We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Troncones Point Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I wish I lived there! The property is flawless and Tom & Irlanda are great hosts. I highly recommend a visit to the area and this is definitely the place to stay while you are there. Nothing beats a nap in one of the hammocks after a full day of surfing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Super nice and well maintained grounds, a really lovely place. It has all the benefits of staying in a hostel without any of the drawbacks - it's the perfect vibe. Very clean! The owners are great and super friendly. Would recommend this place to anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Troncones Point Hostel is one of the loveliest places I have ever stayed in years of travelling around the world. It is quiet, immaculately clean, and beautifully created with a mix of different kinds of accommodation, a lovely communal area and kitchen, hammocks strung throughout the garden and thoughtful small touches such as fresh flowers in the rooms. The owners, Tom and Irlanda, are so welcoming, you feel like you are in their home. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Go, and stay for a long time. You'll love it!

Room Tip: For couples, the room with kitchenette and balcony and hammocks on the first floor is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaTurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I've traveled for six years straight and this is without a doubt the best hostel I have ever stayed in. *Attention to detail is second to none.
*Location is perfect overlooking an incredible right hand point that is often uncrowded.
*The owners and staff are so welcoming, helpful and part of what makes this the best hostel in the world.
*I stayed in the dorm and also in the ensuite double with the huge balcony. The double was a self contained unit with fridge, cooker and all utensils including a smoothie maker.
*The shared kitchen / lounge with 270 degree views was 5 star. You can also see the wave reel down the point from there.
* My girlfriend is a non surfer and loved it too. Lots of great places to eat and explore in Troncones.
* The only thing we didn't do was stay longer. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: There is shallow swimming hole out the front of the point that is protected when the surf is up. Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great hostel, perfectly located at the sea. Very clean place, big rooms with lots of possibilities to store your stuff and nice commun rooms (huge kitchen, couches, hammocks). The hostel owners are superfriendly and helpful.
I never planned to go to Troncones, just had enaugh of Mexico City and wanted to relax somewhere at the sea in my last two days of my trip. However I ended up in Troncones and it was one of the best places I have eben in Mexico, which is also the contribution of Irlanda and Tom and their beautiful hostel, thank you so much!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We originally stayed for one week, but decided to stay longer. The owner, Tom and his wife Irlanda are excellent hosts and welcome every person that stays with genuine hospitality. Though the surfing on Punta Pelicanos is a bit tricky with the rocks, Saladita is less than 20 mins north, and if you're looking for something bigger The Ranch is not too far either. Though Tom doesn't have the best selection of boards in town, if you're renting for a day or two, you may save some cash by taking one of his.

I definitely recommend staying in Casa Cielo, not only does it have an amazing upstairs patio, but it also has the best selection of books to exchange or read. Only thing that needs to be improved is the compost toilet... definitely attracted a few flies after a week.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank taylornw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Maybe 25% more expensive than other hostels (so still affordable) but totally worth it and you can cook for yourself. And the owner is sweet. And the place is ridiculously beautiful and clean. Fell in love with it when I saw it. And I am critical about hygiene, price and location for surfing.

Worth the drive over to troncones! When you arrive at the beach, turn right and keep driving.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Marloes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
0.9 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#6 of 8 in Troncones
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 8 in Troncones
197 reviews
11.5 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
436 reviews
13.5 mi away
Casa Kau-Kan
Casa Kau-Kan
#54 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
43 reviews
13 mi away
Ixtapa Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troncones Point Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troncones Point Hostel

Address: Troncones Point, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Troncones
Price Range: £29 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Troncones Point Hostel is the first and only hostel in Troncones. This is a place where you can enjoy contact with nature, surrounded by mountains and the beautiful pacific Ocean. This is a place where you'll find all the luxury of a hotel with hostel prices. We are creating our home together with our guests. We are the community that everybody would like to bump into.Designed to coexist with nature, Troncones Point hostel has tropical landscaping and amazing vistas. It's has natural energy features that support the environment. We utilize a grey water system, and the latest technology in composting toilets. Despite the independence of Troncones, Manzanillo Bay rests only a few paces from the gates so you're never far from the azure Pacific. With a mere 100 feet separating you from the water, there's an endless array of surfing, boogie boarding, swimming, sea kayaking, snorkeling, body surfing, tide pooling and fishing to enjoy at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Troncones Point Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troncones Point Surf Club Hotel Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing