We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Bliss :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Present Moment Retreat
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pure Bliss :)”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I spent ten days at the Present Moment Retreat; the staff were fabulous. The morning meditations and yoga classes were very intuitive. On the premises they have a variety of health services for those interested. I felt sublime after staying here for 10 days. Oh and the the restaurant, I wanted to eat every dish on the menu.


Arriving home I realized I had left my $250 sunglasses at in my cabana. I emailed them. The owner personally sent them back to Canada for me at no charge. I would recommend this place to anyone. Don't question it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss_Mango_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    22
    3
    11
    10
See reviews for
39
87
124
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Back to Bliss Yoga just returned from our 2nd trip to Present Moment...& I must say that we will be back again. My favorite part as one of the yoga teachers is that this is such a beautiful setting to teach yoga overlooking the Pacific Ocean. CJ & Cobie did a fabulous job of making our job easier. Our group loved the extra class, especially Qi Gong offered by Peter...thank you so much! The food is superb, the kayaking excursion a big hit, & the restaurant staff with their hearts wide open to us made this trip so special.
My very personal favorite is walking on this fabulous beach & being completely alone, enjoying the sunshine, & dipping into the water.
Thanks so much Tom & CJ for creating this special place! we will be back next January! Jen

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrookemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have spent many weeklong vacations in Mexico. Zihuatenejo and the Playa del Ropa are one one my favorite destination vacations. Three years ago I discovered a whole new Mexican vacation genre when I spent a week with a Ted R.'s yoga group from the Twin Cites at PMR. I have been back every year since. PMR offers a place to heal, relax, explore and just have fun. Accommodations are charming and very comfortable. The ocean in front of PMR's elevated yoga platform drew me into the flow of yoga. Add the soothing sound of the surf, a raising or setting sun and bingo, nirvana. PMR offers a menu of classes staffed by highly skilled yoga teachers as well a variety of alternative options as listed in their website. Plenty to do or nothing based on your needs. PMR;s therapeutic healing arts services is staffed by professional, experienced and friendly practitioners.. A walk on the beautiful beach, swim in the surf or infinity pool, yoga, and or massage kept my days at PMR restful and reenergizing. PMR's kitchen produces fantastic meals that pay attention to local, organic authentic Mexican food. Lots of food options to choose from. The wait staff were great as well as all the folks working at PMR. They are a very happy group which in turn made us/ me feel welcome.
I will be back next year in January.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was my third year at present moment, each time on a YogaTed retreat with great yogies. I am sure it would be equally stunning with any visit. The first year was spectacular and it keeps getting better. Not because it's a 5 star hotel but because it's a 10 star, unpretentious yoga retreat. All the necessities for comfort without arrogance. The yoga platform over looking the gorgeous Pacific Ocean is the perfect way to great the day and end the day with sun salutations. A variety of classes are offered through the day for those in need of more. Or just strolling the beach or chilling by the pool with the delicious veggie/fruit drinks or smoothie is a perfect way to get the mind and body back to "the present moment." For a little more adventure horseback riding, light hiking, kayaking, etc. can be arranged by the pleasant, accommodating staff. The "menu" of massage options provides for a special "selfy" treat. Oh yea, the food is great, but I try not to over indulge, since the body doesn't need as much as the options I wanted to try:) Easy taxi ride from Zihuatanejo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-nMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

"Back to Bliss" founders, Jen and Harriet, (the two yoga instructors that traveled with our yoga group from Montana) believe in having fun while practicing yoga and taking in all that is offered at a destination, and yet emphasize that everything is optional~ even yoga! At Present Moment Retreat Center the "art of doing nothing" can be mastered, along with a schedule of activities of your choosing. As our group settled into the serene, unpretentious, natural setting. we realized that in this laid back paradise we were sure to unwind quickly. We were impressed with the meticulous housekeepers, gardeners, wait staff (greeting us daily by name}, and healers. After the first night of getting used to our mosquito netting, the necessity became clear as the "no-see-ems" were pesky. We felt safe and secure with regard to our personal belongings left in our rooms and appreciated the friendly and trustworthy staff. The general manager, Jacqueline, went out of her way to make our experience extra special by offering her time and attention to each one of us individually and making arrangements for special requests. The variety of classes offered by Present Moment staff gave us the opportunity to experience different instructors and styles. We snorkeled; fished; boogie boarded; took a surfing lesson; went kayaking, hiking, birding; walked the beach; saw turtles released; ate fresh seafood; watched the sunset at night, and perfected the art of doing nothing. We are going back next year. What's there not to love about that?

Room Tip: All bungalows are open air with no A/C or sound proofing; positioned around the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misszula2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the rustic look and simplicity of this resort. Getting back to basics has its cachet! So don't expect a safe, a door that locks or a hair dryer but do expect falling asleep to the sound of waves and living a totally awesome experience connecting with nature and feeling the amazing energy that transpires throughout the place. The staff is always smiling, they'll even dance with you! The food is excellent and really healthy. The teachers are experienced and give wonderful yoga and qi gong classes. You can choose from a variety of different treatments such as thai massage or a combination of chakra healing/massage/sonotherapy/ acupuncture which are all amazing! We come back from this experience completly transformed and not wanting to return to the usual all inclusive resorts that we are accustomed to. We had the opportunity to join a yoga retreat (YogaTed) and this synergy was a plus to this amazing retreat! If you're thinking about going to Present Moment, do not hesitate, this could transform your life too!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

PMR has the best healing staff, of many different modalities. Massage (all types, of course), acupuncture, cranial sacral, gi gong, tai chi, sacred dance, aromatherapy, sound vibration, coaching, and much more. My experience with their very own bruja was magical -- her knowledge of plant medicine, the elements, and ancient Mexican healing techniques was spot on. I trust her entirely. Do come.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mela1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
192 reviews
11.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
416 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#3 of 10 in Troncones
14 reviews
12.7 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,294 reviews
136.3 mi away
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
#13 of 15 in Troncones
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Present Moment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Present Moment Retreat

Property: Present Moment Retreat
Address: Playa Troncones Mz. 21 Lt. 3, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troncones
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#3 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Hotel Class:3 star — Present Moment Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanfront boutique hotel and yoga retreat is situated on a quiet, serene beach in Troncones, thirty minutes up the coast from Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Restore in a gorgeous setting with wellness classes, yoga by the sea, meditation, qigong, dance classes and more. Rejuvenate with our offerings of spa treatments and healing arts. Dine on healthy gourmet cuisine. Take in the local adventures such as sunset horseback riding, eco tours, waterfall hiking, kayaking, surf-yoga excursions, surf lessons, shopping in our boutique, exploring the village and much more. Our loving staff have pleased even the most discerning guests, and are ready to delight you. Our eleven private bungalows are the perfect antidote to the chaos of everyday life. Each unique bungalow is dedicated to one of the values that we hold in the highest regard. Authenticity was imperative in the construction of every inch of Present Moment. Thus, all bungalows have an indigenous palapa thatched roof, hand-crafted in the Mexican tradition, and are furnished with a pillow top queen-sized bed, luxurious 400 count cotton bedding and a canopy of white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Present Moment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Present Moment Retreat Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing