We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My friend and I had heard that Troncones and the Inn at Manzanillo Bay would be the perfect place to relax for our vacation. It did not disappoint! The vibe is great - you feel no obligation to do anything except exactly what you want to do. For us, this included reading with a view of the ocean, eating the great food at the Inn, swimming, going for walks on the beach, wandering around town, taking some surf lessons, SUPing, and watching the surfers at Troncones point. It is truly a magical place - we even were lucky to witness a turtle release at sunset! Troncones is a great place to visit for people like us who don't like the contrived feel of all-inclusive resorts and prefer authentic people and experiences.

Belem, the manager at the Inn, is responsible for making our experience so amazing. She is incredibly friendly and welcoming, getting to know each of the guests and their needs. It was our first time in Troncones and she made us feel very comfortable. Our stay at the Inn would have been good regardless, but under Belem's care it was EXCEPTIONAL.

In addition to relaxing we were keen to try the surf in the area. We are beginners, but were able to find a great instructor (Mike at ASI surf - highly recommend - http://www.isamexico.com/) and a mellow spot to practice our skills.

There is also a great photographer in the area for hire - William Mertz (http://williammertz.photography/) who takes shots of surfers at all skill levels. He snapped some great pics of me and my friend trying out the waves at Saladita (a good spot for beginners). Highly recommend his services for anyone wanting surf or wedding pics.

Definitely will visit Troncones and the Inn at Manzanillo Bay again! Just not soon enough :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VBorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    30
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
111
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was the perfect spot for us...small, quiet and secluded, and right on a surf break! Belem took great care of us, and the entire staff was very gracious and accommodating to special dietary needs. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAJ481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked our first week at the Inn and a second week on La Ropa beach, Had we known the difference in the accomodations and the people we would have stayed at the Inn for the two. Our first experience was with Belam and the incredible staff as they greeted us like long lost friends. The laughter and the way they were together we knew we were in for a real treat.The rooms were comfortable ( bed a little hard ) and the way they were situated with pool and ocean view made getting out of bed each day all the more appealing.I can't say enough about the food, drinks, cleanliness and all round support from the staff. We met some amazing people from all around the world. And with only 10 rooms total it felt like being with family.
Mike, Winn please note how lucky you are to have Belam. Her smile and how sincere and caring she is to all she encounters must really help with repeat business. I know we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

What a spot. Very relaxing, very clean, friendly staff, and good food and drink. The beach is nice to walk on, sunsets lovely, and there's WIFI. No TVs or phone, but then it's so peaceful and a great place to "unplug". The roof has openings on the ends to better hear the surf. Anyone giving this place a bad review shouldn't travel at all. I thought the price very reasonable.

Room Tip: Numbers #1 and #8 are right on the beach. #5 is near the restaurant, good to know if you want to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I, along with another couple enjoyed the Inn at Manzanillo Bay in February. We had been several times before but it was our friends' first time. For years they had listened to us rave about the magic of the place and how the second you walked into the reception area, ordered a margarita (the best on the beach by far!) and some totopos (chips and guacamole) you were immediately on vacation, no matter how long the plane ride or how many airport delays you endured. This year, they finally were able to come with us. We stayed in the beach bungalows (there are eight of them, all facing the ocean, all with charming little patios complete with hammocks and cushioned lounges). Rooms are very comfortable, bed not too hard, not too soft, and the ceiling fan was the perfect accompaniment to the lull of the waves each night. In the morning we enjoyed taking our coffee down to the beach chairs and watching the surfers, pelicans and various crew of beach dogs frolicking on the sand. Eventually, our stomachs would start to protest this laziness and we would meander up to the open air restaurant for some breakfast. My favorites are always the chilaquiles and the huevos rancheros, while my husband enjoys the Surfers Special of waffles, eggs and fruit. Days were spent lounging on the beach chairs with a good book or playing games at the beachside tables. Restaurant orders were taken there so we were never without food or drink- did I say the margaritas are killer? Evenings found us on the beach admiring the sunset over the point and then back to the restaurant for dinner. I love the Oaxca burger and the coconut shrimp while my husband always goes for the specials. This time his favorites were the lobster and the barbecued baby back ribs which literally did fall off the bone! Oh- and the ice cream! Coconut or pineapple- both served in the hollowed out shell, garnished with greenery and a flower- a delicious presentation! One of the nights we were there was Tequila Tuesday, a first for us. I was afraid it was going to be loud and annoying but was pleasantly surprised. While the restaurant was full, there was a guitarist playing soft music in the background while people ate and enjoyed sipping flights of tequila (3 different kinds, one being Mike's (the owner) Big Boy tequila). We are more wine drinkers for dinner (of which there was some good Chilean wine) but our friends shared the tequila flight and pronounced them all quite smooth. The grounds and the pool are beautifully landscaped, lush with bougainvillea and palms with the occasional iguana scampering by. A yoga deck is currently being built right on the ocean- would also be a great place for a wedding! Mike is personable and very friendly, was always stopping by our table or chair to say hello and see how we were doing. Winn and Belem are also so helpful and go out of their way to make sure we had everything we wanted. Having said all this….we have already booked our trip for next February!

Room Tip: All bungalows have ocean views. Rooms 1 and 8 are closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IworktotravelCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolinas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Belam, the manager could not have been more wonderful! And the inn, location, waves were perfect. Loved the ceiling fan with it's great speed and the staff's impeccable service. Bed was the most comfortable I've had on any surf trip, both near and far. The restaurant had great food and the beach chairs located in the sweet shade offered a perfect view of the break making checking the surf such a pleasant treat, but be careful, you may just be lulled to sleep by the peace and quiet and soothing sound of the surf.

I'm already planning my return. Thanks Belham! The inn is lucky to have you!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twowhitewaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield Park, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This was our third year visiting Troncones and our third year of having a delicious dinner at The Garden Restaurant at The Inn at Manzanillo Bay. It was no accident we found this place as it was recommended to us on our first visit by friends who have been coming for years to the area. They actually make the trip from Zihuatanejo each year just to have dinner at The Garden. This year had some nice surprises for us. We are four people and love to order different items and share. We started with appetizers of Shrimp Quesadillas and Thai Shrimp Tacos. The quesadillas have mushrooms, cheese and of course plenty of shrimp. The shrimp tacos are rolled tacos done with a flour tortilla, fried and served with a fantastic spicy soy dipping sauce. One of the things that makes this place stand out is the variety of the menu. They have their takes on some great Mexican foods, but also offer a nice variety of other things. My favorite has been the Barbeque Ribs and this year they certainly didn’t disappoint me. Fall off the bone tender with a sauce to die for. I always substitute French fries for the rice and vegetables and get a little sauce on the side to dip my fries. My spouse had the daily special. That was the “Nice Surprise”. They now have specials almost every day. Our server explained that sometimes it was the fish of the day but today it was Coconut Shrimp. If you have ever visited this part of Mexico you know Coconut Shrimp is a staple on almost every menu, and there is an equally large number of ways it is prepared. The Garden does it superbly. Not to sweet, plenty of coconut, HUGE shrimp and a dipping sauce of some kind of citrus, a welcome change from the overly sweet coconut cream some places have. It came with rice and a mix of vegetables, mostly peppers and zucchini. Our youngest son, the least adventurous of the group, had a burger and fries. The burger was cooked perfect. We find that down here many places grill their burgers beyond recognition. Topped with cheese and bacon and a pile of crispy fries, he was right in his element. Our older son had the Chile Relleno. Again, another of those menu staples around here. The one they make is just the right spicy, stuffed with a mix of cheese and potato topped with sour cream and a red sauce. Just different enough to be special. I would be leaving out two of the best parts if I didn’t mention the Margaritas (best I have had) and dessert. Coconut Ice Cream served in a half of a coconut shell. A great end to a great evening. We found ourselves already making plans for our visit next year. If only we had more than a week to spend here…

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank elisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.8 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
37 reviews
11.5 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
665 reviews
16.6 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
132 reviews
137.7 mi away
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
#13 of 15 in Troncones
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Manzanillo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Manzanillo Bay

Property: The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
Address: Playa Troncones, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#4 Family Hotel in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Manzanillo Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most pristine beach area of Troncones, 20 minutes to the tourist centers of Ixtapa / Zihuatanejo. Excellent swimming, snorkeling, fishing, surfing and the region's finest food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Manzanillo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Manzanillo Bay Hotel Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing