We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9.95 From the California Foothills Guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Wanting to get away from everything and knowing that our vacation dollars could go further in Mexico when compared to other places, we chose the Inn @ Manzanillo Bay after researching sites as this and reaching out for information. So, base on a friend's recommendation we flew into Ixtapa which is then just ~40 minute drive north from the airport. This turned out to be a great decision! My only other previous trip in Mexico was from SDSU to Ensenada for an overnight stay and my wife's was a week in Cozumel. What a delightful surprise! Once dropped off in the parking area we walked into a Tropical Oasis! Wonderful bungalows surrounding an inviting swimming pool and meticulously manicured gardens, all within ~100 yards of the beach! We had #2, and slept so well with the rolling surf sounds at night. When on vacation to unknown places, one often worries about places to eat and quality of the food. No Worries here. Exceptional meals, breakfast, lunch, dinner, and deserts are served at your convenience, made to order, not to mention the full bar service with always COLD beer (the weather can be quite warm)! As our 2 favorite foods are Mexican and Sushi, we were thrilled by the menu choices. The owner's method of cooking Chili Relleno is by far the best I have ever had! The other favorite of ours was the seared Ahi Tuna salad, perfection! The staff is exceptional as well, always promoting an atmosphere of being guests at Their House! Although this was our first time there, it will NOT be our last as it is now on the short list!

Room Tip: #2!!! great ocean view and slightly set back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 9Corner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

This is probably our 12th visit to the Inn at Manzanillo Bay and we are already planning for lucky 13! Just read the last three reviews and while I echo everything the first two had to say, I was disappointed to read from a travel agent that she apparently expects to be fawned over. That's not what this place is about! This is a casual, relaxed beach hotel where pretentious is not a word. From my observations, the owner and manager are friendly and helpful to all. I have seen him behind the bar cooking and have been have been served both food and drink by both of them. I see them mingle with other guests and even saw them having a drink with some. This time we went with a couple who like us, enjoy wine and champagne. We sent an email earlier asking if they have champagne so we could start our days with a mimosa. The response was, "Yes, and I can get more!" Belem in the kitchen speaks fluent English and is warm and accommodating. Food continues to be top notch- don't miss the pineapple ice cream- served in an actual pineapple- stunning presentation! Still love the Oaxaca burger and the seared ahi salad was fabulous! And of course-the margaritas are the best on the beach- and from what we tasted in town, the best around! We'll be back!

Room Tip: All are great- rooms 1 and 8 are ocean front but you can hear the waves no matter where you are and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IworktotravelCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Booked this trip on Zozi.com for my boyfriends birthday and it was exactly what we were looking for. Great little beach bungalows (just 10) around the pool and overlooking the beach. Almost has a Bed and Breakfast feel. You see/meet talk with other guests while having meals or just walking by. We really enjoyed the food and we didn't hold back. It averaged abou $80.00 per day. Part of our 'deal' was surfboards, kayak, or paddle surfing. I was lazy and enoyed reading on our huge patio listening to the waves so I didn't indulge, but my boyfriend took the Kayak out.

Staff was great, room was great, beach was great... no complaints from this So. Cal Girl.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8. Closest to the Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This place is a hidden gem! Tucked away on a quiet beach front cove, the Inn welcomes its guests to an oasis of peace and comfortable relaxation! The bungalows are perfectly staggered so that every view from every hammock/patio is fantastic! The beds couldn't be more comfortable and the staff couldn't be friendlier!

As if that weren't enough, their kitchen serves up the best breakfast, seafood dishes, and margaritas in Mexico! Don't leave without tasting the owner's privately labeled Big Boy Tequila - and take a bottle home with you too. If you're nice, he'll also share his secret margarita recipe! Also make sure to order the lobster and coconut ice cream for dessert!

This place is a treasure and I can't wait to go back!!! I've heard they have incredible live music and tequila tastings on Tuesdays - so next time I'll be sure not to miss that!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jodymariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

As another traveler mentioned, there was sadly an unwelcome vibe, or translated to: you're just another dollar sign not a guest. My husband and I made several attempts at engaging the owner and manager, alerting them that we are travel agents and frequent travelers whose opinion is heard often. It didn't seem to phase anyone. Ok. We're no more special than anyone else, but wouldn't you think a little effort at best behavior would be human? Nope. Sadly the 'vibe' outweighed the quaintness and charm of the entire place. It's truly an amazing spot with adorable bungalows, but one needs to have good atmosphere all around to relax and truly enjoy. The details on grounds are well done and thought out. The housekeeping and wait staff are lovely and helpful. But be ready to be upsold at every turn; one can only guess they are prompted by owners to do so? Shouldn't be that there are only a handful of bungalows that stay quite full so no one needs to care about their guests since there will always be more? Hmmm. We paid a bit more than others occupying the same accommodations and we didn't mind as everyone finds their own rates, but the attitude again of owner/managers in this regard left much for want. Perhaps one day she will recognize the importance of customer care and put forth a constructive campaign. Shouldn't be too hard since most of the staff are exempt of this complaint and it resides on the upper branches. La Pasado del los Raqueros Hotel just a stone's throw down the beach is a most fantastic best option over The Inn. Go see Hans at Raqueros, what a refreshing, everything you are looking for, welcome! Ironically, he was referred by the owner at Inn at Manzanillo. Will try again one day perhaps but not before the 'vibe' has lifted.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lmjarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

spent a day here and found the place to be lovely the setting serene the food was okay and perhaps a little pricey but highly recomend the mole burger ..looking forward to a return visit. the hotel owners were extremely cordial

Room Tip: all rooms are great there are a couple of rooms with a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank horseshoeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Considering the options in the area, this is a nice place to stay with your significant other. The accomodations are clean and comfortable, the food is good (not great) and the staff works non-stop to make sure the pool, garden and beach area are impecable.
But don't expect the point break in front of the hotel to produce good surf (you're lucky if it does).
Most of the time you'll be glad you went looking for better waves in a radius of 45 minutes by car.

Room Tip: No big differences, all apartments are pool-side. But closer to the beach is better for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani_Cera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
11.5 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 22 in Ixtapa
669 reviews
16.6 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
549 reviews
13.1 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#3 of 10 in Troncones
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Manzanillo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Manzanillo Bay

Address: Playa Troncones, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#4 Family Hotel in Troncones
Price Range: £108 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Manzanillo Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most pristine beach area of Troncones, 20 minutes to the tourist centers of Ixtapa / Zihuatanejo. Excellent swimming, snorkeling, fishing, surfing and the region's finest food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Manzanillo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Manzanillo Bay Hotel Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing