We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great low key vacation spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Present Moment Retreat
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Great low key vacation spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Looking to get off the beaten path? This is a great place to rejuvenate away from city noise, away from cell phones and all you have to do is get pampered with wellness to the sound of waves. A great getaway!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrammybuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    20
    3
    11
    10
See reviews for
38
85
124
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Loved every minute of the week I spent there. Very relaxing. Everything is well done. Relatively close to some incredible surfing locations. Highly recommend PMR.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This review is from the perspective of someone who has no interest in yoga and only stayed here because it's the nicest place on Troncones beach.

Pros:
- definitely the nicest place on Troncones. A couple other options (eg Tres Mujeres, next door) looked nice also, but this one is the star. Beautiful gardens, pool, restaurant etc. One of the nicest beachfront cabin-style places I've seen in Mexico.
- the breakfasts are good
- the staff are all very nice, helpful etc

Cons:
- the cabins are not as private as you may hope. The 'walls' are made of sticks and are kinda see-through. So if you're going for an intimate moment with your other half, or using the toilet, it can feel a bit uncomfortable when one of the gardeners is right there 2m away trimming a hedge.
- on this same point, the cabins can feel a bit noisy. I was woken up a couple of mornings (admittedly at around 9.30-10am) by gardeners sweeping the path outside or scrubbing a Buddha statue etc.

A couple of other points that are neither pros nor cons, just my perspectives:
- the restaurant is good, but I don't think terms such as '5 star' or 'fine dining' are accurate. I won't bore with details, but I definitely stand by this observation. Nevertheless, it's the only eatery in its class in Troncones. For a bit of variety we wandered down to one of the beachfront palapas ('Siete/7 Mares') which serves solid local Mexican food.
- being a yoga retreat, be prepared to share the place with plenty of smug-looking yoga types, swanning around serenely to the Hotel's permanent sound-track of sitar/pan-flute/monk-chanting/Bebel Gilberto and dropping into conversation how they are vegans and how they travel to Thailand every year for yoga training etc. I'm being a bit cheeky, but it may not be everyone's preferred vibe; so I include this info here for those of you who want to stay in the best place in Troncones but who aren't into yoga.

But yeah it's a great place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J-dog9842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Need to completely unplug? Want to relax and remember what it feels like to do absolutely nothing but breathe? Book a stay here. From the moment you step through their gate you'll be greeted with a smile and welcomed with open arms into a serene setting that nurtures all of the senses - from the rhythmic crashing of the waves and beautiful gardens graced with visiting hummingbirds to the phenomenal cuisine and soothing, care-filled massages offered, you'll quickly give in to the pleasure that is the present moment. Make it as spiritual an experience as you like, or just be.

- Friends of Bobby

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

In the 25 years we have been together this was the best vacation my wife and I have taken. Present Moment exceeded our expectations in every way. The property is beautiful; the staff is warm and friendly; the food is absolutely delicious; the location is perfect. The yoga classes are challenging but accessible to all ability levels (and they give you enough of a workout that you can eat more of the great food without guilt). They offer a wide variety of activities-- we took the kayaking eco-tour and loved it; some of the friends we met there took surfing classes and really enjoyed them. You'll run out of days before you run out of fun things to do. My wife would strongly recommend the 2 hour Thai Massage with Natalie (she had two). Go if you have the opportunity!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. We stayed in "Peace" which is the only one with AC but our friends in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

In March I brought with me a group of 6 yoginis to what I consider one of the most special places in the world. As happens when traveling with others, we all had our own hopes, expectations and personal requests as to what was most important to us. Every single wish was far surpassed at PM. The lodging and retreat center is so peaceful you never feel the need to wander much further than the beach. To practice our yoga every day at the movement pavilion was mesmerizing with the waves crashing and the glow of the sunshine gently moving across the floor. Every single meal surprisingly gets better than the next and this was shocking when out of 7 women there was never 1 of us that wished we had ordered something else. PM truly serves some of the best food I have ever eaten, especially at a resort.. hands down :)
Every massage/ facial and body work session was professionally and sincerely approached. You simply can not go wrong.. CJ and Tom and the PM staff have poured their hearts into PM and every detail shows. I can't wait to return despite the 12 hour flight with 2 layovers :) The first time my husband and I went we extended our stay 3 times, it is just that special kind of place!

Room Tip: They all have fantastic views of the pool and the ocean is only a few steps away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsygirlCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I found about about this place on Groupon. From the moment I arrived a was welcomed by everyone there. I had never traveled alone anywhere in my life so needless to say I was a little nervous. However, my fears quickly subsided. I was able to meet and bond with women from all over the world here. We really did become a family those few days I was there. There food is amazing and there yoga/meditation classes left me feeling realaxed, enlightened and rejuvanated. Thanks CJ, Coby and the Present Moment Staff for a wondeful time !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
10.1 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
22.1 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.4 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 11 in Troncones
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Present Moment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Present Moment Retreat

Property: Present Moment Retreat
Address: Playa Troncones Mz. 21 Lt. 3, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troncones
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#3 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Present Moment Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanfront boutique hotel and yoga retreat is situated on a quiet, serene beach in Troncones, thirty minutes up the coast from Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Restore in a gorgeous setting with wellness classes, yoga by the sea, meditation, qigong, dance classes and more. Rejuvenate with our offerings of spa treatments and healing arts. Dine on healthy gourmet cuisine. Take in the local adventures such as sunset horseback riding, eco tours, waterfall hiking, kayaking, surf-yoga excursions, surf lessons, shopping in our boutique, exploring the village and much more. Our loving staff have pleased even the most discerning guests, and are ready to delight you. Our eleven private bungalows are the perfect antidote to the chaos of everyday life. Each unique bungalow is dedicated to one of the values that we hold in the highest regard. Authenticity was imperative in the construction of every inch of Present Moment. Thus, all bungalows have an indigenous palapa thatched roof, hand-crafted in the Mexican tradition, and are furnished with a pillow top queen-sized bed, luxurious 400 count cotton bedding and a canopy of white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Present Moment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Present Moment Retreat Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing