We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly magical place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Present Moment Retreat
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
pilarrgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A truly magical place”
Reviewed 2 January 2010

The Present Moment Retreat is one of the most special places I have been fortunate enough to visit. From the first day I arrived, I was blessed with a glorious sunset... and the days that followed were even better.

Some of the best nights sleeps I have had were under the roofs of those beautiful bungalows with the waves crashing at the shore lulling me to sleep.

The staff is like family and they take care of you like you are one of their own, right from the start.

The connections I made at the Present Moment will last a lifetime. It's a magical meeting place where synchronicity is at it's best.

The Present Moment is a blessed experience.. a place for rest, relaxation and love.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilarrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    22
    3
    11
    10
See reviews for
39
87
124
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The World
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

CJ and crew have created a most healthy, welcoming, loving space on a beautiful beach in Mexico. There's no shortage of things to do, but what I recommend the most is doing nothing. If you do want to get your body moving, the yoga classes are amazing. When you're tired of moving your body, the restaurant is top notch. I never felt the need to leave the retreat to find a meal. I thought I was going to stay for a week or ten days and ended up staying a month and never got tired of the food or the yoga. I can't wait to get back to Present Moment and hug all of the friends I made while I was there.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vientito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thejuicynaam
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We had an amazing two weeks of beach walks,surfing, gorgeous fresh food, top notch yoga and spa treatments and the warmest hospitality you could imagine. There is just enough going on at night...live music, dancing, but no pressure to do do anything and best of all, you can spend the entire time barefoot or in flip flops. The last time we were there Tom and CJ created a beautiful lobster dinner on the beach for us, complete with tiki torches and candles...it was divine and so romantic! Present moment is a casual yet luxurious environment where you really get a chance to be yourself. We were sad to leave and plan on spending a significant amount of time there this winter.
Giuliana, owner of The Juicy Naam East Hampton, NY

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejuicynaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palo alto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

would rather be down the beach at eden on manzinillo bay quiter and much better beach
cool place but way $$$$ restaurant hopping lively noisy glad wasnt sleeping near it
sweet dharma vibe:)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelslotsPaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natureboy56, owner at Present Moment Retreat, responded to this review, 2 December 2009
Thank you, Travleslots, for your kind and positve comments regarding our 'tasty food' and 'sweet dharma groove'. In order to create fine cuisine, it is necessary to purchase the heathiest, freshest foods available in the marketplace; which is exactly what we do. We have built a wonderful reputation for serving the most delicious and beautifully presented meals in the area; however it was never our intention to be the cheapest. Due to the popularity of our restaurant, we can attract a crowd of fun loving clients who are here on holiday to celebrate and enjoy life...we say the more the merrier. Most hours of the day we are an extremely quiet and peaceful yoga retreat, but when our guests like to laugh, dance and enjoy themselves, we encourge their opportunity to live it up and let loose!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque NM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed at the end of AUG and booked a 7 day package. Had to leave 1/2 way through.
The yin yoga & chi gung/tai chi was wonderful & held in a lovely open air pavillion over-looking the sea- but I couldn't keep up with the Vinyasa flow. The food was excellent, though dinner not included and quite expensive. Little air movement in the open-air room, even with fan on & overall too hot & sweating all the time. Pool is small & only to splash in- could not do laps. Beach out front is rocky and one needs to walk up 1/4 mi to swim without rocks. Since I Was a solo traveler I did not feel safe swimming alone, away from everything and so missed lots of ocean time. Also got bug bites overnight in my room. Some lovely attributes but soime real drawbacks. Feel this retreat is very overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank io_eleusis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natureboy56, owner at Present Moment Retreat, responded to this review, 2 December 2009
We appreciate your positive comments regarding our wonderful Qigong and Taichi classes, and the fact that you enjoyed our 'excellent' cuisine. We were a bit confused by your overall review; however, as after you checked out and went to a less expensive hotel in the area, you quickly returned to Present Moment to purchase a 10 class pass, and then came daily to take classes, swim in our pool and eat in our restaurant. We have never claimed to be the lowest priced establishment on the beach, as we strive for the finest standard in food, classes and service. The charm of our resort is that the lines between the indoors and outdoors are blurred, creating the most natural Pacific Coast experience possible. We do have luxury bedding and 5 star lanscaping, but we opted for an open air theme over standard air conditioning. All ocean beaches fall under the 'swim at your own risk' category, and we caution all guests to take on that challenge based upon their experience. Finally, as anyone can see from our website home page, our pool is far from a 'splash pool' and is actually the centerpiece of our property. You might have checked out early, but in fact you were here daily; laughing, smiling and mingling with our staff and guests. Your review was a shock to all, as we did our utmost to serve and please you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I don't usually take the time to write reviews but I feel I need to re-confirm all the positive reviews written online. This place IS truly magical. The owner and staff are exceptional and make you feel right at home. The food is to die for and leaves you looking forward to your next meal. The retreat itself is beautiful and serene and feels like a hidden paradise. More importantly, this place exudes positive energy. Everyone I met, including all the guests, were genuine souls who really had a zest and appreciation for all good things in life. I left not only rejuvenated and motivated but made some amazing new friends. Thanks CJ and Staff!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elzio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

I stayed at Present Moment in the middle of the summer. The flowers were all in bloom-complete with hummingbirds. It is truly lovely! The bungalows form a semi-circle with a perfect sized pool in the middle. The yoga platform overlooks the ocean with the open air restaurant right next to it. I loved staying here.

I had never travelled solo but really needed to get away. This was the perfect spot on the planet to escape to! I was so warmly welcomed when I arrived. It was like going home! CJ (a co-owner) met me and immediately began introducing me to the staff while giving me a tour around. Within 30 minutes of being there she taught the most amazing yoga class. I joined in and the rest of my 5 night visit was ideal.

All of the staff are very kind and loving. They are professional yet in the most laid-back cool way. Any of the classes they teach are excellent. The restaurant staff are very efficient and the best food is ready for you in a matter of minutes. This is an intimate setting yet there is an attitude which allows you to join in or take as much space and alone time as you want. It felt as though the guest who were there were meant to share the space together at that particular time.

The bugalows are so comfortable with an incredible design and the bathroom and shower area is perfect. I adore this place. There is a very pleasant vibe here. Nothing is demanded of you and everyone is there to be helpful and caring. On a Saturday evening a local group of musicians played in the restaurant area and the music was excellent. If your heart, body and soul is needing some rest and beauty then please give yourself this gift. I am so thankful I found my way here. Namaste!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelecolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
192 reviews
11.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
415 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#3 of 10 in Troncones
14 reviews
12.7 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,289 reviews
136.3 mi away
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
#13 of 15 in Troncones
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Present Moment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Present Moment Retreat

Property: Present Moment Retreat
Address: Playa Troncones Mz. 21 Lt. 3, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troncones
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#3 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Present Moment Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanfront boutique hotel and yoga retreat is situated on a quiet, serene beach in Troncones, thirty minutes up the coast from Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Restore in a gorgeous setting with wellness classes, yoga by the sea, meditation, qigong, dance classes and more. Rejuvenate with our offerings of spa treatments and healing arts. Dine on healthy gourmet cuisine. Take in the local adventures such as sunset horseback riding, eco tours, waterfall hiking, kayaking, surf-yoga excursions, surf lessons, shopping in our boutique, exploring the village and much more. Our loving staff have pleased even the most discerning guests, and are ready to delight you. Our eleven private bungalows are the perfect antidote to the chaos of everyday life. Each unique bungalow is dedicated to one of the values that we hold in the highest regard. Authenticity was imperative in the construction of every inch of Present Moment. Thus, all bungalows have an indigenous palapa thatched roof, hand-crafted in the Mexican tradition, and are furnished with a pillow top queen-sized bed, luxurious 400 count cotton bedding and a canopy of white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Present Moment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Present Moment Retreat Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing