that provide nice tide-pooling opportunities. There are nearby resources for natural history exploration, surfing, and fishing.

Over the years, we have stayed in all of the facilities and found them all immaculate and comfortable. The communal kitchen palapa works well and is the site of varied and delicious breakfasts.

A typical day for us involves a stroll on the beach after breakfast and then relaxing under the palapas, bird-watching, boogie-boarding, and playing in the surf. After watching the pelicans decorating the sunset into the Pacific, we usually eat in one of the nearby inexpensive but good restaurants or take a cab a couple of miles to more elegant but costly places.

If you want to unwind and would rather be woken by a rooster than be kept awake by a disco, this place would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We have stayed at Casa Ki three times and will return for a fourth visit in February 2010. It is perfect getaway from our dreary Pacific NW winters. Tina is a wonderful hostess - and her staff is excellent. Each casita is spotless, with a private bath, patio with table & chairs and hammock and each one is only steps to the beautiful beach of Troncones. Lots of great beachfront restaurants are within walking distance - we never need a car in Troncones. The palapas and lounges on the beach are the perfect place to spend the day reading and watching the pelicans glide over the waves.

We are not really "B&B people," but we find Casa Ki is the perfect place. The communal kitchen where breakfast is served each day is a great place to chat with other visitors, but when breakfast is over we have all the privacy we want to just relax on the beach. The gardens that surround Casa Ki are beautiful and it is really a peaceful, private oasis.

If you are looking for sun, sand, natural beauty and relaxation you cannot go wrong with Casa Ki.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PdxJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Five years of visits to Casa Ki have been the best winter getaway from the Colorado winters. Tina, the on-site manager/hostess, and her staff are superb. Tina is fluent in English and Spanish and can direct you to whatever activity you desire.

The property fronts on the beach, only steps to the ocean. After a morning walk on the beach, you will be treated to a healthy breakfast of fresh fruit, fresh breads, Mexican coffee, juice and cereal; some mornings will feature egg dishes, pancakes, or a Tina Special. Breakfasts are always the place for interesting conversations with the other guests who travel from the U.S. as well as from abroad.

Even though this is a small property, each bungalow is secure and secluded and private because of the extensive gardens and walkways. The detached bungalows feature private covered patios with hammocks, full bathrooms, table, chairs and refrigerator. The fully equiped common kitchen is available for guests to cook meals which may include shimp or fish purchased from the local fish vendor who passes by each morning or fresh lobster (see photo) purchased from divers on the beach nearby. Casa Ki has a library, so that you can enjoy reading on the beach under your own palapa. The kitchen is always stocked with cold drinks, beer included, for a minimal price.

Always a fun walk, go to the little bodegas in the village of Troncones for snacks, basic food items or an ice cream. For a more adventurous walk, take the road to the point where you will enjoy surfers and more beach walking, restaurants, and shops.

Some restaurants have live entertainment, so check with Tina.

As you can see from the photos, there are no "high rises" or crowds on the beach.
For guests needing a "city fix", Zihuatenjo is a short cab ride or for the adventurous, a bus ride away. You really don't need a car while you are in Troncones, so spend that money on some great dining.

Between the location, atmosphere and convenience you immediately feel at home. And, if you REALLY need to know what's going on somewhere else, wireless internet is available!

Nearby facilities include a yoga retreat and excellent restaurants featuring fresh seafood or traditional Mexican dishes all within a short walk on the beach from Casa Ki and all very affordable and delicious.

So pack your shorts, swim suit, and at least one nice shirt for restaurant eating and come to Casa Ki. This resort should be on everyone's "Bucket List." (things to do before you die.)
Eileen

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeenieColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We are starting to pack for our annual stay at the Casa Ki and cannot wait to get back. We found this little gem right after they opened and have been coming there ever since. The Casa Ki is the best value on the entire beach.The rooms are spotlessly clean as is the guest kitchen. They offer a healthy breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt and granola with local Mexican dishes interspersed. The grounds are lushly lanscapped and afford a cool and private respite from the intense sun. Each Casita has its own palapa on the beach equipped with beach lounges and a table and chairs where we frequently enjoy our lunch. The library is wonderfully equipped with excellent reading (I know - I have been feeding it for years!).We really like its convenient location with easy access to the village and a dozen or so restaurant that are a short stroll down the beach. The Casa Ki attracts repeat guests each year who share our same opinion. We book our next year's stay before we leave to come home so we are assured we can have our favorite casista - the Rosa. We highly recommend this place. If you decided to stay here, stop by the Rosa casita for a cold cervesa and friendly conversation! Jo and Van

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldtimersNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2009

This was our second stay at Casa Ki - back after far too long (first trip was 5 years ago). You know how, when you have a wonderful vacation, you think that you can never go back, because it'll never be as good as that one time? That rule just doesn't apply here. It was even better. We thought about getting a big house down the beach, with a pool, etc., and that might have been nice, but we made the very wise call to return to Casa Ki, and I'm so glad we did. Tina and the staff there are wonderfully attentive to whatever we needed at the moment, be it a connection w/ the beer truck, setting up a fishing trip, or scheduling a massage right on the front porch of the blue bungalow. So relaxing, and now, as I sit here looking at the pale blue sky in freezing cold Portland, Or., I'm already scheming a return trip. Too bad it'll have to wait a year...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandarin1j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sherry-Netherland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Really lovely if you want to kick back and relax. We have been going for many years, and feel so fortunate that we have been able to keep going back, and find that it has not changed, it is like our home in Mexico! Tina and the staff do an outstanding job keeping the place clean, and the gardens lush.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kkinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
192 reviews
14.9 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
545 reviews
11.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.4 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#3 of 10 in Troncones
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ki

Property: Casa Ki
Address: Troncones Beach | Apdo. 405, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Ki 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo, Casa Ki's lush tropical gardens enclose a beachfront 2-bedroom/2-bath main house, 4 private bungalows (one w/a.c.) a fully equipped guest kitchen with BBQ, a palapa, and a well-stocked library and game selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Ki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ki Zihuatanejo
Casa Ki Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing