We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hidden gem”
Review of Abadia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abadia
Ranked #15 of 15 Troncones B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from my first week at Abadia and am already trying to figure out when I can get back there. The staff is amazing, the facility is nice, and the location is perfect. We had great surf and a lot of fun exploring the surrounding towns. The owner, Jill, couldn't be more delightful. The pool and hammocks are awesome and the food is superb. I can't say a negative thing about it - my only regrets are not finding it earlier and not staying longer. I'm definitely heading back there soon and highly reccommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Courtney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
There are newer reviews for Abadia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

When we first arrived at Abadia we were taken up to our room where the big beautiful double wood doors were opened to overlook....paradise! From our bed we were able to enjoy every sunset, palm tree and crashing wave. After a very busy and crazy 2013 we just wanted to unplug. We never expected to unplug like this. No phone or cell (expected) no watches or clocks, no shoes, and no money (because we could run a tab for the week) When you don't have to keep track of keys, money, phones, shoes etc....it all becomes very mellow. Our food was amazing, Victor is a very talented chef. Shrimp ceviche, fish tacos, beautiful salads, and I could go on and on. Our bartender was the greatest guy. Kind, quiet and ready to keep us hydrated! :) The owner of Abadia - Jill is so wonderful and sweet and she makes sure you are getting all that you want and need. There is only 6 rooms, which means it's not crowded. The water is warm, the waves are awesome, the pool is delightful! This place is off the beaten path and worth the trek away from the big cities. I think the best part, is that everyone who was staying there, at the same time we were there, had stayed at Abadia many times before. Always a good sign. We will be back!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms better view, bottom floor rooms are bigger for familes
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Ten years of staying at Abadia is testament to our love of this place, the excellent staff, location, and the amazing time we always have when we visit. Abadia is our home away from home. The place we relax and are sure to have a great holiday. No trip here is ever exactly the same and always welcomes us with new memories and adventures. This is the number one place to be by the beach, with friends, surf, laugh, relax, surf some more, swim (in the gorgeous pool), siesta, and eat yummy Mexican food – what more can you ask for in life?! We have seen whales from Abadia’s balconies, surfed with dolphins, celebrated the new year, caught and eaten fresh fish with Ramon, seen turtles, wild horses, ridden donkeys, and enjoyed long strolls on the beach. Jill is the most brilliant of hosts and her staff, especially Victor, Cecilio, and Veridiana, are the best. Friends and family have joined us and similarly raved about this little piece of heaven. Abadia’s rooms are spacious and each one is decorated in its own unique way. All the bedrooms have outside areas with hammock and a couch to read, chat, or take an oft needed siesta. The food at Abadia is absolutely delicious and if necessary the chef Victor will make a dish upon request. Beers are always on hand, cold, and much appreciated after a great surf session, and the pina coladas make the perfect afternoon or pre-dinner cocktail. It is easy to go to a local restaurant in nearby Majahua or Troncones when wanted, and the locals are always friendly and welcoming. This area of Mexico is a little piece of paradise and Abadia the very best place to stay!!! We love Abadia and are always looking forward to when we can go back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shantel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband and I spend 3 months a year in Zihuatanejo. During those 3 months, we choose to spend time at the Abadia, just a few minutes from Troncones. It is truly paradise on earth. What's not to love? A beautiful beach; a nearby estuary teeming with a variety of birds; gorgeous grounds with a lovely pool; and fabulous food, service and accommodations. Owner Jill Hausner is the perfect host. We are anxious to return this winter

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan and Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troncones hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#3 of 10 in Troncones
14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tronco Bay Inn Resort
Tronco Bay Inn Resort
#14 of 15 in Troncones
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadia

Address: Playa Majahua | 20 miles north of Zihuatanejo, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range: £74 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abadia is a very special place... nicknamed "THE ABBY," Abadia is a secluded, beachfront bed and breakfast, located about 4 miles north of Troncones in Guerrero, Mexico (approx. 20 miles from Ixtapa). With its unique architecture symbolizing an old Mexican mission or "Abby," formally known as an "Abadia," this beautiful home was built in memory of our Grandmother, "ABBIE DELL." Our unique casa has five spacious rooms for rent, each with its own private bath and terrace. All rooms overlook our 25 meter pool as well as the ocean. We have no TV.s and no telephones. The tropical setting of "The Abby" is a perfect place to come and relax. Massages available in your room. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel like they are at home. We serve wonderful fresh foods.Our beach provides safe swimming, boogie boarding, surfing at Boca, sport fishing, beach combing and great bird watching (one guest saw 107 different species). We provide special rates for large groups as Abadia is ideal for family reunions, weddings, business retreats and seminars. We are happy to customize any vacation per our guests needs. Our little hidden paradise is a must to visit. We hope to welcome you to Abadia in the near future! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing