We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best. Place. Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Present Moment Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Present Moment Retreat
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Best. Place. Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is the first review I've ever written on TripAdvisor and the reason I'm writing now is I am truly inspired. Present Moment really is paradise on a different level than other tropical destinations. I needed a break and I got one and felt truly refreshed in one week and here's why: One hour of meditation each morning, four wonderful hours of yoga every day, daily long walks along a mostly secluded and stunning beach. Then there are the sunsets. And the incredible massages in huts on the beach. I wasn't inside for the entire week, which means a lot if you live in a big city and consider yourself having nature-deficit disorder. The bungalows were a dream, I slept so well drifting off to the lulling sound of waves. It was like sleeping outside. And they were clean and perfectly decorated. Then there was the food, one word: Incredible. Healthy, fresh, delicious - just a dream menu. Be sure to try the CJ smoothie. And then there is the staff who are warm, welcoming and friendly. I left my husband at home for this trip and felt so welcomed by the owners, the yoga teachers and the other guests - everyone was kind, respectful and friendly. Oh, and the yoga classes were amazing and much better than what I have at home, I learned a lot. I got a daily yoga buzz. Five stars. Go go go go go!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    19
    3
    11
    9
See reviews for
36
84
124
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Having enjoyed many (8 or so) vacations in tropical locales, I consider myself pretty astute when it comes to evaluating resorts. PMR is a unique gem and belongs in a class of its' own. First...I find many resorts to be highly commercial, crowded and at times "cheesy". This resort caters to a sophisticated crowd...and it delivers. As mentioned in many of the the other reviews, the grounds are gorgeous. it is evident that the owners have taken time to attend to small details...from the placement of the various types of foliage to the unique fixtures and decorations in the bedrooms. As for the yoga...it is incredible to practice yoga in such close proximity to crashing waves...the atmosphere just compounded the yoga buzz elicited. In regards to the massages...There is a variety to choose from. I had 2 and both were divine. Food...it was so nice to be able to choose a dish and make any customized changes wanted. The food was fresh and healthy...not the mass produced buffet style that often leaves alot to be desired. Yes, the food was probably pricier that at other resorts..but you get what you pay for. Lastly...a special shoutout to Jackie. She is the "go to" person on the property and will help make things happen. In sum, I loved my experience and will go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salsaprincess70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

What an amazing place. CJ, Kobe and their staff were the most wonderful hosts. The food was amazing and the yoga and therapies were excellent. The beach was sweet, the architecture and decor lovely, and the pool paradise. Troncones is safe and quiet.

Room Tip: They only have one air conditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottRodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
191 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

While in Playa Troncones, Mexico my wife and i enjoyed one of the best meals in a long time at Present moment Retreat. We shared a delicious fresh garden salad and blackened shrimp linguini pasta which would rival any European, NYC or San Francisco dining experience. The Yoga retreat is open to the public and the owner of 8 years, CJ, from Minneapolis has perfected the art of attention to detail. 2 for 1 bar drinks are available every evening from 5-7pm. The restaurant and yoga retreat is a must visit while in Troncones.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is the first review I've ever written on any of these types of sites. I've been on many vacations around Mexico and the Caribbean and have had great and not so good experiences but I was never compelled to write a review. I knew that although I may have had a certain experience in that resort, someone else might have the compete opposite experience. In this case though, there is absolutely no way that you won't love this wonderful paradise.

Describing Present Moment Retreat in one word: Bliss. Love. Peace. Happiness. Paradise. Ok, maybe I can't describe it in just one word. This resort is quaint and gorgeous. It has quite a few bungalows that surround the zen-like pool. The size of the resort is great for retreats and relaxation. The staff there are phenomenal. They are very attentive, polite and easy-going. Everyone there is like family and they make you feel welcome into their home. They even learn your name so it's a more personalized experience.

The food: Where to start with the food?! It is absolutely delicious! A five star restaurant a few steps from your bedroom. The food is fresh and has lots of flavor. You can see how much love the chefs put into their dishes from the way the meals are presented. PMR offer many original dishes that they created or improved in-house. They have a regular menu and they also offer a vegetarian, vegan and raw vegan menu. I never thought I'd be able to eat vegan or raw, but the dishes were so delicious that I'd forget I was eating healthy!
I highly recommend you order the "Tali". It's their in-house iced coffee. Nothing beats drinking one of these on a hot day.

The yoga: it's an outdoor platform facing the ocean. It really can't get any more beautiful than that. The instructors are fantastic. Their passion and experience is demonstrated in each and every class. I appreciated that they offer both a restorative yoga class and a more active option daily.

The wellness staff: PMR offers acupuncture, massages, taro card readings, hypnosis and other varying services. The staff is the best at what they do. They are very well educated and they love what they do. I highly recommend you try at least one of these services while you're there... You can thank me later :P

I went to PMR for the 200 hour yoga teacher training certification. I am so thankful that I ended up choosing this certification. There were a few programs I was looking into other programs around Mexico and Costa Rica, but after doing a lot of research, I decided that PMR would be the best option for me. I'll give you an example of a typical day:

6:30-7: guided meditation
7:15-9: yoga class
9-10: delicious breakfast
10:15-11: discussion about morning practice
11:15-12:45: art of teaching
12:45-2: light lunch
2-3:30: art of touch
3:45-5:15: daily special topic
5:30-7: yoga philosophy or anatomy
7-8:30: delicious dinner
8:30-9:30: night activity

The days were long but extremely rewarding. The instructors were amazing! They have years of experience and they are able to easily share their knowledge with you.

In conclusion, if you are planning on going on vacation, attending a retreat or doing a yoga certification, THIS is where you should be going to. Honestly, I would recommend this resort to ALL of my family and friends.

Ps. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact PMR. Before I went on my trip, I asked them tons of questions and they were extremely helpful and patient with me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I came to Present Moment for the Yoga Training and as well to experience some chill time with my husband afterwards. It was a beautiful experience and very safe. The food was extraordinary, the water was pure and abundantly available to guests. In general, service was extraordinary. Jaqui the manager was full of heart and made sure we were always taken care of, from wet cooling towels on our foreheads while doing Yoga, to providing cultural food after a Mexican Sweat Lodge on the beach. Our rooms were super clean, the energy was amazing and overall, I highly recommend Present Moment Retreat. Be sure however to bring mosquito spray!

Room Tip: There is only one room with air conditioning so be sure to book that specifically if this is an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omtatsat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I came to Present Moment to attend the Yoga Teacher Training program at the end of April 2013 and the experience has completely changed my life. I would highly recommend the experience to...well, everyone who is ready to let go of baggage and start a journey to a more peaceful existence. It's difficult to know where to begin to describe the experience. The physical location is perfect and magical. The sound of the waves breaking on the beach directly in front of the resort is a constant reminder of the natural environment and beauty of the place. The pool is fantastic and welcome. The gardens are magnificent, the bungalows are unique and comfortable and, although I shared a room with a stranger, I felt completely comfortable and immediately bonded with her thanks to the environment of the Teacher Training and, I'm convinced, the place itself.
The curriculum taught to us was challenging and rigorous, as it should be and the support provided by the facilitators and teachers was enormous. We were encouraged in all aspects of yoga and yogic lifestyle. I learned more about myself in those 21 days than in the 46 years I've been living on this earth. The most important thing that I took away from the YTT was my confidence and ability to come back to my home and open my own yoga studio. I am completely capable of teaching different classes and styles of yoga and I owe that to Present Moment and the wonderful people who guided me to this natural end result.
The opportunity to meet the amazing group of other students, eat a raw vegan diet, the variety of cleanses, the meditation as well as the fun activities they set up for us, was a perfect balance. The entire staff was supportive and kind. I wish I could do it all over again. I could not recommend the YTT at Present Moment more if I tried, it's simply a game changer and beautiful experience for anyone.

Room Tip: Don't be intimidated by the open quality of the rooms. They are so unique and beautiful. I enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
22.1 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 11 in Troncones
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Present Moment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Present Moment Retreat

Property: Present Moment Retreat
Address: Playa Troncones Mz. 21 Lt. 3, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troncones
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#3 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Present Moment Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanfront boutique hotel and yoga retreat is situated on a quiet, serene beach in Troncones, thirty minutes up the coast from Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Restore in a gorgeous setting with wellness classes, yoga by the sea, meditation, qigong, dance classes and more. Rejuvenate with our offerings of spa treatments and healing arts. Dine on healthy gourmet cuisine. Take in the local adventures such as sunset horseback riding, eco tours, waterfall hiking, kayaking, surf-yoga excursions, surf lessons, shopping in our boutique, exploring the village and much more. Our loving staff have pleased even the most discerning guests, and are ready to delight you. Our eleven private bungalows are the perfect antidote to the chaos of everyday life. Each unique bungalow is dedicated to one of the values that we hold in the highest regard. Authenticity was imperative in the construction of every inch of Present Moment. Thus, all bungalows have an indigenous palapa thatched roof, hand-crafted in the Mexican tradition, and are furnished with a pillow top queen-sized bed, luxurious 400 count cotton bedding and a canopy of white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Present Moment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Present Moment Retreat Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing