We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Paradise!!”
Review of Los Raqueros

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Raqueros
Ranked #3 of 15 Troncones B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed there for 7 days and it was fantastic. Lovely accomodations, very clean. Kitchen has all you would ever need. We made breakfast and lunch there, but had dinner out. We
had 2 wonderful dinners at Garden of Eden next door run by Jean who manages Raqueros.
The food and service was great! Had the rest of our dinners in town at some insanely good
local places I wont mention :)

You can rent Stand-Up Paddleboards right on the beach at Raqueros from
Kris or Jim. It is a Paddlers dream. We got so close to whales 3 times amd paddled the nearby
lagoon that looks like something out of pre-historic times. Very unspoiled.

Beach is perfect, and you know what you are doing, not hard at all to paddle out
on a nice sandy beach. few rocks but they can be avoided easily.

We will spend several months there next year.

I highly recommend Raqueros!! Jean is a great host

Rob and Esther

Room Tip: Choose the Pelicanos room right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

The five stars applies only to the hotel. It is absolutely wonderful! It is clean and very beautiful. They have Internet (if you really can't get away from it all). The host are super nice. Everything is very clean and peaceful. Do not get a beach house if you have trouble sleeping with noise as the crashing waves are actually quite loud. Some people love this, don't get me wrong, but it is not a gentle surf. That said, we were not able to do any body surfing at all. The water in front of the hotel is extremely rocky. This changes with the storms. Sometimes the storms bring up lots of rocks. Anyhow, we did find the beach fantastic for sunbathing and just laying around because the actual beach is very smooth.

Troncones itself shuts down at the beginning of May because it is vacation time in Mexico. Meaning that the locals go on vacation (I know, why leave paradise?), and nothing is open. Very few restaurants and no variety of food. Just saying--be prepared. This is in no way a resort town. It is a quiet, sleepy little Mexican town with none of those horrible resort areas.

We won't be back only because we prefer to go to beaches where it's safe to play in the water, but otherwise I recommend this lovely hotel and the sweet, uncomplicated town that it is in.

Room Tip: Close to the beach is very loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansBr, Owner at Los Raqueros, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We would just like to point out that the beach and water 90% of the time is wonderful for swimming and that the rocks experienced by you are very rare. The time that you stayed with us is in the summer time, when the waves on the Manzanillo Break are for very experienced surfers. Also, because of the waves the rocks may have been more exposed to the surface, whereas 90% of the time they are well covered by sand. Hope this provides more insight as we are on the only swimmable beach in entire Troncones. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We've spent 3 days at Los Raqueros and we found the place to be amazing. Jean Pascal (the administrator of the place), was very helpfull, and made our stay very pleasant.
The house we stayed in was lovely, well decorated, and with a nice kitchen outside.
In front of the place, the beach, a beautiful left point break that is perfect to surf.
Thanks Hans, really looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We spent a lovely 5 days here after xmas with our near adult sons and one of their girl friends. The Beaches were terrific and the tour of the local lagoon that Hans set up with a local tour operator was a trip highlight. However, Hans and Angie's hospitality and the relaxed atmosphere that they generate amongst their guests is remarkable. If you a looking for a quiet restful place with a great beach then this is the place for you. Just remember to stock up on pesos before you go as there are no banks are bank machines nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat_Karin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

From the second we arrived we knew we were in paradise. Hans and Angie welcomed us with "mi casa es su casa" and they truly meant it! Any request or question we had was graciously received and handled without question.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, the grounds immaculate, and the beach/bay truly a piece of paradise! We enjoyed the gorgeous sunsets on the beach every night.
There are plenty of activities to keep you busy and many great restaurants within easy reach. We were even serenaded by Hans wonderful music every evening!
We enjoyed every second of our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Another wonderful, quick week at Raqueros. We are always welcomed "home" when we arrive. This is the perfect place to get away and relax. Of course, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orcasgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

A first time visit recommended by a number of friends and for good reason! One of the most beautiful bays and beaches in the world; peaceful and serene; great swimming and sunset watching. This B & B is a bit of paradise for people who prefer an unpretentious, back to nature and elegant environment.The owners are welcoming and caring.
Ask for the pink casita on the beach!

Room Tip: The pink casita or a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharp_honey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troncones hotels
0.2 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
136 reviews
137.7 mi away
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
#11 of 15 in Troncones
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#3 of 10 in Troncones
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tronco Bay Inn Resort
Tronco Bay Inn Resort
#14 of 15 in Troncones
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Raqueros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Raqueros

Address: Calle s/n, Lotte 20 y 21 | Playa Manzanillo, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range: £72 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Raqueros is a lush estate on Manzanillo Bay in Playa Troncones. The property includes a range of different accommodations at affordable prices, from US$75.00 to US$145.00 a night(depending on the time of year). Prices include breakfast, all taxes, daily maid service and access to our cloud based wireless internet system. Los Raqueros is comprised of two bungalows steps away from the water, each sleeps 4 (one king bed and two twins), one bungalow has a beach view and the other a garden view and each has a kitchenette. The main house which enjoys fantastic ocean views has two bedrooms (one king bed each), a full kitchen and huge dining and sitting area. A penthouse apartment which sleeps 4, (one king bed and two twins) with a small kitchenette and a large terrace overlooking Manzanillo Bay. The whole estate can be rented together, sleeping 16, or separately. Los Raqueros is located in Troncones, a small, safe and friendly beachfront community 20 miles north of Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa and 40 minutes from the airport. Getting here is so easy that it's amazing how tranquil the area still is. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing