We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Present Moment connection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Present Moment Retreat
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Present Moment connection”
Reviewed 29 April 2008

I'll start out by saying when we were at PM we extended our stay twice.. we did not want to leave!! My husband and I went to Present Moment with excitement as we were expecting our first child. I have been teaching yoga for 9 years, my husband just started his own practice and I was excited to relax and enjoy myself before the babies arrival. My husbands only worry was that it would be too "yoga-ish" and he wanted to make sure that he could watch each sunset with a beer or two. It would take me quite awhile to describe how magical our experience was.. from the open aired rooms, the showers, the sheer beauty of the space itself. The food was absolutely amazing we ate each meal there for over 2 weeks. Peter makes the BEST margarita ever, with an amazing assortment of tequilas. The yoga was exactly what I hoped for and my husband even ended up loving it so much he joined me for CJs class in the am and then took Qi gong with Peter right after. Tom, indeed a very hard worker ( as everyone there is!) was always concerned with our happiness there and we shared many a heartfelt conversation with he and CJ many times. From the moment we left, we have been trying to get back to Present Moment and visit our home away from home.

  • Liked — The open air showers, pool, food, yoga!
  • Disliked — Rocky waters for swimming
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsygirlCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    21
    3
    11
    10
See reviews for
38
86
124
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

The first night of my stay the owners Tom & CJ gave up their quarters to accomodate me, as PMR was completely booked that night. Neither wanted me to have to shorten my stay...and I couldn't be more grateful, their room and view were incredible!
After that I stayed in Serenity where I watched the whales frolick down the coast from my SHOWER!!! No windows, just shoulder height walls, which I thought was uber cool.

The rooms were simple yet elegant, with amazing local flavor and charm. The food was also very good, the spa services were exceptional and giqong class left me blissed out!

Yoga at the PMR is excellent, and what is even cooler is the DOG Gringo that does Yoga (with his own mat) every morning! And yes, he does DOWNWARD DOG!!!

Most exceptional about the resort are the staff and guests! I felt so welcome, the staff felt like old friends on my first night and I met some of the most interesting and warm people both staying at the PMR, and those who had wandered in from the beach and found it more appealing than their own hotel!

I truly felt relaxed and shall I say it...ZEN, which is a difficult task for a high-strung person like myself .

I highly recommend the PMR as I have grown to fondly call it, and I will certainly return, hopefully very soon and often!

  • Liked — Atmosphere, accomodations, staff
  • Disliked — uncomfortable pool chairs, sound of traffic a bit distracting at night from Serenity
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMGGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

I have absolutely no clue how anybody could ever complain about this place whatsoever. The accomodations are beautiful, the people who work there (including Tom) are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. The cuisine is first rate and the beach is magical. I could mogve in year round and be very happy. Don't give those negative reviews a second glance , as I'm sure you have met a few people in your travels that cannot ever be happy and want more.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — going home
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bnaughty54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2007

The grounds are picturesque in a Disney Swiss Family Robinson treehouse sort of way: Quaint palapas, a yoga platform, white lights wrapped around the trees surrounding the pool. I was quite excited upon arriving, ready for a restful, centering yoga experience. What I got was unfulfilled promises from the owner Tom (he promised two beds in my room and later reneged saying they had no other beds forcing my roommate and I to sleep in the same queen bed), the night I arrived I found that my palapa was close to the dining area where I was subjected to loud employee partying into the wee hours (3 am?) right next door, my special pre-arranged food plan for my dietary restrictions was ignored though I had been assured by Tom that I would have "everything" I need. Throughout my stay, I heard many complaints from other retreatants about the owner which put a damper on my experience. I also talked to some of the employees and the general consensus there was that it was a shame that the owner who created this healing/spiritual environment most needed the healing. I planned for this trip for a long time and was very disappointed with the lack of customer service. Though the grounds are pretty, I will not be back. Ever.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — The management
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank Thea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natureboy56, Co-founder at Present Moment Retreat, responded to this review, 9 May 2008
This guest participated in a yoga retreat in April '07, which was organized by an outside group unaffiliated with Present Moment. Although our entire staff went to their limits to please this woman, it was obviously not working out well. When it was made clear to her that we had done all that we were willing to do in order to please her, she remarked to me personally that she could create problems for our business. Our staff does their best to compassionately understand all who stay with us; however we cannot guarantee 100% satisfaction. Two other negative comments posted in this review section, are from this same group, and it appears that they worked together to adversely affect us with these reviews. I take responsibility for my unwillingness to bend over backwards for this group, but I see their reviews as personal attacks rather than constructive criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkie on the left.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2007

I went to Present Moment Retreat in april 2007. I was looking to have a relaxed, fun, stress free week there. It was anything but that. The property was beautiful, but this hotel is managed so terribly that it overshadowed everything else. Tom, who is the CEO/manager, was rude and passive aggressive. He was always around, which made you not want to be in "the present moment" at all. It is a shame because the property is absolutely stunning and everyone else who works there is great. It was very strange to be in such a beautiful place, and yet there was such a palpable dislike for the man who owns the place, coming from almost everyone.
Also be prepared for a room that has no privacy at all. The rooms are well done, but everyone will be able to see and hear you unless you duck and whisper. I loved Troncones, and think the property is great, but it needs new management.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
11 Thank TravelboundYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2007

We went to the present moment to de-stress, enjoy some peace and tranquility, and mindfulness. The place itself was absolutely beautiful, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Tom, the CEO and co-founder however, could stand to practice what he preaches a bit. By his own admissions, he works far too much, and I only know this because he told me on 5 separate occassions that he works 16 hour days. He was stressed out, and to be frank, a little money hungry. Not exactly the host we would have hoped for at a yoga retreat. Certainly wasn't about the present moment, unless that happened to involve you giving him more of your money. In any hotel/retreat/resort you expect a certain degree of hospitality. Especially in a place that claims to be about "renewing your spirit". I found that Tom left me feeling more tense and stressed after my interactions than I had felt before I arrived.
Other than that, the rooms were beautiful, scenery gorgeous, yoga was great - but don't be fooled by the mission statement; this place is more about making money off of tourists who are looking for a spiritual oasis than about actually helping it's guests de-stress and relax.
We won't be back.

  • Liked — the scenery
  • Disliked — The owner
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank lovetoseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

Tom, CJ, and the staff are wonderfully warm and welcoming. The bungalows are comfortable and the food delicious. It is a great getaway from the rest of the world.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scififan2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
37 reviews
10.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
401 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
1.4 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Present Moment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Present Moment Retreat

Property: Present Moment Retreat
Address: Playa Troncones Mz. 21 Lt. 3, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troncones
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#3 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Present Moment Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanfront boutique hotel and yoga retreat is situated on a quiet, serene beach in Troncones, thirty minutes up the coast from Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Restore in a gorgeous setting with wellness classes, yoga by the sea, meditation, qigong, dance classes and more. Rejuvenate with our offerings of spa treatments and healing arts. Dine on healthy gourmet cuisine. Take in the local adventures such as sunset horseback riding, eco tours, waterfall hiking, kayaking, surf-yoga excursions, surf lessons, shopping in our boutique, exploring the village and much more. Our loving staff have pleased even the most discerning guests, and are ready to delight you. Our eleven private bungalows are the perfect antidote to the chaos of everyday life. Each unique bungalow is dedicated to one of the values that we hold in the highest regard. Authenticity was imperative in the construction of every inch of Present Moment. Thus, all bungalows have an indigenous palapa thatched roof, hand-crafted in the Mexican tradition, and are furnished with a pillow top queen-sized bed, luxurious 400 count cotton bedding and a canopy of white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Present Moment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Present Moment Retreat Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing