We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A window into Presence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Present Moment Retreat
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Plantation, Florida
1 review
“A window into Presence”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Present Moment Retreat is truly what the name implies, Presence. This retreat center offers a window into your own inner stillness found only through relaxation and letting go.

My stay here was fun, uplifting, energizing, grounding...and delicious! yes, D-elicious. The food is incredible with a menu that always tickled my taste buds, sometimes more than I could imagine. On hot days I could stay cool with fresh juices and smoothies, and in the evening be filled with the most magical of vegetarian, vegan, or simply gourmet meals.

Each morning there were offerings of meditation and yoga, all of which were led by incredible instructors and helped me to ground into a new way of being. It isn't often that I can let my normal every day life be set aside to enjoy the sounds of the ocean and sweet smells of sea breeze air.

The bungalows were gorgeous. Wow! The design, lay out, and atmosphere was set for comfort and peace of mind and, I felt it. Every little attention to detail was covered, whether it was incense, extra towels, soap...or not to mention, the AMAZING shower (best ever).

The staff all across the board: rooms, restaurant, retail, wellness--just incredible. They were always accommodating and couldn't be more happier seeing that same joy in my own smile.

I found it was the little things that counted here. As it is an open to the public restaurant I found it nice to have an opportunity to meet others outside the resort. But, I felt Present moment did a great job and welcoming both guests who were cleansing, guests there for a teacher training program, and outside guests. It was a nice blend that really gave me an opportunity to find my own inner peace.

Thank you present moment. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    21
    3
    11
    10
See reviews for
38
86
124
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I spent a very relaxing long weekend at Present Moment over Memorial Day weekend. This was my second visit, I was there for a week with my family about a year ago and decided to come back for a girls weekend with friends. I don't think I have ever been able to unwind from "real life" so quickly. I slept until 10 every morning (which I didn't think I was still capable of doing), recharged during yoga every afternoon, and enjoyed delicious meals throughout each day. The food is healthy, fresh, delicious and reasonably priced (I didn't do the pesos to dollar conversion until the end of the trip, and was pleasantly surprised!). I had a great massage with Emily - who I recommend highly - although the entire staff is wonderful and they all treat you like family. I have sent many people to Present Moment in the past year, and every one has come back happy and thanked me profusely for the recommendation. If you're looking for a place to relax, rejuvenate, and reconnect with old friends (or make some new ones), book your stay at Present Moment!

Room Tip: They're all open and lovely - what can be better than falling asleep to the sound of the ocean??
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I just spent a month at Present Moment and couldn't be happier. It was truly exceptional. The staff will do anything to make your stay perfect. The massages were the best I've had, the food in the restaurant was A+ for both meat eaters and vegans. PM is a very well rounded place offering something for everyone. I did yoga, got massage, walked the beach, ate vegan and lost 10 pounds! Next time I'm bringing my husband because I see he will love it too. He eats meat, drinks beer, plays golf, and likes to be active. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just spent a month in Troncones, much of it at Present Moment. From the quality of the room to the wonderous food in the restaurant to the amazing staff, everything was perfect. Loved the massages and yoga. Never felt so good!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Present Moment is heaven on earth. I had several massages, which were all amazing. The yoga is incredible with a platform overlooking the ocean. Teachers are both knowledgeable and spiritual. And to top it off, the food at the restaurant is delicious. Try the chilaquiles. Beautiful setting, experience and people. Hoping to visit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I really wanted to like this place. Its lovely, and I booked based on the reviews here. I specifically asked for a quiet room when I booked it four or five months in advance. Unfortunately, when we arrived and got our room, we were given the least quiet or private room in the place - the wall of our bathroom connected to the restaurant. Since everything here is open air we could hear everything in the kitchen until they closed, and then of course when they opened for breakfast. I was very disappointed by this since I really wanted to enjoy this place. It might have just been the time we went, but they were ending a yoga teacher training and the focus was on entertaining those guests, which meant them having a late dinner in the restaurant, which means our first night there we did not get any sleep as the restaurant closed late and then opened at 6am for breakfast. We are the type of people who want to sleep late on vacation, so 6am wakeup due to the kitchen was not for us.

They offered us another room at an adjoining resort but we just wanted our money back at that point as I had pre-paid for half of it. They really fought us on this, which was unpleasant. Pointed to their no money back policy, which I found unfair. We offered to stay if there was another room, but they did not have one to offer on the property. I think where they would have sent us would have been fine but I was no longer interested in working with this team.

We found other accommodations. We did eat dinner there one night and the food was good. I also took a few yoga classes there, which were great. We loved Troncones but this place was not for us.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank MarlenaFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CobyHadas, Manager at Present Moment Retreat, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We sincerely appreciate the feedback. After eight years of operating without a complaint about the room, we have received two negative reviews in the last few weeks. Our first priority is our guests well being and happiness, so we will no longer rent the room in question. Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies for your stay not being absolutely perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place is so pretty, from the meticulously groomed property to the amazing people working at the resort- PM has it all. The yoga instructors, massage therapists, holistic practitioners and restaraunt staff were all so authentic, warm and inviting it felt more like going to a family reunion then a vacation destination. The palapa restaraunt was the hub of the resort where folks would gather , share stories , a drink or two and dine on well prepared food grown in the region.
Love the fruit smoothies, the chevre stuffed chicken breast and the chocolate lava cake. Also loved CJ's shamanic bath, Leela's mind blowing body /energy work, Adriana's reiki therapy, Amity's healing touch . Kudos to you beautiful CJ for gathering such an amazing team of specialists. You are all a gift that keeps on giving. The only bad part about the trip was that I had to come home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
37 reviews
10.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
400 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
15.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Present Moment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Present Moment Retreat

Property: Present Moment Retreat
Address: Playa Troncones Mz. 21 Lt. 3, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troncones
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#3 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Present Moment Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanfront boutique hotel and yoga retreat is situated on a quiet, serene beach in Troncones, thirty minutes up the coast from Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Restore in a gorgeous setting with wellness classes, yoga by the sea, meditation, qigong, dance classes and more. Rejuvenate with our offerings of spa treatments and healing arts. Dine on healthy gourmet cuisine. Take in the local adventures such as sunset horseback riding, eco tours, waterfall hiking, kayaking, surf-yoga excursions, surf lessons, shopping in our boutique, exploring the village and much more. Our loving staff have pleased even the most discerning guests, and are ready to delight you. Our eleven private bungalows are the perfect antidote to the chaos of everyday life. Each unique bungalow is dedicated to one of the values that we hold in the highest regard. Authenticity was imperative in the construction of every inch of Present Moment. Thus, all bungalows have an indigenous palapa thatched roof, hand-crafted in the Mexican tradition, and are furnished with a pillow top queen-sized bed, luxurious 400 count cotton bedding and a canopy of white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Present Moment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Present Moment Retreat Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing