We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”
Review of Orbe's

Orbe's
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our first visit was so much fun, Orbe is a character and the food was delicious. Our second dinner the service was lousy and the food so-so. He does make a mean Margarita!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kathcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“I would never have imagined!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Orbe's is tiny and very rustic, in the center of Troncones town. The food is unusual and thoughtfully prepared. I had aquachiles, which I did not know what was, and Orbe wanted to be sure I understood that it was a very light dish. Spicy fish, almost like ceviche, and very delicious.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank OutofKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun restaurant, good food”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Orbe's is a great restaurant filled with tasty food and interesting characters. The food is very fresh and Orbe will veer off the menu if you want something particular. We went back several times and always had a fantastic meal.

Orbe is also a great guy. One night when his restaurant was closed, Orbe saw us walking on the street, stopped his car, and took us to his mother's restaurant for dinner. It was fantastic!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jascholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
encinitas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hungry for burgers?”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

You don't usually get good burgers in this area, but THEY ARE HERE. Also chile rellenos and seafood. Go try it. Very humble place but great food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tracy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro del lago Atitlan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Watch out for Orbe”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Orbe will scam you if you let him.

The food was nice, and Orbe is a jolly man. In fact his place came recomended to us by a friend.
But note this ASK FOR THE PRICE OF EVERYTHING first.
Food menu, if he doesn´t just tell you, has no price listed, and food cost was a touch high.

THE PROBLEM: Orbe will rip you off offering Mezcal, or other such add ons after the fact. He OFFERED us some Mezcal. "Here, you have to try this", then poured Mezcal from a coca-cola bottle. It was nothing special. "here have another you two", andpoured one more against our resistance...
You can imagine our surprise when the bill came and there were 4 shots of Mezcal listed at nearly 60pesos EACH. This almost trippled the price of our otherwise acceptably priced meal.
We argued but the Jolly man was suddenly less Jolly. WE would have just walked out, but were there with a guy who lived in town, and Orbe would have held it against him.

I´ll never go back. You can make your own decision. But if you go, remember to ASK FOR THE PRICE OF EVERYTHING, he isn´t offering it as a friend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orbe's also viewed

 
Troncones, Guerrero
Troncones, Guerrero
 

Been to Orbe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing