We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Raqueros

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Raqueros
Ranked #3 of 16 Troncones B&B and Inns
Harrow, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We just returned from our 9th stay at La Posada de los Raqueros. Obviously we love the place. This area of Mexico is a true jewel on the Pacific. Are you are looking for long stretches of sparsely populated beaches, with no jet skis or parasailing? Do you want to follow an oyster diver off of the beach and having them shucked and on your plate within a half hour of them being harvested? Here you will find wonderful friendly local people, perfect weather (not a drop of rain in the 9 years we have been coming in Feb) and long tranquil days, without TV or telephones. If this area sounds good to you then you can't pick a better place to stay than Raqueros. It has to best location in the area, on a beautiful bay, wonderfully landscaped grounds and a great and caring staff. Falling asleep to the sounds of the waves on comfortable beds is just heaven. I can't recommend this place enough. We will be back next year, and the next and the next and.....well you get the picture.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    17
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
76
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Alright, I'm a little biased, but we have been coming to Posada de los Raqueros for the last 10 years, which ought to say something about the property, its management, and the setting in general. With regard to the property: this is a unique place with a common "casa grande" where the daily breakfast is provided, impromptu socializing occurs, and thru which information can be obtained (or services booked) through the very knowledgeable (and friendly) resident manager, Eva. There are two beautiful quartos to rent, a larger, two-story house with all amenities and a kitchen, and two smaller casitas with outdoor kitchens (one of them fronting right on the beach!). Manzanillo Bay is a little jewel of a bay with great swimming, good snorkeling, and a little surf break. Raqueros has a great aspect to it, well-positioned for viewing the sunset every evening with the guests (who quickly become friends). Local vendors come by the property daily with their truckloads of the freshest fruit, vegetables and fish...making it easy to prepare some of your own meals (or banding together with some of your new friends to create a feast for all). The quick walk to the little fishing village of Majahua provides the authentic, small-town dining experiences one comes to Mexico to sample...or you can easily find good food in a couple of restaurants on the beach, just steps away from Los Raqueros.

This is a place to relax, walk, swim...and reconnect. I'll be back for Trip #11!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This time was our second visit to Raqueros. Both times were memorable visits. This most recent time was for a week in January - a pleasant escape from the cold of central Mexico. The genial manager, Eva, met us upon arrival and showed us to our room. She checked back with us to find out about any special wants and to acquaint us with the resort. Eva is an excellent resource for things to do, places to eat, and the like in Troncones. She will make reservations for you at most places you choose to visit.
Raqueros is a wonderful beach front resort. Manzanillo Bay is just outside your door and the beach is incredible. Walks, swims, sunsets! Most guests gather on the beach every day for the sunset and toast the setting sun.
Breakfast is served every day and the kitchen is available for guests to cook their own meals at other times of the day. The fruit and vegetable truck and the fish truck stop by daily. Eating on the large terrazzo in the tropical environment is always a pleasant experience.
If relaxing is big on your agenda this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Single rooms are available as well as separate casitas. Both are great depending on your needs. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our relaxing time began as soon as we arrived in Raqueros. We were shown to the casita "Mariposa" by the very friendly and ever smiling Eva, the resident manager of Raqueros. We were invited to get ourselves organised before we were to come to the beach for the late afternoon ritual of watching the sun go down over the beautiful Manzanillo Bay. "Lord, take me now!" It never gets old. The owner and his wife, Hans & Angie, arranged for a sunset cruise on the catamaran "Picante". What a wonderful experience that was ... another "Lord, take me now" moment. I am already looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

1. Great beach! Raqueros sits on one of Mexico’s finest beaches—Manzanillo Bay. Just a few steps from your room and you are standing in the sand or splashing in the warm waters of the Pacific (water temp in the mid-80s). A beautiful tranquil beach where you can sit beneath a palapa and enjoy the tranquility of this beautiful seashore, lie in the sun, read an entertaining book, watch the pelicans dive.
2. Great swimming and snorkeling! When I look for a beach, I’m looking for warm water, a nice snorkel reef, and great bodysurfing waves. I can’t imagine a better beach for this than you have at Raqueros. I love sitting in one of their lounge chairs, reading for several hours—with breaks every hour either to ride the waves or grab a snorkel mask and swim with the beautiful fishes. The waves at manazanillo bay are perfect for bodysurfing or boogie boarding—strong enough to give you a fun ride to shore but not so strong you get pummeled or pounded. A two-minute walk takes you to Troncones Point where the snorkeling is superb!
3. Great intimacy and quiet! Raqueros is a small inn with only a few rooms and bungalows in a fairly secluded location. The best room by far is Casa de Pelicanos, a two-story bungalow with a inside living room, an outdoor patio with kitchen, and a private beachfront with hammock and lounge chairs. It’s like having your own private paradise.
4. Great dining in and dining out! The Raqueros kitchen also permits you to “dine in,” saving considerable expense on food. (Three of the units have their own kitchen.) Every day the fruit and veggie truck, the fish truck, the bread lady come by and supply your pantry with fresh groceries. A 10-minute walk to Majahua village up the road, and there are little grocery stores (abarotes) for milk, butter, chips, drinks, etc. But there are wonderful eating places up and down the beach—at Hacienda Eden, Tronco Bay Inn, the Inn at Manzanillo Bay (which also has a TV with satellite feed for your favorite sports events), or several bayfront seafood restaurants in Majahua (where I recommend the octopus dishes at Paty and Sergio’s—excellent entrees run about $10).
5. Wonderful beach walks! The beach stretches for miles in either direction--south or north from Raqueros--winding around rocky points, meandering along long sandy shorelines, crossing estuaries, fording streams, coming into towns (Troncones, Majahua, La Salidita), simulating desert islands. A beautiful (and invigorating) way to spend half an hour or the whole afternoon!
6. Romantic sunsets! A tradition at Raqueros is to sit and watch the sun go down. With margaritas our first night, complements of our hostess, Eva! On three successive sundown, my wife and I saw “the green flash”—the instant before the sun vanished beneath the horizon. The beauty of the sunset—waves breaking, shorebirds in flight, the warm evening and cooling breeze, the awesome palette of colors on the water and in the sky—is an inexpressible experience that is intensified when you share it with someone you love.

My wife and I have stayed at Raqueros for five years running. What a beautiful relaxing beginning to every new year.

Room Tip: Best room is Casa Pelicanos--right on the beachfront with a private kitchen and patio. Like being m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_4_the_road_7106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

If tranquillity is what you are looking for……look no further. This place has it!

Eva, the property manager went out of her way to make us feel very comfortable. You can prepare your own meals as their kitchen is open for use but we were very happy to walk next door at Eden hotel for breakfast, lunch and dinners, where she keeps the book for them.

If you are not used to sleeping at night with the waves roaring and crashing, you may not rest as nicely but for us, it was so soothing and relaxing, we never wanted it to end.

The place is clean, fresh, serene and beautifully set right on the ocean that you could easily just walk out to the beach and surf, snorkel, whatever you wish.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rits2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was a great weeklong destination for a group of 9 of us from the cooler December elevations. Friendly Eva made the stay very welcoming and fun from start to finish. Good coffee and toast was offered daily and the kitchen was accessible for our use as well. We had nice warm weather and our senses became tuned to the vistas (including meteors), the surf and salt air, warm water, well-kept tropical grounds, and tranquility. The owners Hans and Ineke were enjoyable to chat with and their wall murals were appealing. Raqueros is a treasure for our memory and it is a terrific choice for these reasons.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyIneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
16.7 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 11 in Troncones
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Raqueros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Raqueros

Property: Los Raqueros
Address: Calle s/n, Lotte 20 y 21 | Playa Manzanillo, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Raqueros is a lush estate on Manzanillo Bay in Playa Troncones. The property includes a range of different accommodations at affordable prices, from US$75.00 to US$145.00 a night(depending on the time of year). Prices include breakfast, all taxes, daily maid service and access to our cloud based wireless internet system. Los Raqueros is comprised of two bungalows steps away from the water, each sleeps 4 (one king bed and two twins), one bungalow has a beach view and the other a garden view and each has a kitchenette. The main house which enjoys fantastic ocean views has two bedrooms (one king bed each), a full kitchen and huge dining and sitting area. A penthouse apartment which sleeps 4, (one king bed and two twins) with a small kitchenette and a large terrace overlooking Manzanillo Bay. The whole estate can be rented together, sleeping 16, or separately. Los Raqueros is located in Troncones, a small, safe and friendly beachfront community 20 miles north of Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa and 40 minutes from the airport. Getting here is so easy that it's amazing how tranquil the area still is. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing