We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Present Moment Retreat
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Great people, food, and atmosphere. If you get a chance to visit their mountain retreat a few hours away, I highly recommend it as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDP458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    22
    3
    11
    10
See reviews for
39
87
124
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I just had a 1 week stay at PMR with family during the christmas holidays!
All I can say is that this places rocks! Not only the quality of the bungalows is exceptional, the food is to die for, but the personal atention by everyone who works there, specially by Tom and Beba, makes you feel you are at home in some secret paradise!
My kids loved the place, we took one Yoga class and we are now thinking seriously to do at least 1 family class per week.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I was lucky enough to stay at Present Moment for 3 weeks this October for it's very first Yoga Teacher Training Course. Aside from the actual course itself being amazing (life changing), staying at Present Moment was a truly special experience. The bungalows are so gorgeous and beautifully crafted, I love the showers (good water pressure) and the grounds are super lovely. I swam in the pool every day, often multiple times a day. The pool and the grounds are very well maintained. Present Moment is just minutes from the Ocean so you can easily go from the pool to the ocean in a matter of minutes.

The yoga deck is unreal, who wouldn't want to practice yoga and stare at the ocean and listen to the waves? Yes, please.

The restaurant....Oh the restaurant. Everything in the restaurant is amazing, including the staff. It is a pretty special feeling to walk into a restaurant and be greeted by first name. Many of the staff even remembered what I would usually order. The Lasi smoothie is my favorite. The restaurant is perfect for a carnivore or a vegetarian. The drinks are also good and they try to make them all as naturally as possible, the margarita is the best.

CJ, the owner, is pure love. If you visit, I hope that she is there so that you can meet her!

I tell everyone I know to go to Present Moment, whether they do yoga or not. Present Moment Retreat is paradise.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Food overpriced. Staff a little pompous, maybe a little spacey? Not what I'd go to Troncones for.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontanaJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natureboy56, Owner at Present Moment Retreat, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Your review states that you stayed with us as a couple; however we have no record of a reservation under your name in November...interesting? The restaurant at Present Moment prides itself on sourcing the finest, freshest local ingredients for our menu selections; therefore our prices may indeed be higher than most. We prefer to offer healthy, delicious and beautifully presented international cuisine rather than the run of the mill Mexican dishes. Our staff is generally adored; and they love their jobs, so it's quite unusual to hear a comment like yours...I'm not sure what to say. Fortunately our clients return again and again, often twice or more daily, to enjoy the breathtaking location, exemplary service and mouthwatering cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

It's like stepping into paradise when you walk through the doors of Present Moment retreat. During my stay I kept repeating in my mind "heaven IS on earth" and I think its because that is how this place makes you feel. Not only are the surroundings breathtaking (imagine palm trees, big beautiful butterflies, sound of crashing waves because the ocean is literally a few steps away) but the staff are out of this world friendly and do everything with so much love. This especially comes out in the food! The food is AMAZING. I just read this previous posting about a peanut allergy incident. I also have severe peanut allergies (I carry an epi-pen as well) and stayed at Present Moment for 3 weeks to do a yoga teacher training course and not once did I have an incident as the staff knew about my allergy. It is important to always ask double check wherever you go but I know they were accommodating my needs so if I could stay there incident free for 3 weeks, that says a lot. Also, I had my MacBook, my expensive camera and other goodies that I left laying around here and there and nothing was stolen and it was the first time..in a VERY long time.. that I felt 100% safe.
SURFERS! There are many waves to be had in Troncones and the surrounding areas like Saladitas (if you happen to like long rides and waves pumping out consistently one after the other). There are some other secret spots that if you ask around, you'll figure it out pretty quick where to go.
Lastly, the locals in Troncones are fantastic. I've been to other parts of Mexico where you feel constantly harassed to give money or buy things.. of course there is still a little of this but I'd say it was about 80- 90% less than what I'm used to in certain areas of Mexico & Central America.
Ok this is really the last thing- the yoga teachers there are also top notch. I stayed for a week after our course ended and was experienced the regular classes. The yoga was great for all levels, holistic and very rejuvenating.

If you're looking for a hidden gem for rejuvenation, self-exploration, yoga, surfing, and friendly faces, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurfBetty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troncones, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

......Stayed in Troncone's for 10 days, ate at all the local spots, delicious food!!!!! 1 meal at Present Moment and it almost killed my wife. She has nut allergies and we specifically told them about it and 30 min after we ate, we had to take epi-pin, hour later and another shot. Hard to find a doctor at 9p, she was up all night with crazy hives and puking . When Tom the owner asked "what are you gonna do about it with a smirk on his face (your wife having allergic reaction? I payed bill and left with intention of kicking his butt tomorrow for being an irresponsible restaurant owner. Worst Yoga class i've EVER taken!!!

Room Tip: Never go to Present Moment!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank king88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natureboy56, Owner at Present Moment Retreat, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
We feel terrible regarding your girlfriend's (not wife's) reaction due to her allergies. At no point prior to your meal did either of you inquire if we included nuts in our recipes. It's true that we do not list every ingredient included in each one of our menu selections; however we do, and always have, accommodate dietary restrictions with pleasure. We believe that the customer has a responsibility to make it clearly known to our staff that they have any pre-existing medical conditions...we carefully take precautionary measures at that point. Our restaurant is an exceptional, 4 star dining experience for 99% of our clients, and we pride ourselves on a high standard of quality and exemplary service. I sincerely asked how does your girlfriend remedy the mistaken ingestion of nuts, and you rushed out without an answer. Within an hour after your departure, you emailed me with a threatening, profanity laced note, filled with non stop abuse (I have the original)...not cool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

this place is absolutely wonderful . . . the accommodations are unique . . . impeccable . . . the personnel is irreprochable . . . was there for 14 days and ate there every day morning and dinner and every single meal was so delicious and the service so friendly and efficient. . . participated in the yoga even though I was a beginner I felt at ease and what about the massages . . . sublime . . . the premises are so beautiful and so well taken care of. . . the place is secluded and very private . . . never felt in danger . . . I would recommend this very special place without any restrictions. . .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoBras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
192 reviews
11.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
416 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#3 of 10 in Troncones
14 reviews
12.7 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,294 reviews
136.3 mi away
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
#13 of 15 in Troncones
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Present Moment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Present Moment Retreat

Property: Present Moment Retreat
Address: Playa Troncones Mz. 21 Lt. 3, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troncones
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#3 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Hotel Class:3 star — Present Moment Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanfront boutique hotel and yoga retreat is situated on a quiet, serene beach in Troncones, thirty minutes up the coast from Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Restore in a gorgeous setting with wellness classes, yoga by the sea, meditation, qigong, dance classes and more. Rejuvenate with our offerings of spa treatments and healing arts. Dine on healthy gourmet cuisine. Take in the local adventures such as sunset horseback riding, eco tours, waterfall hiking, kayaking, surf-yoga excursions, surf lessons, shopping in our boutique, exploring the village and much more. Our loving staff have pleased even the most discerning guests, and are ready to delight you. Our eleven private bungalows are the perfect antidote to the chaos of everyday life. Each unique bungalow is dedicated to one of the values that we hold in the highest regard. Authenticity was imperative in the construction of every inch of Present Moment. Thus, all bungalows have an indigenous palapa thatched roof, hand-crafted in the Mexican tradition, and are furnished with a pillow top queen-sized bed, luxurious 400 count cotton bedding and a canopy of white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Present Moment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Present Moment Retreat Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing