We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of La Mexicana

La Mexicana
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Selah, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“good food”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had the fish tacos Baja style, and they were delicious. The margaritas were good, and the prices even better.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lashel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    22
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Total Surprise - Worth the Effort”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We tried several times to catch this place open for a meal, but were unsuccessful. Finally we got to go for dinner and it was one of the best meals we had on our trip. I don't like badmouthing other places, but it was heads and shoulders above the expensive yoga place across the street. We had a filet of fish with garlic that was perfectly prepared; a traditional Oaxacian (sp?) dish that one person had previously had elsewhere who warned against it, and then loved it when prepared here. All in our party of 6 said it was by far the best food we ate in Troncones. Plus, they made the BEST margaritas of the 7 places we got them (kind of a staple). Must be comfortable with chickens running around in the yard around you. :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelVelasco, Propietario at La Mexicana, responded to this review, 15 January 2016
Google Translation
Muchisimas gracias por su opinion, mas vale tarde que nunca!

Ya estamos trabajando para mejorar, y espero que en su proxima visita sea de lo mejor. Y ahora si estemos abierto todo el tiempo.

De verdad valoro mucho sus comentarios.

Manden un email antes de venir para prepararles algo especial.
Isabel-velasco@live.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved everything”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wonderful person in charge there. Food home cooked in every way authentic tasty not crowded homey. We went there more than any other place. She understands margaritas. Fair prices

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank byrdie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic and Delish!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you are looking for a fancy romantic restaurant, this is not you're place. But...if you're looking for fantastic, authentic food and terrific margaritas, this IS your place! The Chiles Nogales was off the hook. The owners are delightful and we loved this place, wild turkey and all. Not the liqueur, an actual turkey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Knavarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary restaurant with wonderfully fresh regional Mexican food”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

La Mexicana is a lovely open air restaurant run by a charming and talented young woman. Isabel is a most welcoming and fluently bilingual host. On my first visit there, I asked Isabel to recommend some dishes that were particular to that region of Mexico. I had tiritas de pescado for an appetizer and chiles en nogada for the main course. Both were excellent. On my next visit for dinner, I had red snapper, fried with garlic, also delicious. It is also a great place to stop by for a cervesa and some freshly made guacamole- which we did and enjoyed very much.
I look forward to a return trip to Troncones and La Mexicana restaurant. There are definitely more things on the menu I look forward to tasting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judrapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mexicana also viewed

 
Troncones, Guerrero
Troncones, Guerrero
 

Been to La Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing